$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 16, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4200 Great America Parkway, Santa Clara, CA 95054

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
conference attendee for one week
Business
Annapolis, MD
Nov 6, 2010

great hotel

Nice, clean rooms. Pretty good fitness center. Had happy hour each evening with some wine from 7-9. Had a nice community room as well. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plaza across the street which I walked to for dinner each night which had chinese, arabic, tai, pizza place

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
marcia the mail lady
Business
san luis obispo, ca
Oct 31, 2010

putting the fun in funky.

we totally enjoyed our stay. the location is prime. from the entry into the lobby we knew it would be fun. the colors and theme are perfect for a boutique hotel. our room was not large but updated and had all we needed. quiet and clean with cozy bedding and able to brew a cup of smooth coffee in the room. my husband was pleased with the exercise room. there is decent coffee in the lobby and an adjacent room with two computers and a printer. staff was pleasant. you can walk out of the lobby and be at the front door of the ihop. decent breakfast.(although i would skip their crazy-bitter coffee) would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ramona, CA
Oct 14, 2010

Great location and re-model

The location was great for Great America and visiting people in the Bay Area. Close to freways yet quiet. Beds were very comfortable with feather pillows and comforter. The room was decorated with sleek furnishings, but could be a little bigger for 4 people. Every request was met quickly and courteously. IHOP connected right building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Clara, CA
Oct 11, 2010

Hotel stay in Santa Clara, CA

Pleasant until hotel officials asked for me to pay beyond my credit availability.Really appreciate the hotel officials agreeing to reduce my stay down to 1 day. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
stockton,ca
Oct 3, 2010

great anniversary weekend!

this hotel was very cool! the furniture and all the decorations went along with the avatar/ futuristic theme of the hotel! the rooms were always clean, it did get somewhat stuffy in the room but just turning on the air conditioning made it very comfortable. we went to great america while staying at the hotel, it was just a short walk so we saved $12 for a parking fee at great america. i think the only thing the hotel was missing was a tv guide and a bindere with restraunt suggestions and different activites to do while in santa clara. all in all we had an awsome anniversary weekend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

walk to great america! saves you money!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Sep 27, 2010

My avatar would be proud

We needed a night away and this hotel helped by providing one. We were happy with the service, intrigued by the decor, and rested by the retreat to our room. Although we didn't use the pool it looked fun. Also a huge bonus, we checked for bed bugs and didn't find any so kudos on that. Thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Giant movie theater and coffee shop west on Mission College Blvd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mountain View, CA
Aug 31, 2010

It was good

Seems like an older hotel with a makeover. Rooms were a little small, but clean. Updated furniture and decoration. Great location with food & movie theater in the area. Price was ok, would've liked it to be a little bit lower. I did not use any other amenities, pool looked small, but enough people seemed to enjoy it with their families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Clara
Aug 23, 2010

Great

Great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
murman
Business
calgary
Feb 24, 2010

SANTA CLARA

very small room. not close to shopping, like convienence stores. not well suited if you dont have a car. shuttle service was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JujuMommy
Business
Fresno, Ca
Jan 27, 2010

Avatar in Santa Clara

The modern theme was a nice change from the traditional hotel furniture. the lobby was cute, the staff was friendly and accommodating. They allowed us to do a late check out that we needed. The ihop next door was pretty convenient too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top