Villa Rosa

3 stars
View map of 15 Chapala St., Santa Barbara, CA 93101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
19 reviews
Pleasantly Surprised

The accommodations were quaint and clean. We were there to experience the funk zone and it was a... See full review

  • Amy Chartier
  • Aug 26, 2013
wonderful

Location was excellent.We could walk everywhere or get on the shuttle. Hotel was cozy like a... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 20, 2011
One of the finest Santa Barbara Inns, combining an ideal location with the sort of personalized attention you'd expect from the area's top bed and breakfast inn. A 100% NON SMOKING HOTEL - MUST CHECK IN BY 10PM. We provide continental breakfast daily, so you can sit back and enjoy the morning. For total relaxation, lounge by our pool or soak in the spa in our garden courtyard. Later in the day, enjoy mingling with your newfound friends around complimentary wine and cheese or evening port and sherry.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa Rosa also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$199
3.8 / 5 123 reviews
★★★
$199
4.2 / 5 26 reviews
★★★
$219
4.2 / 5 148 reviews
★★★
$173
3.6 / 5 50 reviews
★★★★
$239
3.9 / 5 97 reviews
★★★
$177
3.7 / 5 222 reviews
★★★
$229
4.4 / 5 5 reviews
★★★
$152
3.6 / 5 49 reviews

Villa Rosa Rooms

Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms are upstairs with one queen bed, courtyard side, fireplace sitting area, and french doors that open to view of garden, pool and jacuzzi area.
Guestroom
The eighteen rooms are furnished in a Spanish Colonial style with a contemporary flair. The fabrics are soft-textured in warm, soothing tones. All linens are of the highest grade.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Sterns Wharf: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Barbara City College: 0.5 mi
  • Rafael Gonzalez House: 0.6 mi
  • Hill- Carrillo Adobe: 0.8 mi
  • Nojoqui Falls Country Park: 0.8 mi
  • El Paseo Shopping Mall: 1.3 mi
  • Antioch University: 1.3 mi
  • Alice Keck park Memorial Gardens: 1.7 mi
  • Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History: 2.2 mi
  • Arroyo Burro County Beach Park: 2.3 mi
  • Skofield Park: 3.4 mi
  • Casa del Herrero: 3.5 mi
  • Virginia Hotel: 7.6 mi
  • University of California, Santa Barbara: 9.1 mi
  • UCSB Events Center: 9.1 mi
  • Sterns Wharf: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Barbara City College: 0.5 mi
  • Rafael Gonzalez House: 0.6 mi
  • Hill- Carrillo Adobe: 0.8 mi
  • Nojoqui Falls Country Park: 0.8 mi
  • El Paseo Shopping Mall: 1.3 mi
  • Antioch University: 1.3 mi
  • Alice Keck park Memorial Gardens: 1.7 mi
  • Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History: 2.2 mi
  • Arroyo Burro County Beach Park: 2.3 mi
  • Skofield Park: 3.4 mi
  • Casa del Herrero: 3.5 mi
  • Virginia Hotel: 7.6 mi
  • University of California, Santa Barbara: 9.1 mi
  • UCSB Events Center: 9.1 mi
  • Cold Spring Tavern: 11.3 mi
  • Santa Barbara Zoo: 195.7 mi

Dining

Evening Gathering
Later in the day, enjoy mingling with your newfound friends around complimentary wine and cheese or evening port and sherry.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Villa Rosa

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
2.6

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Rosa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amy Chartier
Couples
Redlands
Aug 26, 2013

Pleasantly Surprised

The accommodations were quaint and clean. We were there to experience the funk zone and it was a perfect location for that. The evening cheese and wine, and the breakfast was far better than I would have expected. We had a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Villa Rosa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Arroyo Grande, Ca
Jun 20, 2011

wonderful

Location was excellent.We could walk everywhere or get on the shuttle. Hotel was cozy like a private hacienda (home). Bed was new and very comfortable. Towels in bath were VERY nice Hosts were nice. Wine and cheese was very well done. Breakfast was good! There was not a thing we could ask for to make our stay better except more time to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Villa Rosa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Feb 17, 2008

Great place to stay!

I cannot begin to explain how wonderful it was for my husband and myself to stay there. He recently return from his third deployment. I was looking for a hotel close to the beach, but not too close to the loud crowds where he can relax and rest and Villa Rosa had it for us. The bed was completely comfortable and the sheets were soft and very clean. I love the complimentary bathrobe they provide. The room was very spacious to even fit another queen size bed and still have enough walking space. The hotel also provides wireless internet which is nice. The only downside was that the router in ours wasn't working so we had to go to the main lobby to used it, but that did not matter since we were never in the hotel anyways. The breakfast was nice because guest can make their own waffles and choose different cereals and other morning pastries. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable as where to dine and shop. I would most definetaly stay at the this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Dining restaurants are great the only one's I would not recommend is the pier Moby Dick! The food was not what it describes in the menu and the Salmon my husband and I order was terrible. The best dining place are in State St. Great Italian restaurants. The shopping is also all down State St.

Review of Villa Rosa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
martinez
Aug 8, 2011

old victorian style. lovely.

Cool ocean breeze so no ac needed. Wine and cheese was great along with breakfast in the morning. The room was a little pricey but it was fiesta weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Review of Villa Rosa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Cali Couple
Business
Upland, CA
Jan 9, 2010

BEAUTIFUL, PERFECT LOCATION, BUT NOISSSY

The hotel was very cute. The staff was friendly and the rooms were spacious with great balconies. You can see the beach from a lot of the rooms and it is very close. My ONLY complaint was the NOISE. There is a train or metrolink or something that sounds like it is coming through the hotel. It woke me up a couple times throughout the night. Also, you can hear everything in the halls. It's just a very noisy hotel. However, the free wine and cheese bar and the free breakfast was great. And the hotel is BEAUTIFUL. I do recommend it..even with the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Rosa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Los Angeles
Jan 19, 2010

Old World Charm and Cozy atmosphere

The words that come to mind are: "old world charm" and "cozy atmosphere". We enjoyed our stay and would come again if in the Santa Barbara area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Villa Rosa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mouse3876
Couples
Burbank, CA
May 17, 2010

Great stay

We stayed in a cottage which had a queen bed, nice TV, large closet, extra twin bed, and a full kitchen. We loved it and would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Villa Rosa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
long beach, ca
May 9, 2009

very relaxing

I had never stayed at an inn before. I am not a fan of ben and breakfasts because I have always felt like a guest in someone elses house. I really enjoyed the personal touches that came from the inn with the freedom and privateness of a hotel. The atmosphere was very laid back and welcoming. We enjoyed the wine and cheese service as well as the breakfast. Bed was comfortable, tv was high def, we had a gas fireplace in our room. I look forward to staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Villa Rosa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OsoM
Couples
Woodland Hills, California
Aug 15, 2013

Villa Rosa - Mason Cottages

Unfortuantely, the cottage assigned was not a guest house as we had assumed but an adjacent building of apartments. Other than not having to do our own bed there was no feeling of being in a hotel or a B&B. It was more like staying a friends apartment with the noise and lack of any hospitality. No phones. If you are guaranteed a room in the main building/hotel, it's worth it otherwise you could do better for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Villa Rosa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Pleasanton, CA
Jul 21, 2010

Sweet Deal

Friendly and attentive staff! :) However, please update the old towels in the room, they were so thin. Please air out the rooms as it smelt like old closet/room (no matter how much lotion/cologne/perfume we used...the smell lingered).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

State Street is where you find varieties of food! :)

Back to menu Return to top