$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 19, 2015

West Beach Inn

3 stars
View map of 306 W Cabrillo Blvd., Santa Barbara, CA 93101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
147 reviews
Awesome Hotel

This hotel is in a great location, only walking distance to state street and the pier. My husband... See full review

  • Susan B
  • Jun 11, 2015
Great value

Friendly staff, great dollar value, stay one night on way up the coast. See full review

  • ron1509
  • May 22, 2015
The West Beach Inn is a recently renovated beachfront property located between the marina and Stearns Wharf. West Beach is just across the street. Guests enjoy sea breezes, garden or ocean views, and warmly decorated rooms. Travelers mingle at the daily evening wine and cheese reception held poolside. An outdoor heated pool and whirlpool delight travelers, and parking is free. The West Beach Inn is a Mediterranean-style hotel offering relaxation and free perks.
Dining
West Beach Inn guests start the days off right with a free deluxe continental breakfast. Each evening, a poolside wine and cheese reception is held. Many local Santa Barbara restaurants are nearby. Italian, French and Cajun are just a few cuisines to choose from.
Rooms
There are 46 West Beach Inn rooms that are nonsmoking and include a safe, bathrobes, free high-speed wireless Internet, refrigerator, coffee-maker, iron with ironing board, hair-dryer, air conditioning, cable TV with HBO, and game table. Garden view rooms include a single queen bed. Premium Harbor-View rooms are furnished with a private balcony and either one king or double queen beds. The remodeled master suite offers almost 2,000 square feet of space with pool, marina, and ocean views, and a 600-square-foot balcony and deck. The suite is furnished with a full kitchen, breakfast bar, large dining room, five plasma TVs, central air, washer and dryer.
Property features
Complimentary offerings at West Beach Inn include free property-wide high-speed Internet, a continental breakfast buffet, parking and local calls. The free wine and cheese reception held poolside each evening allows guests to mingle. Guests steep in the outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi. Parking is free.
Highlights
  • Across the street from West Beach
  • Free property-wide high-speed Internet
  • Free deluxe continental breakfast
  • Nightly poolside wine and cheese reception
Nearby attractions
  • Stearns Wharf (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Ty Warner Sea Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Santa Barbara Museum of Art (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Santa Barbara Zoo (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Mission Santa Barbara (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
Business
  • Free free property-wide high-speed Internet
Transportation
  • Santa Barbara Municipal Airport (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
  • Burbank-Glendale-Pasadena Airport (89.6 mi/144.2 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (96.6 mi/155.5 km)
Policies
  • The lobby will undergo extensive renovations from 20 Oct to 2 Nov. Food service (breakfast and wine & cheese, all-day coffee, etc.) will be moved to the adjacent suite.
  • Please request bedding preference in the special requests section of the booking path.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed West Beach Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

West Beach Inn Rooms

Garden View Room
A non-smoking 260 sq ft room with a single Queen bed in our Garden area. All rooms include the following amenities: in-room coffee and tea service, hair dryer, iron/board, refrigerator, in-room safe, terry-cloth robes, free local and 800 calls and free HBO. The entire property is high-speed wireless with Internet access free to our guests.
Harbor View Room
A non-smoking 365 sq ft room with private balcony and either one King or two Queen beds. All rooms include the following amenities: in-room coffee and tea service, hair dryer, iron/board, refrigerator, in-room safe, terry-cloth robes, free local and 800 calls and free HBO. The entire property is high-speed wireless with Internet access free to our guests. PLEASE REQUEST YOUR BEDDING PREFERENCE IN THE SPECIAL REQUESTS SECTION OF THE BOOKING PATH.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sterns Wharf: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Barbara City College: 0.4 mi
  • Nojoqui Falls Country Park: 0.7 mi
  • Rafael Gonzalez House: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Barbara County Courthouse: 0.8 mi
  • El Paseo Shopping Mall: 1.5 mi
  • Antioch University: 1.5 mi
  • Alameda Park: 1.7 mi
  • Santa Barbara Maritime Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Mission Santa Barbara: 2.3 mi
  • Skofield Park: 3.5 mi
  • Casa del Herrero: 3.7 mi
  • Virginia Hotel: 7.5 mi
  • University of California, Santa Barbara: 8.9 mi
  • UCSB Events Center: 9 mi
  • Sterns Wharf: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Barbara City College: 0.4 mi
  • Nojoqui Falls Country Park: 0.7 mi
  • Rafael Gonzalez House: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Barbara County Courthouse: 0.8 mi
  • El Paseo Shopping Mall: 1.5 mi
  • Antioch University: 1.5 mi
  • Alameda Park: 1.7 mi
  • Santa Barbara Maritime Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Mission Santa Barbara: 2.3 mi
  • Skofield Park: 3.5 mi
  • Casa del Herrero: 3.7 mi
  • Virginia Hotel: 7.5 mi
  • University of California, Santa Barbara: 8.9 mi
  • UCSB Events Center: 9 mi
  • Cold Spring Tavern: 11.3 mi
  • Santa Barbara Zoo: 195.8 mi

Dining

In our Lobby...
Our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast is served in our sunny lobby from 6 AM - 10 AM each day. Every evening from 5pm to 7pm, we invite you to join us poolside for our wine and cheese reception.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for West Beach Inn

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 147
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of West Beach Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Namasom
Business
Fairfield, CA, USA
Apr 24, 2012

Very enjoyable. Couldn't have asked for better

We had family rooms next to each other and was able to visit without going any where else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Take shuttle up and down State Street

Review of West Beach Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, Nevada
Aug 9, 2010

Great location, Great rooms

Enjoyed the Rodeo and went dancing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of West Beach Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Teacher on a mini vacation
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 24, 2011

Friendly Staff!

When I booked the hotel room on [...], there wasn't a bed preference pull down window. So, at check in, I requested 2 queen beds. There weren't any available, so they graciously upgraded me to a suite at no extra costs. The hotel was very nice and modern looking. The staff were very friendly. Also, I really enjoyed the easy access to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of West Beach Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
May 26, 2011

Wonderful Stay

The hotel was wonderful. Helpful and knowledgeable staff and beyond friendly when we would ask them questions daily! Location was ideal. Right across the street from the beach - close to State Street and the Wharf. Breakfast was perfect and the wine and cheese at night was such a nice treat after sightseeing and walking during the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't go to Downey's restaurant. Overpriced and does not meet expectations of a Zagat rated restaurant.

Review of West Beach Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
carolyn r.
Business
st paul
Feb 4, 2015

fun wiith girl friends in santa barbara

nice big rooms -great location -friendly help --old fashioned but updated motel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of West Beach Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cnspencer
Business
Houston
Jan 14, 2013

Great place!

HIdden gem, great location, amazing value! Stayed here 3x and loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Natural Cafe on State Street is amazing, and Shoreline Cafe across from SBCC is great for happy hr at sunset!

Review of West Beach Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shutterbugs
Business
Austin, TX and Seattle, WA
Jan 4, 2011

Biking Santa Barbara

We were very pleased with the West Beach Inn. It's an older, two- and three-level motel (I'd guess maybe 1960's or 1970's construction), but has been thoroughly updated and maintained. Rates are high, but this is more a reflection of Santa Barbara in general and not the West Beach Inn. For the location, the rates are comparatively good. Pros: Location, right across from the marina, beach, and wharf. Some have complained about the street noise, but we were right on the street side and did not find it a problem. There is very little traffic at night. The pool and hot spa were sparkling clean and very inviting. The included breakfast was adequate for me. I took advantage of the afternoon wine and cheese social a couple times. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly. I had one maintenance request, and although it was Christmas day, the maintenance was completed within a couple hours. Cons: The high-speed wireless internet is very slow and does not reach all the rooms (ours was on the far end of the building and we had no signal). There is not much seating area for breakfast in the lobby. When the weather is good, you can take your breakfast and sit by the pool, otherwise you may not find a place to sit. The washer and dryer for guest use work well, but are very old and grungy. Overall, we highly recommend the West Beach Inn and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The West Beach Inn is just a few short blocks to the Amtrak Station, making it ideal for a carless vacation. Bicycle rentals near the beach are much less expensive than I expected. I brought my own bike this time, but would rent in future to save the hassle.

Review of West Beach Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jan 31, 2011

Great!

Spaceous and clean room with comfortable bed. Love the little extras - small pillow for hugging or between the legs; complimentary cheese and wine every night; compimentary (small) bottle of water in room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of West Beach Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David H.
Business
Seaham
Mar 4, 2015

Lovely hotel

We had a nice stay in this hotel with a room opening onto the lake (ignoring the quiet car park inbetween). Free parking aswell. Good wifi. Staff very friendly. Will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of West Beach Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
didibread
Business
Las Vegas, Neveda
May 7, 2012

cozy little hotel in Santa Barbara

Overall it is really a nice and cozy place. I like the location and everything is beautiful. The breakfast is nice and they do offer coffee and fruits 24 hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top