$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 4, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4200 Great America Parkway, Santa Clara, CA 95054

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
herropanduh
Sacramento
Nov 27, 2012

loved it!

got an extra holiday discount and paid $66 for a nights stay! Room was cute and perfectly decorated

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SandM
Business
Danbury, CT, USA
May 14, 2013

Good overall, some wrinkles

Pros: This is a decent hotel with modern looking furniture, clean rooms and good housekeeping. Nice paint job, inside and out. There’s elevator access. Friendly and helpful staff on the whole. Gym is not bad with a mix of some cardio and strength training machines. Good beds. Free Wifi. Good location, very close to 101 highway as well as restaurants popular with the office crowd. The adjoining I-H-O-P gives a 10% discount to Avatar guests too. Cons: Open corridors, so you choose between privacy and view out of the windows. No “do not disturb” cards, so housekeepers tend to knock and enter almost immediately (though you can use the latch to stop them) even if you desire privacy. Just a little road noise in rooms facing 101 highway. Strict and almost tacky check out time policy. Our request to extend check out time till 12:30pm was refused. Desk clerk Jessica said it was because they were sold out and on orders of General Manager Adam Finch who allowed no exceptions and was out of office. Jessica also maintained the check out and check in times were 11am and 3pm respectively, although our O-rbitz booking showed them as 12 noon and 1pm. She said our travel agency was “wrong” and made a copy of our reservation to show to Adam Finch for taking up with them. Other comments: Rooms are of adequate size – neither big nor too cramped. It had some power outlets though a couple of more accessible ones near the bed would have been welcome. It just about makes the 3 star rating. Overall we had a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cluster of good little restaurants on Northwest of crossing of Great American Parkway and Mission College Blvd.

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
samizdat43
Business
Washington, DC
May 13, 2013

Place is Great!

I had a great stay here. Comfortable, updated rooms, everything was fine. Keurig coffee make in the room. Wifi was free and fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob OO
Business
Santa Clara CA
May 5, 2013

Easy access

Very convenient location to high tech; quiet room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KatieOR
Business
Tigard, OR, USA
Apr 23, 2013

Weekend Family Visit

Stayed here 3 nights while visiting son & grandkids. Convenient location near freeway. Very comfortable but not much extra space in the regular king bed arrangement. The bed was very comfy and we slept well in spite of our room being very close to the busy street. Room was clean and made up very well each day. We were gone all day from morning to night so we didn't use any of the hotel's amenities. At the weekend rates this was a very good deal. The free wifi was quirky in that it took pains to rejoin after shutting down each time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I would skip the IHOP for breakfast and go across the street to the bagel shop for quick morning fixes. Good stuff there served up quick by very friendly staff.

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
midt
Business
Rochester Hills MI
Apr 16, 2013

Not Worth the Money

Great location and the room wasn't dirty - but this was NOT a $190.00 per night room. This was more like a motel than a hotel room. While I never felt threatened in any way (great location) my security awareness senses quickly noted that there were multiple points of ingress and egress to me on my path between the lobby and my room. All room are accessed from the outside (ala motel) and once you leave the lobby - there are multiple directions/points at which someone could approach you directly from the parking lot without passing through the lobby or some sort of security. I expected much better for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Avilabay
Business
Santa Clara, CA
Apr 14, 2013

Near Great America

Clean and comfortable. IHOP resturant is conneted to hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bonnno
Business
Michigan
Apr 12, 2013

Keep expections low, and you willl be pleasantly surprised

Its old Holiday Inn Express, with a new make over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daniellemal
Business
los angeles, CA
Jan 10, 2013

couple

loved the room! got a 10 dollar voucher for Ihop as well which was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daniellemal
Business
los angeles, CA
Jan 9, 2013

avatar

loved the king executive room! Got $10 voucher off of IHOP for booking it great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

IHOP

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Visiting from SD
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 4, 2013

Great value, clean hotel

The only downside to this hotel is that it feels a bit like a converted motel... a heavily renovated motel. But that's mainly because of the outdoor hallways, because the amenities at the hotel and in each room - along with the cool video game theme throughout - were fantastic. Bathroom was a little small but no real problem there, especially considering the great rate we got for our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top