The Sandman Inn

2 stars
View map of 3714 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sandman Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
192 out of 192
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sandman Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Nor. Cal
Aug 4, 2011

College Orientation

We stayed one night before Freshman Orientation at UCSB

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Sandman Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nylasmommy
Family
Hawaiian Gardens, Ca
Apr 22, 2009

An "OK" Stay

During my stay there was a 4-5 hour power outage. The staff tried to be very accomodating. Really liked the choice of DVD rentals available in front lobby. Room decor was very outdated and sheets were rough. Bathroom was clean and a large size. Water pressure in shower was very poor. Abundance of towels was nice!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the downtown area and the beautiful Mission.

Review of The Sandman Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Pasadena, CA
Oct 15, 2010

good place

We arrived late and found a very comfortable room waiting for us. The continental breakfast was acceptable with fresh fruit, cereal yogurt and breakfast burritos, good coffee and a selection of juices. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Sandman Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Los Angeles, Ca.
Jul 18, 2011

Old but quaint

Quint hotel with many ammentities. Great for the price. The only drawback is that you could hear your up stairs neighbor walking on floor. Get an up stairs room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Sandman Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Wood Ranch/Simi Valley, CA
Apr 23, 2009

Good place to stay for the price -

I took my granddaughter to Santa Barbara over spring break - I knew we would just be in the room to sleep, so I chose the Sandman Inn. For the price, it was fine. I would have liked to have been closer to the pier and shopping area, but the hotel was adequate, quiet and the continental breakfast was good. The rooms were clean, but the carpet was horrible and made the whole room look dingy. The office staff was very helpful in helping me map out places of interest. All in all, my stay at the Sandman was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Circle Bar Guest Ranch for horseback riding -

Review of The Sandman Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fetch
Couples
Huntington Beach, CA
May 26, 2011

Good place for the $

Room was small, but adequate for the $. The continental breakfast was tasty, diverse, and generous. The room had a flat screen TV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Sandman Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Laguna Hills, Ca
Jul 26, 2009

Good value

Motel was clean and conveniently located (Santa Barbara is an overpriced city!!!) However either the air conditioning was not working or non existing. The ceiling fan was not very efective. I would stay again though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Sandman Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Visalia, CA
Apr 21, 2011

Great for the Price

It was a nice Hotel the only thing that I could say bad is that the shower was dirty and the carpet a little old, but it was a great place for the PRICE!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Max's Italian Dining (I think, Max's for sure), must try the Solstice Melt...AMAZING!!

Review of The Sandman Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
San Jacinto, Ca
Jul 13, 2011

my vacation

We enjoyed the beds. They were very comfortable. The breakfast was great. Lots of food groups to choose from. The room were a nice size. It was a good choice for the money. The landscaping on the grounds was nice. I am a plant person and a messy area would have drove me nuts. The bushes and plants were well taken care of. My sister and I spent alot of time down my the beaches in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The beach by Santa Barbara State College was very nice. It has some grass areas and benches to sit on. There are some trees for shade too!

Review of The Sandman Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sc
May 10, 2011

sb

OK hotel for the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top