$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2015 Check-out: Oct 1, 2015

The Eagle Inn

3 stars
View map of 232 Natoma Ave, Santa Barbara, CA 93101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Eagle Inn

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Eagle Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aunt Son
Single
Philadelphia, PA
May 10, 2014

Clean and Comfortable

Even though my room was not ready when I arrived in the early afternoon, they made an effort to get the room ready for me within 20 minutes. The room was a nice size (I had a queen) and the location was very convenient to the downtown shops and restaurants. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at The Eagle Inn again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Eagle Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
timmuggs
Couples
East Bay area
Apr 22, 2014

Excellent place for a short stay

Truly an exceptional value. The place is squeaky clean, comfortable, well located and the staff is happy and welcoming. We loved the location - walk to beach or to downtown, or both, as we did on one long walk from the hotel to the wharf and then all the way to the Mission and back. The neighborhood is tidy, quiet and charming -- near the marina and beach, and also a pleasant walk to State Street shops and restaurants. The room was perfect for the price. It was not crowded, it was clean, the bathroom was new and scrubbed. The bedding was fine on the king bed. There was a bit of noise from people walking overhead. Next time we'd request a 2nd floor room, but hey, the value is terrific. Breakfast was good - plates of fresh fruit, plus a choice of eggs or yogurt & granola. Healthy way to start the day. There is no restaurant at the hotel, but you can walk to beachfront places or head uptown to everything from Irish pubs to fine Cal-diterranian cuisine. We prefer to get out and see the town anyway. This is a good place. Perfect for a 2 night stay in the best part of Santa Barbara.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

A shopkeeper recommended a meal at Opal, a restaurant on State Street. Seemed to be frequented by locals, good food & drink. We sat at the bar & talked to staff to get ideas on what to do. Food was healthy & tasty, experience was fun.

Review of The Eagle Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
who cares anyway
Couples
santa barbara eagles inn
Jun 26, 2013

vaca

rated 4 star--not our room for same rack price as a suite with a sitting room, we got the smallest room in the place. at the top of the stairs( no elevator; not disclosed), and at the busy street. booked well in advance too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Eagle Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rockympls
Couples
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 7, 2013

Wonderful little hacienda

The Eagle Inn is a fantastic little hotel. It's a quaint, well-kept building with a polite staff, located just a few blocks off of the beach and within walking distance of pretty much anything you want to do in Santa Barbara. They provide a great breakfast every morning -- not the continental variety (stale cereal, plastic danish and watery juice), but an actual cooked-to-order meal that varies each day. Though Santa Barbara is one of the more forgiving climates, the rooms have air conditioning, which is a nice plus if you forget to open the windows. I only have two minor gripes about the stay: a) the bedding, though very comfortable and high-end, was a bit excessive given the aforementioned warm climate. I would peel off the comforter and then find that the flimsy sheet and blanket underneath just weren't enough. The second gripe, which is VERY minor, is that the TV in the room was an old CRT unit. I didn't spend much time, if any, watching TV while I was in Santa Barbara, but a little detail like replacing the old TV with a modern flat-panel unit always inspires confidence in the hotel's upkeep. Overall? I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay away from Eladio's, which is right across from the wharf. It came highly reviewed for some reason, but the decor was outdated, the staff inattentive, and the food was mediocre at the very best. Walk a block down to FisHouse instead.

Review of The Eagle Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CALILUV
Couples
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Apr 1, 2013

Comfortable and great location

Friendly staff and great breakfast. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Walking distance to harbor and downtown State St. Home-baked cookies were also a nice touch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Eagle Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
juderose
Business
seattle
Mar 13, 2013

comfortable stay

they were very friendly, accomodating and had a great hot breakfast each morning with decent coffee! free bikes to ride along the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Eagle Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ineedbacon
Friends
Gardena, CA
Feb 4, 2013

Girls' weekend out

It's a little pricey at ~$200 per night for a single. Nice location, in that you can walk to the beach, the pier, and State Street (tons of shops and restaurants and wine tasting rooms). Nice, clean rooms. Breakfast was rather "light" for a carnivore like me but service is A+. A map of the surrounding areas in the room binder would have been very helpful, but you can get one from the check-in desk. Staff was overall excellent: very helpful and cheerful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Eagle Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jasmineedwards
Family
Miami Florida
Jan 29, 2013

Great Location, Friendly Staff!

Usually I feel hotels are overpriced in Santa Barbara, but this hotel was an exception. The location of the hotel is great, he room was comfortable and clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful. Highly recommended hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Eagle Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Natalie G.
Family
Santa Barbara, California
Jan 21, 2013

Excellent Inn After Water Activities

After cruising, watching dolphins, and engaging in water activities, the Eagle Inn provides relaxation for tourists and visitors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Eagle Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Visiting with a Friend
Friends
Los Angeles
Aug 22, 2010

August Rental

It is a charming Inn. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was quite young and were not very professional. Inn staff are only available from 8am to 10pm, after that there is no one available. The location is great you can walk to the beach and to State Street. The continental breakfast wasn't worth getting up for. I didn't find it worth the price we paid, which was summer weekend rates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top