Parkside Inn

3 stars
424 Por La Mar St, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
58 reviews
Great hotel

Fantastic getaway for our road trip in California . Staff were very helpful and clean room. See full review

  • Uk road tripper
  • Sep 2, 2014
Great location/value

Nice room in great location. Comfortable bed! Can use facilities at nearby Hyatt Hotel. See full review

  • Basalisa
  • Jan 9, 2014
The Parkside Inn is owned and operated by the management of the Hotel Mar Monte. Guests may use facilities at the Hotel Mar Monte outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi fitness center etc. The Parkside Inn features in-room coffee makers iron and ironing board cable TV with HBO and pay per view movies free wireless high-speed Internet access hair dryers and free parking.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Parkside Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Parkside Inn Rooms

Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Standard Room 2 Queen Beds - ALL ROOMS ARE NON-SMOKING. Spacious room with 2 Queen-sized beds.
Standard
Standard Room 1 Queen Bed - ALL ROOMS ARE NON-SMOKING. Smaller room with 1 Queen-sized bed.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Antioch University: 0.1 mi
  • Rafael Gonzalez House: 1.1 mi
  • Sterns Wharf: 1.2 mi
  • El Paseo Shopping Mall: 1.3 mi
  • Santa Barbara County Courthouse: 1.6 mi
  • Nojoqui Falls Country Park: 1.7 mi
  • Santa Barbara City College: 1.7 mi
  • Casa del Herrero: 2.3 mi
  • Alameda Park: 2.4 mi
  • Mission Santa Barbara: 2.7 mi
  • Skofield Park: 3.1 mi
  • Santa Barbara Maritime Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Virginia Hotel: 8.6 mi
  • University of California, Santa Barbara: 10.2 mi
  • UCSB Events Center: 10.3 mi
  • Antioch University: 0.1 mi
  • Rafael Gonzalez House: 1.1 mi
  • Sterns Wharf: 1.2 mi
  • El Paseo Shopping Mall: 1.3 mi
  • Santa Barbara County Courthouse: 1.6 mi
  • Nojoqui Falls Country Park: 1.7 mi
  • Santa Barbara City College: 1.7 mi
  • Casa del Herrero: 2.3 mi
  • Alameda Park: 2.4 mi
  • Mission Santa Barbara: 2.7 mi
  • Skofield Park: 3.1 mi
  • Santa Barbara Maritime Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Virginia Hotel: 8.6 mi
  • University of California, Santa Barbara: 10.2 mi
  • UCSB Events Center: 10.3 mi
  • Cold Spring Tavern: 11.9 mi
  • Santa Barbara Zoo: 194.7 mi

Dining

Bistro Eleven Eleven Restaurant
Located at Hotel Mar Monte 2 blocks away. Casual is acceptable. Shirt and Shoes required. No bathing suits.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for Parkside Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 58
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Uk road tripper
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 2, 2014

Great hotel

Fantastic getaway for our road trip in California . Staff were very helpful and clean room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UCSB Mommy
Business
Santa Barbara
Nov 4, 2012

Parkside Inn

great location, great value! the room was a little dated and not super clean (more a little run down than cleanliness). Spacious room, very functional, great shower, comfy bed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
looking for a good deal
Business
Pacific Grove CA
Mar 4, 2012

College Tour

We went to Santa Barbara to attend a college tour. The room was very spacious and had all the Ammenities. Coffee maker, referig, microwave, iron... It was a bit confusing on the check in which was done at another hotel but overall a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burbank, CA.
Apr 10, 2011

Perfect Weekend

After reading some of the reviews about the hotel, I was not to sure what to expect when we got to the hotel. Yes the hotel was next to a park and the freeway, but there is nothing wrong with that. People were complaining about the parking being narrow, if you don't know how to drive then don't park in the lot. It is not a bad place to stay like other reviews were stating. The staff from Hotel Mar Monte was great they attended to all our needs. They were just a phone call away. They helped us with taxis, extra bed, and had great suggestions for restaurants. The Parkside Inn made our trip perfect. The location was great, not to far from State St. I didn't want to write this review because I would like to keep the Parkside Inn as a little secret for ourselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Beachbreak Cafe, had the best Hawaiian French Toast I had ever had. Wildcat Lounge, was a great place to party.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Mar 29, 2011

Great value for the price

Great comfortable quiet room. Good service. Close beach access. Berm in parking lot makes negotiating the parking lot quite difficult. Area is a bit industrial surrounding the hotel, but it was quiet. Loved the bedding, pillows, and refrig, coffee, etc. Very clean and well-stocked. Unfortunately, pool and jaccuzzi was not on site and being refurbished in the Mon Marte, so one had to drive to use them at the Hotel SB.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yorba Linda, CA
Mar 21, 2011

Bad Time in Santa Barbara

The main difference between this property and a motel 6 was the size of the towels. The property was lacking in any amenities. The sound of the ice machine was a constant companion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Feb 27, 2011

Cozy

Came in on a very rainy night. Confusing as to where to check in. Staff was very understanding and helpful. Would have liked more accurate description on exactly where my room was. Otherwise, all okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fish restaurant very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kiehls Fairy
Business
Glendale, CA
Jan 31, 2011

Happy Every Time

Santa Barbara is beautiful and I go to get away from all the city/work stress. I have stayed at Parkside and even received a free upgrade once at Hotel MarMonte. I love that the beach is walking distance - plus don't forget to have blueberry pancakes beach side. You'll know what I mean when you see it. I never mind what I pay because service is always excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to the pier and have a beer :) fish n chips and walk it off on your way back

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Southern California Serpas
Business
Alpine, Ca
Dec 6, 2010

Westmont Christmas Visit

The wife & I travel up and down southern California frequently in support of our kids, be it sports or visiting colleges. This trip up to Santa Barbara was a weekend to visit our daughter who is attending Westmont College. This was our fifth trip to Santa Barbara in 6 months. So needless to say, we spend a fair amount of time in hotels and such. We try different places looking for value, functionality & convince in support of the purpose of the trip. For example, we typically stay at Marriot Courtyards and the like. However, Santa Barbara appears to be void of hotels associated with Marriott. I would not classify our trips as vacations or get aways, more like family business trips. So high price luxuries, spas, rooms with a view and vistas, really don't play into the equation for hotel selection, while value, cleanliness and functionality are priority. If it is just the son and myself, a Motel 6 may work. However, if it is with the wife and girls, then a whole different set of standards apply (you guys know what I mean) We found the Parkside Inn a nice place. It met with the wife's approval. We had a room with 2 queen beds. The room was massive, about twice the size of a standard hotel room. Granted the place was a little dated, but well maintained. You do check in at the main hotel lobby a block or so away, but no big deal. Once at Parkside, it has a nice well lit outside parking with secure access to the building. Our visit was very quiet, however, we were there during the off season (winter). As for the train, I only heard it a couple of times, no big deal and believe me, I know what it is like to live near train tracks. We will continue to look for values in our travels; however, we now know that the Parkside Inn is another wife approved place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Martinez, CA
Oct 24, 2010

Great hotel for reasonable price!

Clean spacious room. Superb location. Excellent service. Reasonable price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street from beach and promonade

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top