$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2014 Check-out: Jul 20, 2014

Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
4200 Great America Parkway, Santa Clara, CA 95054
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
79 reviews
Great place especially for families

Checkin was quick friendly and helpful. I forgot toothpaste and the front desk gave me a small... See full review

  • Bainbridgetam
  • Mar 23, 2014
Place is Great!

I had a great stay here. Comfortable, updated rooms, everything was fine. Keurig coffee make in the... See full review

  • samizdat43
  • May 13, 2013
The Avatar Hotel at Great America is Silicon Valleys newest hotspot. The hotel blends modern sleek decor with the latest tech amenities. Located just blocks from companies like Yahoo, Intel, Google and more, it is your portal to Silicon Valleys technology hub. Our hotel is 3 miles North of the San Jose International Airport and 29 miles South of San Francisco International Airport. Our newly renovated guestrooms feature a large work desk, 32 inch flat-screen TVs, refrigerator, iPod docking stations and complimentary wired and wireless internet access.

Hotel Map

37.3914 -121.9771
Area served
San Jose, California
Nearby airports
SJC San Jose International Airport, CA
Area description
Within 5 miles of Yahoo, Nortel, Sun Microsystems, Cisco Systems, Marvell, EMC Corpoaration, Advanced Micro Devices, Atheros and many more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Executive King
Features a king bed with a large work desk, 32 inch flat screen TVs, mini-refrigerator and iPod docking station. All Executive rooms are Pool View, includes complimentary upgraded high speed wired and wireless internet access and breakfast voucher for IHOP Restaurant located on premises.
Avatar King Room
Features king bed with a large work desk, 32 inch flat-screen TVs, refrigerator, iPod docking station and complimentary internet access.
Avatar Duo Two Double Beds
Features two full-size beds. These rooms include a large work desk, 32 inch flat-screen TVs, refrigerator, iPod docking station and complimentary internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Bennigan's
Location: Next to the Hotel - An Irish style Bar with 8 beers on tap Enjoy the latest in sports on 9 Flatscreen TV's throughout Bennigan's
IHOP
Location: In Hotel - on property. Serves: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner. Traditional

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Needs a break
Morgan hill ca
Dec 24, 2012

Wonderful

Easy check in great clean room close to freeway close to dining. Ihop restaurants is attached to hotel and give 10% discount when you show your room key

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ihop is attached to this hotel

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katareena
San Jose, CA, USA
Jan 22, 2012

One-Night getaway

Jake (at the front desk) was friendly and welcoming. Check-in was fast (it's actually @ 3:00pm NOT 1:00pm) and the cost was reasonable. He also gave us a good tip on showing our room key if we were going to eat at the IHOP next door to get a 10% discount on our bill. Our room was very clean, comfortable, and spacious. I actually really liked the design/set-up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rgcalifornia
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Fine for the price

Check-in was smooth, no issues. Cost was very reasonable. First room I checked into -- the sheets were not clean. The second room I checked into was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive from SJC Airport.

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cmad
Business
Raleigh, NC, USA
Nov 18, 2011

Pleasant surprise

The hotel doesn't look like much on the outside, however, the design, style, and cleanliness of the interior (rooms / lobby) was top notch. It's clear that they renovated an old (local?) motel and if you can get past the exterior, you won't be disappointed. It's also right off 101 and near all the main businesses in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Fish Market on El Camino Real

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 24, 2011

Great time at the Avatar

During the day, I was doing business. But the staff were very helpful, and the jacuzzi was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 24, 2011

Great time at the Avatar

During the day, I was doing business. But the staff were very helpful, and the jacuzzi was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
san jose
Jul 18, 2011

VERY NICE!!

Hotel was very nice. Had ipod station tv was nice. Close by restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
san jose
Jul 18, 2011

VERY NICE!!

Hotel was very nice. Had ipod station tv was nice. Close by restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Satisfied Dude
Davis, CA
May 29, 2011

Clean, modern, quirky

As a college student, I stayed here a few years ago, before the hotel was renovated, and I was blown away how beautiful they made the hotel. The hotel's theme is "Robots". In the lobby, you can find a display case of vintage robot figures, a Futurama Bender figure, and even the hotel key has an 8-bit robot design. As you walk to your room, you can hear ambient robot sounds from the the pool area. Awesome attention to detail. The room itself was very clean. I stayed in a double room, and I was impressed at the modern style. Large, flat screen TV. IPod dock. Breakfast-in-bed-tray you can use in bed. Free WiFi! The stay was perfect. We even got 10% at the IHOP next door for being guests. I'd definitely come again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

10 minute walk from Great America.

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Satisfied Dude
Davis, CA
May 29, 2011

Clean, modern, quirky

As a college student, I stayed here a few years ago, before the hotel was renovated, and I was blown away how beautiful they made the hotel. The hotel's theme is "Robots". In the lobby, you can find a display case of vintage robot figures, a Futurama Bender figure, and even the hotel key has an 8-bit robot design. As you walk to your room, you can hear ambient robot sounds from the the pool area. Awesome attention to detail. The room itself was very clean. I stayed in a double room, and I was impressed at the modern style. Large, flat screen TV. IPod dock. Breakfast-in-bed-tray you can use in bed. Free WiFi! The stay was perfect. We even got 10% at the IHOP next door for being guests. I'd definitely come again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

10 minute walk from Great America.

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
san francisco, ca
May 9, 2011

very mellow and relaxing

I came here with 3 other friends to go to Great America. The hotel was simple and modern. There was nothing really around the area other then business parks and gas stations. But it was only 2 large blocks away from the theme park, so it's a great place to stay for the weekend. The rooms were super clean and comfortable. All of the staff was very helpful and gave great customer service. You cant beat the price. And the pool was heated, clean, and very relaxing! I will most definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring snacks, they have a mini fridge, but theres only an ihop and bennigans to eat at.

Back to menu Return to top