$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

Sandpiper Lodge

2 stars
3525 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
182 reviews
Great place to stay halfway to San Diego!

This is the fourth time we've stayed here on our way to San Diego. It's the perfect halfway point... See full review

  • SanDiegoBoundMom
  • Apr 26, 2014
Good spontaneous spot

Stayed here for a quick spontaneous trip. Clean room and looked great. See full review

  • Thebballkid
  • Sep 30, 2013
Budget-minded Santa Barbara lodge near Stearns Wharf
The Sandpiper Lodge is located on upper State Street, just minutes away from Stearns Wharf, dining, shopping and beautiful beaches. The Sandpiper Lodge provides an array of amenities, including an on-site fitness center, guest reception and free continental breakfast with juice, coffee and baked goods.
Rooms
Rooms at the Sandpiper Lodge include air conditioning, a mini refrigerator, cable television, pay-per-view movies and games, a data port, voice mail, coffee-maker, iron/ironing board and free Wi-Fi. The private bathroom includes a hair-dryer. Guests can choose from a king or two queen beds. A two-bedroom unit with three beds is also available with one king bed in the front room and two double beds in the second room.
Highlights
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Concierge in the lobby
  • Adults-only fitness center
Features
Sandpiper Lodge guests can take a dip in the heated outdoor pool and whirlpool, and work out in the on-site, adults-only fitness center. Each morning, a free continental breakfast is served. Centrally located, the Sandpiper Lodge is just minutes from beaches, Stearns Wharf, shopping and much more. Parking is free, and there is a concierge available in the lobby, able to assist guests 24 hours a day.
Transportation
  • Santa Barbara Municipal Airport (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Burbank-Glendale-Pasadena Airport (92.7 mi/149.2 km)
  • Los Angeles Intl Airport (99.2 mi/159.6 km)
  • Bus stop in front of lodge
Attractions
  • La Cumbre Plaza (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Santa Barbara Golf Club (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Mission Santa Barbara (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Stearns Wharf (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • Ty Warner Sea Center (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Santa Barbara Zoo (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi

Hotel Map

34.4398 -119.7394
Area served
Santa Barbara.
Nearby airports
Los Angeles International Airport.
Area description
Sandpiper Lodge is located in midtown Santa Barbara. Hotel's location near shopping and special event venues makes Sandpiper Lodge a convenient and value oriented choice for today's traveling businessperson. A chip shot from Santa Barbara's Golf Club. A quick drive to the mountains for hiking, or five minutes in the other direction to Santa Barbara's finest beach. Either way, a day of fun and sun is just outside your hotel room.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandpiper Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Sandpiper Lodge Rooms

Deluxe Double Queen
Room with two queen size beds equipped with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay-per-view movies, Radio, Refrigerator, Telephone, Voicemail, Tea and coffee making facilities.
Two-Bedroom Unit
Two-Bedroom unit with three beds. One king size bed in the front room and two double beds in the second room. Room equipped with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay-per-view movies, Radio, Refrigerator, Telephone, Voicemail, Tea and coffee making facilities.
Deluxe King
Room with one king size bed equipped with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay-per-view movies, Radio, Refrigerator, Telephone, Voicemail, Tea and coffee making facilities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Santa Barbara Maritime Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Santa Barbara: 1.7 mi
  • Alameda Park: 1.8 mi
  • Santa Barbara County Courthouse: 2.6 mi
  • El Paseo Shopping Mall: 2.9 mi
  • Santa Barbara City College: 3.1 mi
  • Rafael Gonzalez House: 3.1 mi
  • Skofield Park: 3.1 mi
  • Sterns Wharf: 3.5 mi
  • Nojoqui Falls Country Park: 3.9 mi
  • Antioch University: 4.2 mi
  • Virginia Hotel: 4.6 mi
  • Casa del Herrero: 5.7 mi
  • UCSB Events Center: 6.6 mi
  • University of California, Santa Barbara: 6.6 mi
  • Santa Barbara Maritime Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Santa Barbara: 1.7 mi
  • Alameda Park: 1.8 mi
  • Santa Barbara County Courthouse: 2.6 mi
  • El Paseo Shopping Mall: 2.9 mi
  • Santa Barbara City College: 3.1 mi
  • Rafael Gonzalez House: 3.1 mi
  • Skofield Park: 3.1 mi
  • Sterns Wharf: 3.5 mi
  • Nojoqui Falls Country Park: 3.9 mi
  • Antioch University: 4.2 mi
  • Virginia Hotel: 4.6 mi
  • Casa del Herrero: 5.7 mi
  • UCSB Events Center: 6.6 mi
  • University of California, Santa Barbara: 6.6 mi
  • Cold Spring Tavern: 8 mi
  • Santa Barbara Zoo: 198.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant / Dining Information
The Sandpiper Lodge is walking distance to variety of restaurants ranging from American to Thai. Please see the below mentioned list of restaurants, which are situated in the near proximity of hotel. Denny's, Chucks of Hawaii, Harry's, Madam Lu, Rudy's, Ruth Chris, and various fast food places are located just a few blocks from Sandpiper.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (182)

Ratings and reviews for Sandpiper Lodge

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
182 out of 182
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandpiper Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TnMK
Northern ca
Jul 29, 2014

Good place to stay

Clean and quiet Good location closet to town and freeway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sandpiper Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
On Conference Trip
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 26, 2014

Did the Job!

Claudio was very profesional and greeted me despiste the long line at check in. He apologized for the wait and took care of my check-in very quickly. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Gym is small and the treadmill was always busy so i ran on state instead.(which was safe even at night time). Overall, great place to stay. Ill stop by again when staying in Santa Bárbara.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandpiper Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lacy Marie
North hollywood, California
Jul 9, 2014

Great deal

We only stayed one night but it did the trick. I didn't realize that it was on the lower part of state street so we had to drive around more than I would have liked but it was ok. The room was clean and well taken care of. We didn't use the pool or fitness center but they looked nice when we checked them out. Overall great, cheap place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Sandpiper Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AmberKory
Bakersfield, ca
Jul 7, 2014

Ok for a last minute deal...

My husband and I made a last minute decision to spend Fourth of July in SB. This hotel was the only one left that wasn't $900 per night, so we booked it. You could feel the springs in the mattress, the AC kept you freezing if you were on the bed, yet the bathroom area was hot and muggy. The bright side is we got to enjoy SB and that was the point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Be careful at Joes! They mean well but you an easily get alcohol poisoning there!

Review of Sandpiper Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sam G.
San Bernrdino, California
Jun 28, 2014

Great Vacation

The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were small but clean. They served a good breakfast. The hotel was located close to the beach but not close enough to walk. There were a lot of small restaurants and markets nearby. We enjoyed the hotel swimming pool and gym and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Arroyo Burro Beach is a must see. Definitely the most enjoyable of the trip

Review of Sandpiper Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob's Girl
Orang County, California
Jun 9, 2014

Customer

The hotel is in a good location for Santa Barbara. the room was clean and basic. The breakfast was very fine and the staff was cordial and helpful. It was pricey!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

It would be much nicer if the hotel had a restaurant on its premises.

Review of Sandpiper Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SanDiegoBoundMom
Salinas Ca
Apr 26, 2014

Great place to stay halfway to San Diego!

This is the fourth time we've stayed here on our way to San Diego. It's the perfect halfway point and is a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pickles and Swiss in the Paseo Nuevo Mass has fantastic sandwiches!!!

Review of Sandpiper Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SoCal Research Guy
San Diego
Apr 13, 2014

Basic motel that is under construction

My family was coming in to visit UCSB for a day and we were looking for basic accommodations. We normally prefer 3 star and up hotels over motels, but many hotels were booked and we were checking in late and checking out early. The Sandpiper entryway and pool area was a big construction zone . We were not looking to swim, but if you are you may want to ask if the work is finished before booking. Our room was spacious enough, but there was a bit of a musty smell. There were a few ants in the shower and my wife, who has a more sensitive nose, said the water smelled a bit like like urine. There is no fan in the bathroom so after a couple of showers the room steamed up and never really cooled back down. Yes, the motel is located in Santa Barbara. I think $80 - $100 a night would be more appropriate than $152. In the future, I will stick with 3 star hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Sandpiper Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HitTheHighway
New York, NY
Apr 11, 2014

For a motel, better than average

I was looking for something cheap in Santa Barbara, and this had the most reasonable price. It's definitely a motel, not fancy, and in fact there was some construction going on at the front. But it was more than adequate: the room was very quiet my first night (the second night, I felt I was "watching" the neighbor's horror movie with them), there was a Keurig machine in the room for making your own coffee, and wi-fi is free and worked well. And it's just a few steps away from the shopping center with Chaucer's books, Gelson's supermarket and a nice bakery/restaurant. All in all, I was pleasantly surprised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sandpiper Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ilovemesomeicecrreamdoe
San Jose, California
Mar 3, 2014

Weekend get away

It was aight. Good breakfast muffins. Bananas was good 2. The shampoo smelled a little not so good. But hay, four my muney, all day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ice cream!

Back to menu Return to top