Parkside Inn

3 stars
424 Por La Mar St, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
58 reviews
Great hotel

Fantastic getaway for our road trip in California . Staff were very helpful and clean room. See full review

  • Uk road tripper
  • Sep 2, 2014
Great location/value

Nice room in great location. Comfortable bed! Can use facilities at nearby Hyatt Hotel. See full review

  • Basalisa
  • Jan 9, 2014
The Parkside Inn is owned and operated by the management of the Hotel Mar Monte. Guests may use facilities at the Hotel Mar Monte outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi fitness center etc. The Parkside Inn features in-room coffee makers iron and ironing board cable TV with HBO and pay per view movies free wireless high-speed Internet access hair dryers and free parking.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Parkside Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Parkside Inn Rooms

Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Standard Room 2 Queen Beds - ALL ROOMS ARE NON-SMOKING. Spacious room with 2 Queen-sized beds.
Standard
Standard Room 1 Queen Bed - ALL ROOMS ARE NON-SMOKING. Smaller room with 1 Queen-sized bed.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Antioch University: 0.1 mi
  • Rafael Gonzalez House: 1.1 mi
  • Sterns Wharf: 1.2 mi
  • El Paseo Shopping Mall: 1.3 mi
  • Santa Barbara County Courthouse: 1.6 mi
  • Nojoqui Falls Country Park: 1.7 mi
  • Santa Barbara City College: 1.7 mi
  • Casa del Herrero: 2.3 mi
  • Alameda Park: 2.4 mi
  • Mission Santa Barbara: 2.7 mi
  • Skofield Park: 3.1 mi
  • Santa Barbara Maritime Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Virginia Hotel: 8.6 mi
  • University of California, Santa Barbara: 10.2 mi
  • UCSB Events Center: 10.3 mi
  • Antioch University: 0.1 mi
  • Rafael Gonzalez House: 1.1 mi
  • Sterns Wharf: 1.2 mi
  • El Paseo Shopping Mall: 1.3 mi
  • Santa Barbara County Courthouse: 1.6 mi
  • Nojoqui Falls Country Park: 1.7 mi
  • Santa Barbara City College: 1.7 mi
  • Casa del Herrero: 2.3 mi
  • Alameda Park: 2.4 mi
  • Mission Santa Barbara: 2.7 mi
  • Skofield Park: 3.1 mi
  • Santa Barbara Maritime Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Virginia Hotel: 8.6 mi
  • University of California, Santa Barbara: 10.2 mi
  • UCSB Events Center: 10.3 mi
  • Cold Spring Tavern: 11.9 mi
  • Santa Barbara Zoo: 194.7 mi

Dining

Bistro Eleven Eleven Restaurant
Located at Hotel Mar Monte 2 blocks away. Casual is acceptable. Shirt and Shoes required. No bathing suits.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for Parkside Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 58
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aquila48
Business
Bay Area, CA
Nov 16, 2014

Room was fine, Staff not so much

Hotel is owned by upscale hotel chain which is a couple blocks down the street. You check in and out there. There are no amenities at the hotel but you can use the ones at the other hotel. We were there for a funeral so we were not planning to use the pool or other facilities so that was OK. The room was on the smallish size, but was clean and the bed was comfortable. It had a fridge but no freezer. Location was fine for us, near the beach and the freeway. The most negative part of our stay was the staff. When we checked in we presented our reservation with the price from this website on it, which said $268 due on checkout. When we checked out they gave me a receipt for $490. Luckily I looked at it before driving off. I told them that it was wrong. They wanted to see my reservation again. I again showed it to them that it said $268 due on checkout. After about 20 minutes, they finally agreed that the bill they had given to me was in error, so they corrected it to be $268, but added 12% taxes on top of that. I protested that the reservation indicated that $268 was due on checkout, it didn't say $268+ taxes. They would not budge so I paid it, but I was going to check on it after I got home. Once I got home I logged into the website and looked at my past reservations to see what it said about taxes. There was an asterisk next to the $268, and below it said that taxes were not included. I wish the reservation confirmation that they send via email would clearly state whether the taxes are included in the price, it would have avoided some confusion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DRTY
Business
Bay Area, California
Jun 18, 2014

Nothing to write home about

This hotel was significantly overpriced, but we were staying during the UC graduation weekend and I believe all hotels in the area jumped up their rates. Regardless, their were some oddities beginning with the check in at another hotel a block away and the nasty smelling sink. I'm not sure if it was the drainage pipe or the water, but smelled like low tide. Also, be warned if you are driving a big truck or SUV. Parking is really narrow in the small lot. Other than that, the room was comfortable and everything worked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Most of the action is on or near State Street. There is ample parking, free for the first 75 minutes. You'll save by staying away from State Street and driving in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ram795
Business
Agoura,CA.
Feb 23, 2014

SB Weekend

Clean,quite and reasonably priced. Very difficult to get all three in S.B.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Basalisa
Business
Santa Barbara
Jan 9, 2014

Great location/value

Nice room in great location. Comfortable bed! Can use facilities at nearby Hyatt Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Coolvibe
Business
Salinas, CA
Jan 6, 2014

Great place to stay

Parkside Inn was great. We brought our dog and our stay was fantastic. We were close to everything. The hotel is beautiful, clean, staff is welcoming and the rooms were above average! The bed was very comfortable, lots of pillows, warm comfortable. Amenities at the hotel were great, gym, spa, restaurant. It was so close to the beach...I loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yuba
Business
Half moon bay ca
Sep 10, 2013

Our fave

We love this place. Quiet perfect location accepts dogs the beds are the best we have ever slept on. Even better then our home. The pillows &comforters are the BEST also

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bike trails,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gerald the builder
Business
Uk
Aug 19, 2013

Our stay

Good comfy bed and clean. Was a nuisance didn't have prior warning of need to check in at Hyatt and no facilities on site as such. Felt this was expensive, have paid far less elsewhere and been as comfy and clean. Hotel receptionist friendly at check in and out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach was within walking distance which was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lemonares
Business
Thousand Oaks, CA
Aug 4, 2013

S. B. Zoo Visit

My wife and I were in town for a function at the Zoo. We were only able to stay for one night and wanted to be close to the Zoo without breaking the bank. The Parkside is kind of funky but our room was quiet, clean and comfortable. A little outdated maybe but the price was great and it is owned by the Hyatt up the street so you can have access to the facilities there as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Connie surviver
Business
Long Beach, CA
Jul 29, 2013

Spin off of Major Hotel Chain

The Parkside Inn is a few blocks from the Hyatt. There is no staff at the Parkside. When you arrive, there is a sign go to the Hyatt to registrar, no directions how to get there. The carpet was stained, the whole room was beds (2 queens) with no comfortable chair to sit on, the beds were very high, difficult to get up on and could not sit on them. Could not roll luggage into hotel, series of steps. No hand rails, toilet made for a preschooler, about a foot and a half tall. All amenities were at the Hyatt, pool, restaurant, etc. Pretty building in the trees, very uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Near Milpas Street and ocean, lots of nice things near by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RAMJET
Business
Conejo Valley
Feb 19, 2013

First Stay

The location and the room cleanliness were excellent. There is no staff on site which is a bit unusual and inconvenient. Need hair dryers in the rooms. That being said it was a comfortable stay and a good value. I would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top