$87 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

The Sandman Inn

2 stars
3714 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
201 reviews
Excellent Value in a Prime Location

My Sandman room was clean, the staff friendly, the pool and breakfast fine. For a great location in... See full review

  • SB Fan
  • Jan 30, 2012
Perfect for the price

Great little place to stay for the affordable price. Location is a short drive (maybe 8-10 min)... See full review

  • JessicaOC
  • Jan 23, 2012
Great Santa Barbara value accommodations
The Sandman Inn is located on 4.5 acres of nicely landscaped grounds with a hot tub and two outdoor heated swimming pools. A daily, free continental breakfast buffet gives guests the perfect way to start the day off right. Amenities like a DVD player in rooms and more than 200 DVDs for free rental keep travelers entertained. Rooms also feature free high-speed wireless Internet, a microwave and a refrigerator. Families and couples on a budget staying in Santa Barbara keep coming back to The Sandman Inn for well-priced accommodations.
Highlights
  • Free deluxe continental breakfast
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet
  • Local fitness center access
Rooms
The Sandman Inn offers 112 nonsmoking guest rooms, some of which offer poolside views. Revamped air conditioning, heating and new mattresses are available in most rooms. Dual-pane windows assure that tired travelers are able to sleep. The 32-inch flat-screen televisions entertain guests with free cable and HBO. Guests can enjoy the movies of their choosing, as more than 200 DVDs are available for free to play on in-room DVD players. Guests can choose from rooms with a king or two queen beds with 225 square feet of space, expanded cable television with HBO and DVD player, voice mail, free local calls, refrigerator, microwave, coffee-maker, bathroom with shower only and air conditioning. Poolside rooms at the Sandman Inn provide a king bed with the above amenities and 250 square feet of space.
Features
The Sandman Inn features two outdoor heated swimming pools, whirlpool and local fitness center access. The Sandman Inn provides a daily free deluxe continental breakfast for guests with items like breakfast burritos, fruit, cereal, yogurt, bagels, hard-boiled eggs, coffee and a selection of juices. Santa Barbara has numerous dining options, and a Whole Foods supermarket is just across the street.
Transportation
  • Santa Barbara Municipal Airport (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Burbank-Glendale-Pasadena Airport (93.5 mi/150.5 km)
  • Los Angeles Intl Airport (104 mi/167.4 km)
Attractions
  • Santa Barbara Golf Club (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Stevens Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Santa Barbara Museum of Art (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Stearns Wharf (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Ty Warner Sea Center (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Santa Barbara Zoo (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • University of California, Santa Barbara (8 mi/12.9 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet
  • Work desk

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Sandman Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

The Sandman Inn Rooms

Standard 2 Doubles Non- Smoking
The bedding option for this room includes 2 double beds with 225 square feet of living space, expanded cable TV with HBO and DVD player, voice mail, complimentary local and credit card calls, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, bathroom with shower only and A/C.
Standard 1 King Non- Smoking
The bedding option for this room includes 1 king bed with 225 square feet of living space, expanded cable TV with HBO and DVD player, voice mail, complimentary local and credit card calls, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, bathroom with shower only and A/C.
Poolside 1 King bed Non Smoking
The bedding option for this room includes 1 king bed with 250 square feet of living space, expanded cable TV with HBO and DVD player, voice mail, complimentary local and credit card calls, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, bathroom with shower only and A/C.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Santa Barbara Maritime Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Santa Barbara: 1.9 mi
  • Alameda Park: 2.1 mi
  • Santa Barbara County Courthouse: 2.9 mi
  • El Paseo Shopping Mall: 3.1 mi
  • Santa Barbara City College: 3.3 mi
  • Skofield Park: 3.3 mi
  • Rafael Gonzalez House: 3.4 mi
  • Sterns Wharf: 3.7 mi
  • Nojoqui Falls Country Park: 4.2 mi
  • Virginia Hotel: 4.4 mi
  • Antioch University: 4.4 mi
  • Casa del Herrero: 5.9 mi
  • UCSB Events Center: 6.4 mi
  • University of California, Santa Barbara: 6.5 mi
  • Santa Barbara Maritime Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Santa Barbara: 1.9 mi
  • Alameda Park: 2.1 mi
  • Santa Barbara County Courthouse: 2.9 mi
  • El Paseo Shopping Mall: 3.1 mi
  • Santa Barbara City College: 3.3 mi
  • Skofield Park: 3.3 mi
  • Rafael Gonzalez House: 3.4 mi
  • Sterns Wharf: 3.7 mi
  • Nojoqui Falls Country Park: 4.2 mi
  • Virginia Hotel: 4.4 mi
  • Antioch University: 4.4 mi
  • Casa del Herrero: 5.9 mi
  • UCSB Events Center: 6.4 mi
  • University of California, Santa Barbara: 6.5 mi
  • Cold Spring Tavern: 7.8 mi
  • Santa Barbara Zoo: 199 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (201)

Ratings and reviews for The Sandman Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
201 out of 201
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sandman Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
l.burke
Business
santa barbara
Apr 8, 2013

Dont want to stay here

many concerns with this hotel. Had to stay here due to resident renovation. They do not care for the concerns of there guest nore do they try to fix the problems. They advertise wifi, cant get on line for a entire month. Bugs in the rooms, key to room does not work. I was locked out of my room seven times and when addressed this with management, still was not taken care of.. The only thing I liked about the hotel was the maids were attentive and the hot tub was nice. staff is a big concern including and most of all management. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit santa barbara I want you to enjoy your time in our beautful city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

visit the wharf in SB and walk along the beach enjoy the arts and crafts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sandman Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jfarbs
Business
SF Bay Area
Mar 11, 2013

Great value in Goleta

Good location on Upper State Street, near Highway 101 but not so close that you can hear traffic. Shopping close by plus restaurants Pizza Guru and Max’s (both worth visiting). Pool heated to pleasant temperature, plus Jacuzzi. Large rooms with DVD, and front desk has big selection of free DVDs. Refrigerator and microwave, plus free wifi. Free parking plus free breakfast in 1950s mini-diner. Cereals, donuts, pastries, bagels, hard-boiled eggs and yogurts (plus waffles). Only negative was that the towels were thin and the beds just okay. Overall: Excellent value. Friendly front desk staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sandman Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ca Joe
Business
San Jose, CA
Jan 6, 2013

Last Stop Before Home

Prepaid 1 night in advance for family of 4 ( parents and 2 teenagers) and we got a king bed! Only one night so it was no big deal but next time we need to see a double beds somewhere in the contract. We happended to see the motel charged $21 less than our prepayment for one night! Now we knew why we got only a king bed for 4 persons. A good profit was made! Comfortabe but very small room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sandman Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Man of Sand
Business
San Gabriel Valley
Jan 2, 2013

20th Century R&R - SB Style

As a UCSB alum, I wanted to stay somewhere between State Street south and the Isla Vista campus. This place was right off of the La Cumbre exit on the 101, a Whole Foods was less than a block away, and the price was just right to enjoy a memorable wknd in SB. The staff was friendly and the brkfst offerings were decent. Will definitely stay here again. Good parking, nice pools and chill neighborhood. The Sandman delivered!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take advantage of the Whole Foods right across the street. Also, check out the SB zoo...it's zooper!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sandman Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hannah0515
Business
Lodi, CA
Jul 10, 2012

Decent

Room was decent. Hot water stopped working at one moment. Came back on later. Good thing is the food options at their Continental breakfast. A little pricey, probably only because of location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sandman Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rajsk
Business
bay area
Jun 19, 2012

room comfort

bed frame sticks out way beyond the mattress, when you walk around you hit the bed frame with your feet on occasions, my self and my wife did it few times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sandman Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
meowmeow
Business
california
Apr 27, 2012

cockroaches and false accusations

Horrible! I wasn't expecting a 5 star hotel but I also wasn't expecting this... The room had tons of ants , construction behind the hotel starting at 6am went to take a shower either freezing cold or scalding hot water no in between the best part was when we were packing up to leave we put our bags on the bed and found a cockroach so I went to the front desk to complain and the manager Camillia was arguing with me telling me it was not a cockroach it was a waterbug (i have pictures to prove that it is in fact a cockroach) and disregarded everything else i said but she did tell me i would be getting a discount on the room (only 20%). I never did get that discount because of false allegations of smoking in the room. So if the sandman inn is your last resort i recommend sleeping in your car it'll be a lot cleaner guaranteed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sandman Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Blunt One
Business
Thousand Oaks, CA, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Nothing to write home about...

The hotel is pretty old but the location was great. You could hear EVERYTHING in the room below along with both rooms on either side of us. I know it's Santa Barbara, but for $165 per night, I feel like there was a lot to be desired. The beds were pretty awful and the pillows were weird. And the towels were "kind of scratchy" to say the least. I'll buck up the extra cash next time and stay somewhere else next time...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Tee Off or Chuck's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sandman Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sean S.
Business
Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Sandman Inn Review

Room was tiny. Whole room smelled of mildew. Paper thin walls. Interior walls could use a new coat of paint. Would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Jane's! Yum!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sandman Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Handy
Business
Connecticut, USA
Apr 4, 2012

Room with a view!

The beds are so comfy....I sleep better than I do at home! The continental breakfast is great, a little something for everyone. The view of the foothills is an extra perk. I have stayed here 3 times and it will always be my place to stay when I come to Santa Barbara to visit my son.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to check out the wharf at the end of State Street. Shops, restaurants, gorgeous view looking back at Santa Barbara and the hills.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top