$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 15, 2014 Check-out: Nov 16, 2014

West Beach Inn

3 stars
306 W Cabrillo Blvd., Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
140 reviews
beautiful no negative signage inn

Perfect lovely helpful staff. Goid relsxing pool area. Wine cheese and crackers a very nice touch. See full review

  • jake987
  • Sep 15, 2014
Family Wedding in the Area

Wonderful experience. Check in was great!!! We had a lot going on so not much time to relax at the... See full review

  • Lynette Sixta
  • Aug 13, 2014
Free amenities provided at inn on West Beach
The West Beach Inn is a recently renovated beachfront property located between the marina and Stearns Wharf. West Beach is just across the street. Guests enjoy sea breezes, garden or ocean views, and warmly decorated rooms. Travelers mingle at the daily evening wine and cheese reception held poolside. An outdoor heated pool and whirlpool delight travelers, and parking is free. The West Beach Inn is a Mediterranean-style hotel offering relaxation and free perks.
Highlights
  • Across the street from West Beach
  • Free property-wide high-speed Internet
  • Free deluxe continental breakfast
  • Nightly poolside wine and cheese reception
Rooms
There are 46 West Beach Inn rooms that are nonsmoking and include a safe, bathrobes, free high-speed wireless Internet, refrigerator, coffee-maker, iron with ironing board, hair-dryer, air conditioning, cable TV with HBO, and game table. Garden view rooms include a single queen bed. Premium Harbor-View rooms are furnished with a private balcony and either one king or double queen beds. The remodeled master suite offers almost 2,000 square feet of space with pool, marina, and ocean views, and a 600-square-foot balcony and deck. The suite is furnished with a full kitchen, breakfast bar, large dining room, five plasma TVs, central air, washer and dryer.
Features
Complimentary offerings at West Beach Inn include free property-wide high-speed Internet, a continental breakfast buffet, parking and local calls. The free wine and cheese reception held poolside each evening allows guests to mingle. Guests steep in the outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi. Parking is free.
Dining
West Beach Inn guests start the days off right with a free deluxe continental breakfast. Each evening, a poolside wine and cheese reception is held. Many local Santa Barbara restaurants are nearby. Italian, French and Cajun are just a few cuisines to choose from.
Transportation
  • Santa Barbara Municipal Airport (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
  • Burbank-Glendale-Pasadena Airport (89.6 mi/144.2 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (96.6 mi/155.5 km)
Attractions
  • Stearns Wharf (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Ty Warner Sea Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Santa Barbara Museum of Art (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Santa Barbara Zoo (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Mission Santa Barbara (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
Business
  • Free free property-wide high-speed Internet
Policies and fees
  • The lobby will undergo extensive renovations from 20 Oct to 2 Nov. Food service (breakfast and wine & cheese, all-day coffee, etc.) will be moved to the adjacent suite.
  • Please request bedding preference in the special requests section of the booking path.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.4091 -119.6936
Area served
Santa Barbara, CA
Nearby airports
Santa Barbara Municipal - SBA and Los Angeles International - LAX Airports
Area description
Local attractions include Santa Barbara Zoo, Santa Barbara Mission, Stern's Wharf, Santa Barbara Museum of Fine Art, shopping on State Street and lots of beautiful beaches in the area.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed West Beach Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

West Beach Inn Rooms

Harbor View Room
A non-smoking 365 sq ft room with private balcony and either one King or two Queen beds. All rooms include the following amenities: in-room coffee and tea service, hair dryer, iron/board, refrigerator, in-room safe, terry-cloth robes, free local and 800 calls and free HBO. The entire property is high-speed wireless with Internet access free to our guests. PLEASE REQUEST YOUR BEDDING PREFERENCE IN THE SPECIAL REQUESTS SECTION OF THE BOOKING PATH.
Garden View Room
A non-smoking 260 sq ft room with a single Queen bed in our Garden area. All rooms include the following amenities: in-room coffee and tea service, hair dryer, iron/board, refrigerator, in-room safe, terry-cloth robes, free local and 800 calls and free HBO. The entire property is high-speed wireless with Internet access free to our guests.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sterns Wharf: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Barbara City College: 0.4 mi
  • Nojoqui Falls Country Park: 0.7 mi
  • Rafael Gonzalez House: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Barbara County Courthouse: 0.8 mi
  • El Paseo Shopping Mall: 1.5 mi
  • Antioch University: 1.5 mi
  • Alameda Park: 1.7 mi
  • Santa Barbara Maritime Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Mission Santa Barbara: 2.3 mi
  • Skofield Park: 3.5 mi
  • Casa del Herrero: 3.7 mi
  • Virginia Hotel: 7.5 mi
  • University of California, Santa Barbara: 8.9 mi
  • UCSB Events Center: 9 mi
  • Sterns Wharf: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Barbara City College: 0.4 mi
  • Nojoqui Falls Country Park: 0.7 mi
  • Rafael Gonzalez House: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Barbara County Courthouse: 0.8 mi
  • El Paseo Shopping Mall: 1.5 mi
  • Antioch University: 1.5 mi
  • Alameda Park: 1.7 mi
  • Santa Barbara Maritime Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Mission Santa Barbara: 2.3 mi
  • Skofield Park: 3.5 mi
  • Casa del Herrero: 3.7 mi
  • Virginia Hotel: 7.5 mi
  • University of California, Santa Barbara: 8.9 mi
  • UCSB Events Center: 9 mi
  • Cold Spring Tavern: 11.3 mi
  • Santa Barbara Zoo: 195.8 mi

Dining

In our Lobby...
Our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast is served in our sunny lobby from 6 AM - 10 AM each day. Every evening from 5pm to 7pm, we invite you to join us poolside for our wine and cheese reception.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (140)

Ratings and reviews for West Beach Inn

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of West Beach Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shutterbugs
Business
Austin, TX and Seattle, WA
Jan 4, 2011

Biking Santa Barbara

We were very pleased with the West Beach Inn. It's an older, two- and three-level motel (I'd guess maybe 1960's or 1970's construction), but has been thoroughly updated and maintained. Rates are high, but this is more a reflection of Santa Barbara in general and not the West Beach Inn. For the location, the rates are comparatively good. Pros: Location, right across from the marina, beach, and wharf. Some have complained about the street noise, but we were right on the street side and did not find it a problem. There is very little traffic at night. The pool and hot spa were sparkling clean and very inviting. The included breakfast was adequate for me. I took advantage of the afternoon wine and cheese social a couple times. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly. I had one maintenance request, and although it was Christmas day, the maintenance was completed within a couple hours. Cons: The high-speed wireless internet is very slow and does not reach all the rooms (ours was on the far end of the building and we had no signal). There is not much seating area for breakfast in the lobby. When the weather is good, you can take your breakfast and sit by the pool, otherwise you may not find a place to sit. The washer and dryer for guest use work well, but are very old and grungy. Overall, we highly recommend the West Beach Inn and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The West Beach Inn is just a few short blocks to the Amtrak Station, making it ideal for a carless vacation. Bicycle rentals near the beach are much less expensive than I expected. I brought my own bike this time, but would rent in future to save the hassle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Beach Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Dec 31, 2010

Better than expected

We were charmed by this cute motel. Wonderful location across the street from the marina. Listen for sea lions in the morning! Also less than a mile from shopping on State Street. We had a 2nd floor room with a garden view, and the garden was truly beautiful. Our room was clean and lovely but small. Only desk chairs to sit in other than the bed so that was a little uncomfortable. The continental breakfast is limited to exquisite pastries, several standard cereals, toast, juices, apples and bananas. The coffee was good! The West Beach Inn has done a wonderful job in remodeling an older property to make it appealing today while maintaining the charm and uniqueness of the Santa Barbara area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid the Harbor Restaurant at Stearns Wharf. We had the buffet and were disappointed with the mushy boiled shrimp, especially after paying $65 per person. We had great fish tacos at Wahoo's on State Street and the tab was less than $10.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Beach Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
oregon
Dec 28, 2010

exelent location and accomadations

Very clean room with excellent service. Could not get wifi where we were. Had to go to the lobby which was a good reason to enjoy their continental breakfast and socialize with the other travelers. Would diffinately stay there again and recommend the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

enjoy the beach, wharf, breakwater, and walk. the views and people are fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Beach Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The debs
Business
Louisville, Kentucky
Dec 14, 2010

location, location, location

You never know what to expect when booking on line, but good reviews on [...] made me keep coming back to the West Beach Inn. It didn't disappoint. I actually asked for an upgrade (for a fee) when I saw that there were rooms with balconies overlooking the bay and yacht club. The staff was so very friendly and helpful. They pointed out that for 25cents, you could catch the trolley at the pier, which is about a block away, and go down State Street (which has every shop and restaurant imaginable), see what looked interesting, hop off and look around, jump back on another trolley when we were finished and make our way back to the pier. The Inn had a very nice wine and cheese spread in the evening for guests and a very nice basic breakfast in the morning. We sat by the pool on both occasions and enjoyed the sounds from the bay. All in all, a very nice experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the trolley which will take you to State Street, a must for shopping while in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Beach Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Nov 21, 2010

Great location

Nice amenities like a Happy hour and breakfast. The locations was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a 25 cent trolley that runs up and down State street that leaves from the entrance to the pier.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Beach Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Nov 10, 2010

Awesome, Great customer service.

I really liked this hotel. I got a really good deal because I went during the off season. The lady at the front desk was very nice and recommended restaurants and shopping. She even told us they had wine tasting in the lobby from 5-7pm. We went and it was a cute little set up, i really enjoyed it. we drank and had cheese and crackers by the pool, which is heated and also had a spa. Was Great!! I would totally go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Beach Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coach Suzanne
Business
Yorba Linda, CA
Nov 9, 2010

West Beach Inn

Ran a half marathon on Saturday, wine tastings on Sunday. Almost didn't make our half marathon because the wakeup call never came. They said they had trouble with the system, but it's a REALLY small hotel (very nice) and seems as though they might have been able to just call or knock on the door. Odd that they just didn't worry about it. Otherwise we had a great time, lovely place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Wine tasting in Los Olivos is amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Beach Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bob UCSB Dad
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 1, 2010

Great value; great location

This was the fourth trip to Santa Barbara this year. The first was for a campus visit to UCSB (then orientation, then moving our daughter there). For Parents' Weekend to UCSB we persuaded my wife's brother and his wife to join us. We all agreed that this stay at West Beach Inn as relaxing and enjoyable. We ate at nearby restaurants and loved the seafood at nearby Stern's Wharf. Long morning walks were followed by a dip in the hot tube. Already booked a 4-night stay at West Beach Inn [...] in February for my sister and her husband, who do a lot taking care of our ailing mother.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is on the other side of Cabrillo Blvd. When we booked for a sunset coastal cruise, we just walked across the street and there we were ready to go cruising!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Beach Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Oct 11, 2010

Great Location

We were both pleasantly surprised with how nice The West Beach Inn is. After reading some reviews we were a bit worried. But, it was a lovely place and great location. However, you will hear the traffic noise. There isn't much they can do about the proximity of the main street. The staff was lovely and helpful. The continental breakfast has more selection than most continental breakfasts have. My only complaint is the wireless internet connection wasn't working when we were in our room. It did however work in the hotel lobby and by the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Beach Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Bend
Sep 12, 2010

Long awaited vacation

We always love Santa Barbara, had a great time, loved the location and hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top