Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
4200 Great America Parkway, Santa Clara, CA 95054
Hotel Overview

3.9/5

Overall score

84%

Would recommend

Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4
The Avatar Hotel at Great America is Silicon Valleys newest hotspot. The hotel blends modern sleek decor with the latest tech amenities. Located just blocks from companies like Yahoo, Intel, Google and more, it is your portal to Silicon Valleys technology hub. Our hotel is 3 miles North of the San Jose International Airport and 29 miles South of San Francisco International Airport. Our newly renovated guestrooms feature a large work desk, 32 inch flat-screen TVs, refrigerator, iPod docking stations and complimentary wired and wireless internet access.

Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Executive King
Features a king bed with a large work desk, 32 inch flat screen TVs, mini-refrigerator and iPod docking station. All Executive rooms are Pool View, includes complimentary upgraded high speed wired and wireless internet access and breakfast voucher for IHOP Restaurant located on premises.
Avatar King Room
Features king bed with a large work desk, 32 inch flat-screen TVs, refrigerator, iPod docking station and complimentary internet access.
Avatar Duo Two Double Beds
Features two full-size beds. These rooms include a large work desk, 32 inch flat-screen TVs, refrigerator, iPod docking station and complimentary internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

37.3914 -121.9771
Area served
San Jose, California
Nearby airports
SJC San Jose International Airport, CA
Area description
Within 5 miles of Yahoo, Nortel, Sun Microsystems, Cisco Systems, Marvell, EMC Corpoaration, Advanced Micro Devices, Atheros and many more.

Dining

Bennigan's
Location: Next to the Hotel - An Irish style Bar with 8 beers on tap Enjoy the latest in sports on 9 Flatscreen TV's throughout Bennigan's
IHOP
Location: In Hotel - on property. Serves: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner. Traditional

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
herropanduh
Business
Sacramento
Nov 27, 2012

loved it!

got an extra holiday discount and paid $66 for a nights stay! Room was cute and perfectly decorated

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrianCl
Business
Seattle traveler
Sep 18, 2012

good place, easy stay

The room was clean and access to freeways and Santa Clara university was easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BKuhn
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Jul 20, 2012

convienient

Clean. Good location not far from airport, close to my (business) vendor. Inexpensive for the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Meridyth
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 21, 2012

Stay at the Avatar Hotel- you won’t regret it, its just that awesome!

This place looks so cool, it is modern and clean. The rooms looked great, had everything you need in the room plus more! The iPod hookup, flat screen, and super comfy bed made our trip so relaxing. The staff is amazing; they are so helpful and polite. We took our dog and he loved walking around the hotel, everyone is so friendly. The pool is heated and they play awesome tunes for your enjoyment. I will definitely go back and recommend it to all my friends. It was close to SF so we were able to enjoy the city, come back and have a blast in our awesome room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

There was a cool dance club suggested by the staff. Also there are two restaurants next to the hotel, which is very convenient!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kitt2
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 9, 2012

Pleasantly surprised

The Avatar Hotel was much better than I expected. It was CLEAN, all the basic amenities were available, and it had nice touches to remind you of its proximity to some of the tech companies, like cool sofas and headrest art reminiscent of Facebook. Next time I would stay here for the night and then in the early morning drive up to San Francisco (if you're coming from so-cal), which would have saved me money rather than staying a night in SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SOME DUDE
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Quiet Time

I liked this hotel very much. Very clean and the staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Iguanas Burritozilla!!!! Try the homemade hotsauce!!! SOOOOOOO GOOD!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Business Trainee
Business
Chicago
Feb 19, 2012

Good location, nice staff

The location was great, the staff were very helpful and accomadating. The room layout was a bit off (closet and vanity too close, the closet door blocked the vanity when open). But overall okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cpone
Business
Bay Area
Feb 13, 2012

Dabest

Very clean modern hotel. Reasonable price great location. Room smells and looks clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katareena
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Jan 22, 2012

One-Night getaway

Jake (at the front desk) was friendly and welcoming. Check-in was fast (it's actually @ 3:00pm NOT 1:00pm) and the cost was reasonable. He also gave us a good tip on showing our room key if we were going to eat at the IHOP next door to get a 10% discount on our bill. Our room was very clean, comfortable, and spacious. I actually really liked the design/set-up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rgcalifornia
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Fine for the price

Check-in was smooth, no issues. Cost was very reasonable. First room I checked into -- the sheets were not clean. The second room I checked into was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive from SJC Airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top