$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Nov 29, 2014

Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
4200 Great America Parkway, Santa Clara, CA 95054
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
60 reviews
Great place especially for families

Checkin was quick friendly and helpful. I forgot toothpaste and the front desk gave me a small... See full review

  • Bainbridgetam
  • Mar 23, 2014
Great place for the price

I was very happy with my stay, great room and location for the price. Not to mention the free... See full review

  • 49ers fan 4 life
  • Oct 2, 2014
The Avatar Hotel at Great America is Silicon Valleys newest hotspot. The hotel blends modern sleek decor with the latest tech amenities. Located just blocks from companies like Yahoo, Intel, Google and more, it is your portal to Silicon Valleys technology hub. Our hotel is 3 miles North of the San Jose International Airport and 29 miles South of San Francisco International Airport. Our newly renovated guestrooms feature a large work desk, 32 inch flat-screen TVs, refrigerator, iPod docking stations and complimentary wired and wireless internet access.

Hotel Map

37.3914 -121.9771
Area served
San Jose, California
Nearby airports
SJC San Jose International Airport, CA
Area description
Within 5 miles of Yahoo, Nortel, Sun Microsystems, Cisco Systems, Marvell, EMC Corpoaration, Advanced Micro Devices, Atheros and many more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Executive King
Features a king bed with a large work desk, 32 inch flat screen TVs, mini-refrigerator and iPod docking station. All Executive rooms are Pool View, includes complimentary upgraded high speed wired and wireless internet access and breakfast voucher for IHOP Restaurant located on premises.
Avatar King Room
Features king bed with a large work desk, 32 inch flat-screen TVs, refrigerator, iPod docking station and complimentary internet access.
Avatar Duo Two Double Beds
Features two full-size beds. These rooms include a large work desk, 32 inch flat-screen TVs, refrigerator, iPod docking station and complimentary internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Bennigan's
Location: Next to the Hotel - An Irish style Bar with 8 beers on tap Enjoy the latest in sports on 9 Flatscreen TV's throughout Bennigan's
IHOP
Location: In Hotel - on property. Serves: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner. Traditional

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (60)

Ratings and reviews for Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daven526
Business
Port Orchard WA
May 15, 2013

Leaky faucet

This room is unusual in its configuration, probably suited best for the business person stay. It is basic. small bed, limited cable tv, noe breakfast provided. leaky faucet let water run to floor. ice machine was broken on first floor so you had to walk a mike to the second floor for ice! The good was: Price, wifi, location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bennigans and ihop next door!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SandM
Business
Danbury, CT, USA
May 14, 2013

Good overall, some wrinkles

Pros: This is a decent hotel with modern looking furniture, clean rooms and good housekeeping. Nice paint job, inside and out. There’s elevator access. Friendly and helpful staff on the whole. Gym is not bad with a mix of some cardio and strength training machines. Good beds. Free Wifi. Good location, very close to 101 highway as well as restaurants popular with the office crowd. The adjoining I-H-O-P gives a 10% discount to Avatar guests too. Cons: Open corridors, so you choose between privacy and view out of the windows. No “do not disturb” cards, so housekeepers tend to knock and enter almost immediately (though you can use the latch to stop them) even if you desire privacy. Just a little road noise in rooms facing 101 highway. Strict and almost tacky check out time policy. Our request to extend check out time till 12:30pm was refused. Desk clerk Jessica said it was because they were sold out and on orders of General Manager Adam Finch who allowed no exceptions and was out of office. Jessica also maintained the check out and check in times were 11am and 3pm respectively, although our O-rbitz booking showed them as 12 noon and 1pm. She said our travel agency was “wrong” and made a copy of our reservation to show to Adam Finch for taking up with them. Other comments: Rooms are of adequate size – neither big nor too cramped. It had some power outlets though a couple of more accessible ones near the bed would have been welcome. It just about makes the 3 star rating. Overall we had a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cluster of good little restaurants on Northwest of crossing of Great American Parkway and Mission College Blvd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
samizdat43
Business
Washington, DC
May 13, 2013

Place is Great!

I had a great stay here. Comfortable, updated rooms, everything was fine. Keurig coffee make in the room. Wifi was free and fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob OO
Business
Santa Clara CA
May 5, 2013

Easy access

Very convenient location to high tech; quiet room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KatieOR
Business
Tigard, OR, USA
Apr 23, 2013

Weekend Family Visit

Stayed here 3 nights while visiting son & grandkids. Convenient location near freeway. Very comfortable but not much extra space in the regular king bed arrangement. The bed was very comfy and we slept well in spite of our room being very close to the busy street. Room was clean and made up very well each day. We were gone all day from morning to night so we didn't use any of the hotel's amenities. At the weekend rates this was a very good deal. The free wifi was quirky in that it took pains to rejoin after shutting down each time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I would skip the IHOP for breakfast and go across the street to the bagel shop for quick morning fixes. Good stuff there served up quick by very friendly staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
midt
Business
Rochester Hills MI
Apr 16, 2013

Not Worth the Money

Great location and the room wasn't dirty - but this was NOT a $190.00 per night room. This was more like a motel than a hotel room. While I never felt threatened in any way (great location) my security awareness senses quickly noted that there were multiple points of ingress and egress to me on my path between the lobby and my room. All room are accessed from the outside (ala motel) and once you leave the lobby - there are multiple directions/points at which someone could approach you directly from the parking lot without passing through the lobby or some sort of security. I expected much better for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Avilabay
Business
Santa Clara, CA
Apr 14, 2013

Near Great America

Clean and comfortable. IHOP resturant is conneted to hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bonnno
Business
Michigan
Apr 12, 2013

Keep expections low, and you willl be pleasantly surprised

Its old Holiday Inn Express, with a new make over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daniellemal
Business
los angeles, CA
Jan 10, 2013

couple

loved the room! got a 10 dollar voucher for Ihop as well which was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daniellemal
Business
los angeles, CA
Jan 9, 2013

avatar

loved the king executive room! Got $10 voucher off of IHOP for booking it great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

IHOP

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top