$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 4, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4200 Great America Parkway, Santa Clara, CA 95054

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
71 reviews
Great hotel

This place was modern and very cute! Awesome accommodations and rooms. Will definitely be back See full review

  • Arielle W.
  • Jun 9, 2015
awesome family trip

great place we stayed here as it was close to Great America and the best part of the trip wa sthis... See full review

  • Christina S.
  • Feb 9, 2015
The Avatar Hotel at Great America is Silicon Valleys newest hotspot. The hotel blends modern sleek decor with the latest tech amenities. Located just blocks from companies like Yahoo, Intel, Google and more, it is your portal to Silicon Valleys technology hub. Our hotel is 3 miles North of the San Jose International Airport and 29 miles South of San Francisco International Airport. Our newly renovated guestrooms feature a large work desk, 32 inch flat-screen TVs, refrigerator, iPod docking stations and complimentary wired and wireless internet access.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Executive King
Features a king bed with a large work desk, 32 inch flat screen TVs, mini-refrigerator and iPod docking station. All Executive rooms are Pool View, includes complimentary upgraded high speed wired and wireless internet access and breakfast voucher for IHOP Restaurant located on premises.
Avatar King Room
Features king bed with a large work desk, 32 inch flat-screen TVs, refrigerator, iPod docking station and complimentary internet access.
Avatar Duo Two Double Beds
Features two full-size beds. These rooms include a large work desk, 32 inch flat-screen TVs, refrigerator, iPod docking station and complimentary internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Bennigan's
Location: Next to the Hotel - An Irish style Bar with 8 beers on tap Enjoy the latest in sports on 9 Flatscreen TV's throughout Bennigan's
IHOP
Location: In Hotel - on property. Serves: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner. Traditional

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Satisfied Dude
Davis, CA
May 29, 2011

Clean, modern, quirky

As a college student, I stayed here a few years ago, before the hotel was renovated, and I was blown away how beautiful they made the hotel. The hotel's theme is "Robots". In the lobby, you can find a display case of vintage robot figures, a Futurama Bender figure, and even the hotel key has an 8-bit robot design. As you walk to your room, you can hear ambient robot sounds from the the pool area. Awesome attention to detail. The room itself was very clean. I stayed in a double room, and I was impressed at the modern style. Large, flat screen TV. IPod dock. Breakfast-in-bed-tray you can use in bed. Free WiFi! The stay was perfect. We even got 10% at the IHOP next door for being guests. I'd definitely come again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

10 minute walk from Great America.

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arielle W.
Business
N/A
Jun 9, 2015

Great hotel

This place was modern and very cute! Awesome accommodations and rooms. Will definitely be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dale N.
Business
N/A
Apr 28, 2015

Nice weekend experience

The Staff was very friendly and accommodating. The price was good compared to their usual discounted prices. The room itself was very small, but the location was close to everything we wanted. Unfortunately, the hotel doesn't have a shuttle service any more, which was disappointing. Apparently the cost was prohibited. Other than the fact that the room was a bit crowded, it was a very nice experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christina S.
Business
N/A
Feb 9, 2015

awesome family trip

great place we stayed here as it was close to Great America and the best part of the trip wa sthis hotel!! the restayraunt next door was great as was the Pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
herropanduh
Business
Sacramento
Jan 28, 2015

Super cute

Avatar is an adorable hotel. Super stylish with a cute little modern twist. The price was great and the place has obviously been renovated. Great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ed in CA
Business
tulare
Jan 15, 2015

Not a good stay

Not enough parking spaces, they sent me to a hotel down the block to park, and then there was not enough room there. Room was in very poor condition, smelled old, bathroom had peeling paint. Not a good place to stay. We had two kids with us, arrived about midnight and if we were not so tired, we would have looked for another hotel. The only good thing was that it's across the street from attractions and you can walk to the baseball stadium. I do not recommend this hotel at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Only about 20min walk to the baseball stadium.

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EVOO
Business
Waianae
Dec 30, 2014

Football Weekend

Hubs and I flew up to Santa Clara just for the Chargers/Niners game at Levi's Stadium. We didn't need a car for anything but getting to and from the airport. There's an IHOP attached to the hotel. In & Out is about a 10 minute walk if you cut through the business parking lots. Levi's stadium is 15-20 min with lights. If we had stayed a little longer guarens we'd have gone to Great America which you hit before Levi's Stadium. Great location. Right across the street is a small strip of convenience stores (donut shop, liquor store, nail salon, bagels) so it's perfect if you're here for an event or for Great America. Staff was super friendly. Room was clean and bigger than most rooms in San Francisco. I agree it's a little motelish since you can't really open your blinds without the people in the hallway seeing you and it being open air but just keep your blinds closed. You shouldn't be in the hotel during the day anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Levi's Stadium and Great America!

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Huaqiang W.
Business
Santa Clara
Dec 22, 2014

good business tirp

not bad for a stay near santa clara convention center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chula2010
Business
san jose
Dec 8, 2014

pleasant stay

Staff and hotel was awesome... thank you will return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Avatar Fan
Business
SFO
Nov 15, 2014

Great Stay

Recommended stay for a family. Great pool and amenities. Stylish!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
49ers fan 4 life
Business
Santa Clara, CA
Oct 2, 2014

Great place for the price

I was very happy with my stay, great room and location for the price. Not to mention the free parking and no charge for dogs, good luck finding that anywhere else! They also provided a free baby crib and had it in the room before I even arrived. I would recommend this place to anyone. I don't see how people have rated this place so lowly. Some people are never satisfied I guess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top