$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2015 Check-out: Jul 19, 2015

Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4200 Great America Parkway, Santa Clara, CA 95054

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
huan
Salt Lake City, Utah
Dec 27, 2012

So good!

We stayed for Christmas eve! My bf loved the room! There is a small table on the bed, it's perfect for us to put our laptop on it. The whole room decroation is so adorable. Friendly staff! We will stay there next time if the price is good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

they offer 10% off for IHOP and another restaurant just next to the hotel. I really loved that restaurant!

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Avatar Fan
Business
SFO
Aug 11, 2014

Stylish value for money

This is a standard courtyard hotel, but has recently been renovated for stylish looks. And they have fast internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JZMoya
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Jun 17, 2014

Santa Clara long weekend

The Avatar is a very clean hotel with a nice fitness room and pool area. The staff is friendly and helpful. Our only complaints were that: 1) the room we reserved for three was extremely cramped and we had nowhere for our bags so we were constantly jumping over our bags and each other, and, 2) The small pull-out sofa that our son slept on was incredibly uncomfortable. The staff did accomodate us in regard to this by providing some extra blankets for him to sleep on top of which did help the problem. Overall we felt it was a good deal for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Santa Cruz beach and Boardwalk are just a short 55-min drive from Santa Clara and a very enjoyable day trip.

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Romans 16 16
Business
Elk Grove, CA
May 28, 2014

Family Weekend

The kids enjoyed looking at the toy robots displayed in the hotel lobby. I was given a choice of which floor for my room and I chose the top floor (4th floor). The usual expected noises (street traffic, close by restaurant, pool goers, other guests walking by/talking) was considerably less because of staying on the 4th floor. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The only thing lacking in the room was a microwave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYChic23
Business
Hayward, CA
May 13, 2014

Well, at least you get an IHOP discount...

The room served it's purpose, but was a bit disappointed. The wifi didn't work so we had to keep going outside the room to get a reception. It was constantly noisy, but we were on the first floor so I guess that's expected. Would probably stay again if I had to, but definitely would choose a higher room towards the back of the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

10% discount at IHOP

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bainbridgetam
Business
Bainbridge Island, WA
Mar 23, 2014

Great place especially for families

Checkin was quick friendly and helpful. I forgot toothpaste and the front desk gave me a small tube. Hotel has an attached restaurant with a good menu and a bar/restaurant chain across the parking lot. Quiet location but quick access onto freeway and approx 5min drive to SJC airport. Close to major attractions. Movie theatre restaurants and so shopping within walking dist. Room was very clean comfortable and quiet. Has a fun decor modern with a cartoon twist. Bit not over the top or Disney like. Outdoor pool a big plus and a good exercise room and activity room perfect for families! Definitely a place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Movie theatre, amusement park shopping and restaurants all very close. Definitely walkable!

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Krissy P
Business
Rainbow, CA
Dec 7, 2013

1st time I slept thru the night in 40 years

This is the review I am posting where ever I can find a place to write the review. I had to write this review to help people make a decision regarding a superb night's sleep. I am a 57 year old woman who usually gets up 3 or 4 times a night to go to the bathroom. I don't drink booze or caffeine. After the first night I wondered why and woke up from a deep sleep I think I even drooled. I told my husband it was so deep, I might have been close to death! LOL. Anyway, all three nights were the same. I asked the front desk (Matt who went out of his way to help me) if I could buy the pillow and they sold it to me at cost. They gave 4 for our room, $45 each. You can check yourself at downetc com. Why they put in $180 worth of pillows in a $66 per night room is beyond me, but I am so grateful. In addition, my husband and I both agree we wanted to take the bed home too which is never our opinion of sleeping in a Hotel. We visit San Jose every other Thanksgiving and will choose this hotel over any other place to stay including free family room offerings. For me, being able to sleep in this hotel's bed with these pillows and bedding will add to the excitement of our next trip!!! And by the way, the sheets and pillow cases are high thread count and the shower grout and caulking is clean, near new looking and that is a requirement for me to revisit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beachgirl012
Business
Sacramento, Ca
Jun 24, 2013

Disappointed ordinary

The room was ok, but just like any other cheaper hotel. The modern decor was slightly better than the usual floral design you often get but didn't wow me. Rooms were very average. Nothing great. Room was not sparkling clean but clean enough. Pool area was nice but location of it, being right in front by the parking took it from "oh this is nice to oh ok never mind". there was garbage in the elevator. Was told no double bed rooms facing the pool. The only really good thing were the beds themselves. Very comfortable comforter and pillows. Otherwise just very ordinary and by the pictures online I thought it was going to be a little different and fun. disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fairbanks Chick
Business
Santa Clara, California
Jun 11, 2013

Average Motel

Honestly this hotel was very disappointing. We got the room for a good deal,, but it's not worth the regular rate of over $100 per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WI 2 CA
Business
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
May 20, 2013

Decent

This hotel was ok. Free parking, free wifi, free access to an iMac and printer - all appreciated. The printer, however, was low on toner and printing poorly, and the clerk had no more, so I had to go to FedEx and pay to print. The hotel had some nice quirky/nerdy style elements (mod-looking furntiure, etc.), which was neat, but things were worn, stained, etc. The hotel seemed safe, and it was walking distance to a couple restaurants, which was handy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant next door gives you a discount if you show them your room keycard.

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daven526
Business
Port Orchard WA
May 15, 2013

Leaky faucet

This room is unusual in its configuration, probably suited best for the business person stay. It is basic. small bed, limited cable tv, noe breakfast provided. leaky faucet let water run to floor. ice machine was broken on first floor so you had to walk a mike to the second floor for ice! The good was: Price, wifi, location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bennigans and ihop next door!

Back to menu Return to top