$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 14, 2015 Check-out: Mar 15, 2015

Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4200 Great America Parkway, Santa Clara, CA 95054

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
66 reviews
awesome family trip

great place we stayed here as it was close to Great America and the best part of the trip wa sthis... See full review

  • Christina S.
  • Feb 9, 2015
Super cute

Avatar is an adorable hotel. Super stylish with a cute little modern twist. The price was great and... See full review

  • herropanduh
  • Jan 28, 2015
The Avatar Hotel at Great America is Silicon Valleys newest hotspot. The hotel blends modern sleek decor with the latest tech amenities. Located just blocks from companies like Yahoo, Intel, Google and more, it is your portal to Silicon Valleys technology hub. Our hotel is 3 miles North of the San Jose International Airport and 29 miles South of San Francisco International Airport. Our newly renovated guestrooms feature a large work desk, 32 inch flat-screen TVs, refrigerator, iPod docking stations and complimentary wired and wireless internet access.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Executive King
Features a king bed with a large work desk, 32 inch flat screen TVs, mini-refrigerator and iPod docking station. All Executive rooms are Pool View, includes complimentary upgraded high speed wired and wireless internet access and breakfast voucher for IHOP Restaurant located on premises.
Avatar King Room
Features king bed with a large work desk, 32 inch flat-screen TVs, refrigerator, iPod docking station and complimentary internet access.
Avatar Duo Two Double Beds
Features two full-size beds. These rooms include a large work desk, 32 inch flat-screen TVs, refrigerator, iPod docking station and complimentary internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Bennigan's
Location: Next to the Hotel - An Irish style Bar with 8 beers on tap Enjoy the latest in sports on 9 Flatscreen TV's throughout Bennigan's
IHOP
Location: In Hotel - on property. Serves: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner. Traditional

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
herropanduh
Sacramento
Nov 27, 2012

loved it!

got an extra holiday discount and paid $66 for a nights stay! Room was cute and perfectly decorated

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KatieOR
Business
Tigard, OR, USA
Apr 23, 2013

Weekend Family Visit

Stayed here 3 nights while visiting son & grandkids. Convenient location near freeway. Very comfortable but not much extra space in the regular king bed arrangement. The bed was very comfy and we slept well in spite of our room being very close to the busy street. Room was clean and made up very well each day. We were gone all day from morning to night so we didn't use any of the hotel's amenities. At the weekend rates this was a very good deal. The free wifi was quirky in that it took pains to rejoin after shutting down each time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I would skip the IHOP for breakfast and go across the street to the bagel shop for quick morning fixes. Good stuff there served up quick by very friendly staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
midt
Business
Rochester Hills MI
Apr 16, 2013

Not Worth the Money

Great location and the room wasn't dirty - but this was NOT a $190.00 per night room. This was more like a motel than a hotel room. While I never felt threatened in any way (great location) my security awareness senses quickly noted that there were multiple points of ingress and egress to me on my path between the lobby and my room. All room are accessed from the outside (ala motel) and once you leave the lobby - there are multiple directions/points at which someone could approach you directly from the parking lot without passing through the lobby or some sort of security. I expected much better for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Avilabay
Business
Santa Clara, CA
Apr 14, 2013

Near Great America

Clean and comfortable. IHOP resturant is conneted to hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bonnno
Business
Michigan
Apr 12, 2013

Keep expections low, and you willl be pleasantly surprised

Its old Holiday Inn Express, with a new make over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daniellemal
Business
los angeles, CA
Jan 10, 2013

couple

loved the room! got a 10 dollar voucher for Ihop as well which was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daniellemal
Business
los angeles, CA
Jan 9, 2013

avatar

loved the king executive room! Got $10 voucher off of IHOP for booking it great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

IHOP

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Visiting from SD
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 4, 2013

Great value, clean hotel

The only downside to this hotel is that it feels a bit like a converted motel... a heavily renovated motel. But that's mainly because of the outdoor hallways, because the amenities at the hotel and in each room - along with the cool video game theme throughout - were fantastic. Bathroom was a little small but no real problem there, especially considering the great rate we got for our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Overizze
Business
Oakland, CA
Jan 3, 2013

BANG FOR YOUR BUCK

I had a pleasant stay here. However, this "hotel" does look like a motel with a face lift. Bottom line: the room is clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
huan
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Dec 27, 2012

So good!

We stayed for Christmas eve! My bf loved the room! There is a small table on the bed, it's perfect for us to put our laptop on it. The whole room decroation is so adorable. Friendly staff! We will stay there next time if the price is good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

they offer 10% off for IHOP and another restaurant just next to the hotel. I really loved that restaurant!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Needs a break
Business
Morgan hill ca
Dec 24, 2012

Wonderful

Easy check in great clean room close to freeway close to dining. Ihop restaurants is attached to hotel and give 10% discount when you show your room key

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ihop is attached to this hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top