Parkside Inn

3 stars
424 Por La Mar St, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
58 reviews
Great hotel

Fantastic getaway for our road trip in California . Staff were very helpful and clean room. See full review

  • Uk road tripper
  • Sep 2, 2014
Great location/value

Nice room in great location. Comfortable bed! Can use facilities at nearby Hyatt Hotel. See full review

  • Basalisa
  • Jan 9, 2014
The Parkside Inn is owned and operated by the management of the Hotel Mar Monte. Guests may use facilities at the Hotel Mar Monte outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi fitness center etc. The Parkside Inn features in-room coffee makers iron and ironing board cable TV with HBO and pay per view movies free wireless high-speed Internet access hair dryers and free parking.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Parkside Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Parkside Inn Rooms

Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Standard Room 2 Queen Beds - ALL ROOMS ARE NON-SMOKING. Spacious room with 2 Queen-sized beds.
Standard
Standard Room 1 Queen Bed - ALL ROOMS ARE NON-SMOKING. Smaller room with 1 Queen-sized bed.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Antioch University: 0.1 mi
  • Rafael Gonzalez House: 1.1 mi
  • Sterns Wharf: 1.2 mi
  • El Paseo Shopping Mall: 1.3 mi
  • Santa Barbara County Courthouse: 1.6 mi
  • Nojoqui Falls Country Park: 1.7 mi
  • Santa Barbara City College: 1.7 mi
  • Casa del Herrero: 2.3 mi
  • Alameda Park: 2.4 mi
  • Mission Santa Barbara: 2.7 mi
  • Skofield Park: 3.1 mi
  • Santa Barbara Maritime Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Virginia Hotel: 8.6 mi
  • University of California, Santa Barbara: 10.2 mi
  • UCSB Events Center: 10.3 mi
  • Antioch University: 0.1 mi
  • Rafael Gonzalez House: 1.1 mi
  • Sterns Wharf: 1.2 mi
  • El Paseo Shopping Mall: 1.3 mi
  • Santa Barbara County Courthouse: 1.6 mi
  • Nojoqui Falls Country Park: 1.7 mi
  • Santa Barbara City College: 1.7 mi
  • Casa del Herrero: 2.3 mi
  • Alameda Park: 2.4 mi
  • Mission Santa Barbara: 2.7 mi
  • Skofield Park: 3.1 mi
  • Santa Barbara Maritime Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Virginia Hotel: 8.6 mi
  • University of California, Santa Barbara: 10.2 mi
  • UCSB Events Center: 10.3 mi
  • Cold Spring Tavern: 11.9 mi
  • Santa Barbara Zoo: 194.7 mi

Dining

Bistro Eleven Eleven Restaurant
Located at Hotel Mar Monte 2 blocks away. Casual is acceptable. Shirt and Shoes required. No bathing suits.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for Parkside Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 13, 2007

The room was dirty had a ...

The room was dirty had a bad odor. The first night is so noisy (room 143), I missed a night sleep (that room should never be used). Changed to second floor the next night, noise was better but room just as dirty food from the guest before me was left outside my door and never moved. I will never stay at this hotel again, I booked in June elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yorba Linda, CA
Mar 21, 2011

Bad Time in Santa Barbara

The main difference between this property and a motel 6 was the size of the towels. The property was lacking in any amenities. The sound of the ice machine was a constant companion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vallejo, CA
May 25, 2009

Bathroom Nightmare

The Parkside Motel was far from the main building. The bathroom was dirty (not cleaned) so they upgraded to another room near the main building. The bathroom was cloggeg up in this new room and flooded, perhaps the previous guests used too much toilet paper, the chain inside the toilet broke. Went to the closes bathroom in the main building (second floor) from the registration desk and guess what, someone left a sizable deposit with lots of toilet paper inside the toilet and did not flush it. It was suppose to be an executive bathroom. What a bathroom nightmare, never experienced anything like this before. No ice machines in the small building were we stayed (very inconvenience). The first closes ice machine in the main building was not working either, had to use the one at the very end of the building, it took nearly 15 minutes to get a bucket of ice. Other than those stated above, rest of the stay was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

At least it is wthinin a walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
recently married vacationers
Business
San Diego
Jan 3, 2010

YOU MUST READ THIS REVIEW!!!!!!!!!

All of the reviews I read on the site were very good, however you must know a few things. This hotel is the sister hotel to another nicer hotel down the steet. You actually check in at the other hotel and drive to the location of your room which is about a block away. It is kind of like an apartment considering you are pretty much on your own except for the cleaning service in the morning. My wife and I decided to walk to State street which was a good 45 minutes away. While on the walk we passed several dozen homeless people. Durring the day it was not a big deal but as we walked back in the evening we felt we had to make it back before dark to avoid any trouble. We decided to drive from then on. We spent new years eve in Santa Barbara which we truly enjoyed but i suggest you get a taxi like we did. I believe it was about $10-15 one way to get to the happening part of town. The bathroom was tiny and I know this is an odd comment but the toilet seat was extreemly small and super uncomfortable. The furniture was worn and looked like it had not been replaced in a decade or so. The staff was friendly though. Overal, if you are not looking for luxury and don't have a lot of dough to spend this may be a good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The shopping center on state steet was great. Like I said though if you are walking make sure your back before dark

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Connie surviver
Business
Long Beach, CA
Jul 29, 2013

Spin off of Major Hotel Chain

The Parkside Inn is a few blocks from the Hyatt. There is no staff at the Parkside. When you arrive, there is a sign go to the Hyatt to registrar, no directions how to get there. The carpet was stained, the whole room was beds (2 queens) with no comfortable chair to sit on, the beds were very high, difficult to get up on and could not sit on them. Could not roll luggage into hotel, series of steps. No hand rails, toilet made for a preschooler, about a foot and a half tall. All amenities were at the Hyatt, pool, restaurant, etc. Pretty building in the trees, very uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Near Milpas Street and ocean, lots of nice things near by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rancho Cucamonga
Aug 9, 2008

My review of Parkside Inn

The room is spacious and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arroyo Grande, CA
Apr 27, 2010

A few issues with room

The location was good but the room had zero view and had only 1/2 a roll of TP and the fridge was leaking. There was no channel guide for the TV. Parkside is a small portion of the Hotel Mar Monte which is on the ocean but much pricier. Just wish Parkside would have been less like a Motel 6.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
looking for a good deal
Business
Pacific Grove CA
Mar 4, 2012

College Tour

We went to Santa Barbara to attend a college tour. The room was very spacious and had all the Ammenities. Coffee maker, referig, microwave, iron... It was a bit confusing on the check in which was done at another hotel but overall a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jumping Girl
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
Apr 28, 2012

Parkside Inn

Well, this isn't your ordinary hotel. I pulled up, unloaded my car and then realized that there's no front desk. You have to drive to the Hyatt down the street to check in and get your key. That was a big nuisance after I'd been driving for 4 hours to get there. The room itself is average, a bit beat up if you ask me. The bed was too firm. There were dead batteries in the remote control and with no front desk on site, I couldn't ask for new ones - I could have driven to the Hyatt to get new ones, but it was late by this point. And the bathroom is tiny. On the positive side, the location is decent and being able to use the Hyatt pool and gym is cool and the price is obviously the lowest of all 3-star SB hotels. But overall, you will find this to be an average hotel experience with a dose of occasional inconvenience in not having the front desk crew on site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UCSB Mommy
Business
Santa Barbara
Nov 4, 2012

Parkside Inn

great location, great value! the room was a little dated and not super clean (more a little run down than cleanliness). Spacious room, very functional, great shower, comfy bed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top