Villa Rosa

3 stars
15 Chapala St., Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
19 reviews
Pleasantly Surprised

The accommodations were quaint and clean. We were there to experience the funk zone and it was a... See full review

  • Amy Chartier
  • Aug 26, 2013
wonderful

Location was excellent.We could walk everywhere or get on the shuttle. Hotel was cozy like a... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 20, 2011
One of the finest Santa Barbara Inns, combining an ideal location with the sort of personalized attention you'd expect from the area's top bed and breakfast inn. A 100% NON SMOKING HOTEL - MUST CHECK IN BY 10PM. We provide continental breakfast daily, so you can sit back and enjoy the morning. For total relaxation, lounge by our pool or soak in the spa in our garden courtyard. Later in the day, enjoy mingling with your newfound friends around complimentary wine and cheese or evening port and sherry.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa Rosa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Villa Rosa Rooms

Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms are upstairs with one queen bed, courtyard side, fireplace sitting area, and french doors that open to view of garden, pool and jacuzzi area.
Guestroom
The eighteen rooms are furnished in a Spanish Colonial style with a contemporary flair. The fabrics are soft-textured in warm, soothing tones. All linens are of the highest grade.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Sterns Wharf: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Barbara City College: 0.5 mi
  • Rafael Gonzalez House: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Barbara County Courthouse: 0.8 mi
  • Nojoqui Falls Country Park: 0.8 mi
  • El Paseo Shopping Mall: 1.3 mi
  • Antioch University: 1.3 mi
  • Alameda Park: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Santa Barbara: 2.2 mi
  • Santa Barbara Maritime Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Skofield Park: 3.4 mi
  • Casa del Herrero: 3.5 mi
  • Virginia Hotel: 7.6 mi
  • University of California, Santa Barbara: 9.1 mi
  • UCSB Events Center: 9.1 mi
  • Sterns Wharf: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Barbara City College: 0.5 mi
  • Rafael Gonzalez House: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Barbara County Courthouse: 0.8 mi
  • Nojoqui Falls Country Park: 0.8 mi
  • El Paseo Shopping Mall: 1.3 mi
  • Antioch University: 1.3 mi
  • Alameda Park: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Santa Barbara: 2.2 mi
  • Santa Barbara Maritime Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Skofield Park: 3.4 mi
  • Casa del Herrero: 3.5 mi
  • Virginia Hotel: 7.6 mi
  • University of California, Santa Barbara: 9.1 mi
  • UCSB Events Center: 9.1 mi
  • Cold Spring Tavern: 11.3 mi
  • Santa Barbara Zoo: 195.7 mi

Dining

Evening Gathering
Later in the day, enjoy mingling with your newfound friends around complimentary wine and cheese or evening port and sherry.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (19)

Ratings and reviews for Villa Rosa

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
2.6

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Rosa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Danny123
Business
Orange County,Ca
Aug 13, 2012

Very disappointing

Location is good but the hotel itself was unclean and old. Our room was a tiny and cramped two-story with a loft. The room had a musty smell and the couch had visible stains and rips in it. The tiny loft could fit a bed and nothing else. The overall feeling was gross and the only reason we stayed because it was for one night and we couldn't find anything else at the time. For over $250/night, it was a definite rip off and I will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Rosa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JonnyBoy53
Business
Santa Clarita, CA
May 6, 2013

Old hotel

The hotel was old and almost looked as if it was an apartment complex converted into a hotel. Nice location however, extremely let down when I arrived.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Rosa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irvine, Ca.
Jul 5, 2011

Wouldn't recommend

No airconditioning at this hotel meant that the window had to be open during the night to keep cool enough to sleep.....the problem with this is the noise outside from shipping things...."horns, beeps etc" meant a bad nights sleep. Why in this day an age does a hotel have no A/C?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Rosa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, CA
Jul 5, 2010

Miss lead information for hotel

Right from the start, I was impress with the hotel until they told me I was staying in a studio next store. I thought okay, but when they took me there. The unit was completely different from the internet photos. The room was set up like the maids quarters with no phone, iron, hair dryer, the bathroom didn't have a counter top, but had one in the kitchen. And why did I get a unit with a kitchen. I told them no way and that the pictures are nothing like this in the internet. They said this unit doesn't have a picture. So they moved me into a livingroom with one bedroom. Outside the unit in the courtyard was where other people lived and all their stuff around the building, also construction material. I hate this place. If you can't stay at the main hotel don't go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Rosa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Jul 17, 2011

Villa Rosa, Santa Barbara

Very disappointing bed and breakfast hotel. The highlight was the friendly lady who checked us in, everything else was unacceptable including morning/breakfast staff. The room and common areas were dirty. Towels and sheets were thin and cheap. There was a kitchen in the room but not one dish or even coffee cup in the cupboards. We would never return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Rosa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dino I. Beaver
Business
Brea, California
Jul 13, 2010

Flea bag Cottage

The hotel puts pictures of the hotel rooms online, but not of the "Cottages" where we were suppose to stay. My wife and I were shocked at the condition of the "Cottage" next door. There were mattresses in the closet, Orange peels in the trash and the doors fell of the hinges in the bathroom. The furiture was ancient and in very poor condition. It felt like "Bait-and-Switch" to us , so we asked for a refund, whichwe were told could not be given to us until we talk to the manager who was not present.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Rosa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Waist of money
Business
Las Vegas
May 18, 2010

False add

I did not get a qween bed, the room was not complete exposed sheet rock in shower room sheet rock on table covered with plastic wrap. I got a full size bed and paid for a queen. I met the owner who said he would make it right , and never did. I would like my money back because I did not get what I paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Rosa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Susieqtshea
Business
Auburn, CA
Jul 23, 2012

Read the signs!

We asked to check in early as we had a wedding to get to by 3:30 PM. This was at noon and we were assured that our room would be ready by 1:00. When we returned another woman was at the desk who I later learned was a manager. She was very reluctant to let us have the room but called the original woman we had dealt with and eventually let us in the room. We expressed our gratitude to her and were relieved that we could freshen up after an eight hour drive and get to the wedding on time. But this is where things went bad. We cleaned up and when we went to the car to go to the wedding we had a parking ticket. My husband went to talk to the manager and her attitude was that it was our problem. I, a few minutes later, confronted her, asking her why she hadn't given us a parking pass and since parking on the street was apparently a dangerous proposition (eager meter maids), we should have been warned and taken care of by the hotel. Their lot was full. It is tiny and certainly not big enough to accomodate all their guests. She, the manager, became rude. To quote her exactly, "Don't you Americans know how to read signs?" I was appalled! I shot back, "What do you mean Americans? Aren't you American? Don't talk to me about nationalities. I'm talking about an expensive parking ticket that should have been avoided if you had done your job and given us a pass to park on the street." She then told me what a concession she had made by letting us have our room early. Again, I told her I appreciated that but we were talking about passes and tickets. I asked her if she now wanted me to kiss her feet? I admit I was angry and left with the issue unresolved. A person of her demeanor should not be in a service industry that deals with the public. She was not gracious, helpful, or pleasant from the minute we met her. She was flustered, confusing, and in the end, rude and bigoted. It was a lovely hotel, perfectly situated one half block from the beach but I will never stay there again, and I will make sure as many people as I can reach will know of her rudeness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Rosa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dbpaddler
Business
Tacoma, WA
Jun 24, 2013

Quaint but...

Very close to the beach and a reasonable walk to the town center. Lovely mission style but needs maintenance. Lacked some of the amenities you expect of more modern facilities in this price range. Staff was very attentive and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Rosa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OsoM
Business
Woodland Hills, California
Aug 15, 2013

Villa Rosa - Mason Cottages

Unfortuantely, the cottage assigned was not a guest house as we had assumed but an adjacent building of apartments. Other than not having to do our own bed there was no feeling of being in a hotel or a B&B. It was more like staying a friends apartment with the noise and lack of any hospitality. No phones. If you are guaranteed a room in the main building/hotel, it's worth it otherwise you could do better for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top