$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

West Beach Inn

3 stars
View map of 306 W Cabrillo Blvd., Santa Barbara, CA 93101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for West Beach Inn

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
161 out of 161
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of West Beach Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chip Andale
Business
Denver
Mar 14, 2011

Great place on the beach

Older hotel on the beach but nicely remodeled. A great value. Staff excellent. I will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab down town. I went to Opals. Excellent.

Review of West Beach Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Feb 24, 2011

excellent location

tour around

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

along beach path

Review of West Beach Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pico Rivera, CA
Feb 6, 2011

Greatm quiet hotel!!

Location: Beach front hotel, pleasantly located a across the beach, walking minutes from the beautiful pier and a few (driving) miles from Downtown. Staff: Staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel environment: Quiet, clean, relaxing Breakfast/Snacks: Breakfast consisted of bagels, slices of bread, juice, coffee, pastries, oatmeal, cereal. In the evening (until 7 pm) they had wine, cheese, crakers. There was always fruit. Room: We stayed in the "garden view" room, very large, clean, nicely decorated, large closet, medium size restroom w/shower. There is a patio section right outside the room with 2 lawn chairs and a small table. A few feet away is a wall with plants... not a great view but it's okay. Not sure how the beach view looked. This hotel a great place to stay for an affordable price, would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of West Beach Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr Brian
Business
Fond du Lac Wi
Feb 2, 2011

Adventures in Paradise

The hotels location was right across from the beach, marina and pier. Our room was comfortable and clean. The coffee and continental breakfast was top quality. Most impressive was the staff who gave us directions to the best restaurants, shopping and events. They were so friendly and bent over backward to make our stay enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food at Chucks at the marina

Review of West Beach Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jan 31, 2011

Great!

Spaceous and clean room with comfortable bed. Love the little extras - small pillow for hugging or between the legs; complimentary cheese and wine every night; compimentary (small) bottle of water in room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of West Beach Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Teacher on a mini vacation
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 24, 2011

Friendly Staff!

When I booked the hotel room on [...], there wasn't a bed preference pull down window. So, at check in, I requested 2 queen beds. There weren't any available, so they graciously upgraded me to a suite at no extra costs. The hotel was very nice and modern looking. The staff were very friendly. Also, I really enjoyed the easy access to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of West Beach Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Longmont, CO
Jan 20, 2011

Great Location!

Great location - right across from the beach! Easy walk to State Street, Stearn's Warf and the Harbor. Room was small but comfortable. Enjoyed the heated pool and hot tub too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brophy Bros has great fresh seafood. It's very popular with locals but worth the wait! Sambos has a great breakfast too!

Review of West Beach Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shutterbugs
Business
Austin, TX and Seattle, WA
Jan 4, 2011

Biking Santa Barbara

We were very pleased with the West Beach Inn. It's an older, two- and three-level motel (I'd guess maybe 1960's or 1970's construction), but has been thoroughly updated and maintained. Rates are high, but this is more a reflection of Santa Barbara in general and not the West Beach Inn. For the location, the rates are comparatively good. Pros: Location, right across from the marina, beach, and wharf. Some have complained about the street noise, but we were right on the street side and did not find it a problem. There is very little traffic at night. The pool and hot spa were sparkling clean and very inviting. The included breakfast was adequate for me. I took advantage of the afternoon wine and cheese social a couple times. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly. I had one maintenance request, and although it was Christmas day, the maintenance was completed within a couple hours. Cons: The high-speed wireless internet is very slow and does not reach all the rooms (ours was on the far end of the building and we had no signal). There is not much seating area for breakfast in the lobby. When the weather is good, you can take your breakfast and sit by the pool, otherwise you may not find a place to sit. The washer and dryer for guest use work well, but are very old and grungy. Overall, we highly recommend the West Beach Inn and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The West Beach Inn is just a few short blocks to the Amtrak Station, making it ideal for a carless vacation. Bicycle rentals near the beach are much less expensive than I expected. I brought my own bike this time, but would rent in future to save the hassle.

Review of West Beach Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Dec 31, 2010

Better than expected

We were charmed by this cute motel. Wonderful location across the street from the marina. Listen for sea lions in the morning! Also less than a mile from shopping on State Street. We had a 2nd floor room with a garden view, and the garden was truly beautiful. Our room was clean and lovely but small. Only desk chairs to sit in other than the bed so that was a little uncomfortable. The continental breakfast is limited to exquisite pastries, several standard cereals, toast, juices, apples and bananas. The coffee was good! The West Beach Inn has done a wonderful job in remodeling an older property to make it appealing today while maintaining the charm and uniqueness of the Santa Barbara area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid the Harbor Restaurant at Stearns Wharf. We had the buffet and were disappointed with the mushy boiled shrimp, especially after paying $65 per person. We had great fish tacos at Wahoo's on State Street and the tab was less than $10.

Review of West Beach Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
oregon
Dec 28, 2010

exelent location and accomadations

Very clean room with excellent service. Could not get wifi where we were. Had to go to the lobby which was a good reason to enjoy their continental breakfast and socialize with the other travelers. Would diffinately stay there again and recommend the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

enjoy the beach, wharf, breakwater, and walk. the views and people are fantastic.

Back to menu Return to top