Parkside Inn

3 stars
424 Por La Mar St, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
58 reviews
Great hotel

Fantastic getaway for our road trip in California . Staff were very helpful and clean room. See full review

  • Uk road tripper
  • Sep 2, 2014
Great location/value

Nice room in great location. Comfortable bed! Can use facilities at nearby Hyatt Hotel. See full review

  • Basalisa
  • Jan 9, 2014
The Parkside Inn is owned and operated by the management of the Hotel Mar Monte. Guests may use facilities at the Hotel Mar Monte outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi fitness center etc. The Parkside Inn features in-room coffee makers iron and ironing board cable TV with HBO and pay per view movies free wireless high-speed Internet access hair dryers and free parking.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Parkside Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Parkside Inn Rooms

Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Standard Room 2 Queen Beds - ALL ROOMS ARE NON-SMOKING. Spacious room with 2 Queen-sized beds.
Standard
Standard Room 1 Queen Bed - ALL ROOMS ARE NON-SMOKING. Smaller room with 1 Queen-sized bed.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Antioch University: 0.1 mi
  • Rafael Gonzalez House: 1.1 mi
  • Sterns Wharf: 1.2 mi
  • El Paseo Shopping Mall: 1.3 mi
  • Santa Barbara County Courthouse: 1.6 mi
  • Nojoqui Falls Country Park: 1.7 mi
  • Santa Barbara City College: 1.7 mi
  • Casa del Herrero: 2.3 mi
  • Alameda Park: 2.4 mi
  • Mission Santa Barbara: 2.7 mi
  • Skofield Park: 3.1 mi
  • Santa Barbara Maritime Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Virginia Hotel: 8.6 mi
  • University of California, Santa Barbara: 10.2 mi
  • UCSB Events Center: 10.3 mi
  • Antioch University: 0.1 mi
  • Rafael Gonzalez House: 1.1 mi
  • Sterns Wharf: 1.2 mi
  • El Paseo Shopping Mall: 1.3 mi
  • Santa Barbara County Courthouse: 1.6 mi
  • Nojoqui Falls Country Park: 1.7 mi
  • Santa Barbara City College: 1.7 mi
  • Casa del Herrero: 2.3 mi
  • Alameda Park: 2.4 mi
  • Mission Santa Barbara: 2.7 mi
  • Skofield Park: 3.1 mi
  • Santa Barbara Maritime Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Virginia Hotel: 8.6 mi
  • University of California, Santa Barbara: 10.2 mi
  • UCSB Events Center: 10.3 mi
  • Cold Spring Tavern: 11.9 mi
  • Santa Barbara Zoo: 194.7 mi

Dining

Bistro Eleven Eleven Restaurant
Located at Hotel Mar Monte 2 blocks away. Casual is acceptable. Shirt and Shoes required. No bathing suits.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for Parkside Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Apr 20, 2010

Great deal, great location

The Parkside Inn is a part of the Hotel Mar Monte, where you check in. Since it must have not been too busy, they just put us in the Mar Monte but us in the Santa Maria main building, which is directly across from the beach. Although we didn't have an ocean view, it was a 5 sec. walk down the hall to a patio overlooking the beach. The room was clean, quiet, had a fridge, micro, coffee maker, & flatscreen TV. This was an awesome deal for $129. Might not work out every time, but nice to know there is a chance for the upgrade without an increase in price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Great place to stay for concerts at the Santa Barbara Bowl, just down Milpas not 10 minutes away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
recently married vacationers
Business
San Diego
Jan 3, 2010

YOU MUST READ THIS REVIEW!!!!!!!!!

All of the reviews I read on the site were very good, however you must know a few things. This hotel is the sister hotel to another nicer hotel down the steet. You actually check in at the other hotel and drive to the location of your room which is about a block away. It is kind of like an apartment considering you are pretty much on your own except for the cleaning service in the morning. My wife and I decided to walk to State street which was a good 45 minutes away. While on the walk we passed several dozen homeless people. Durring the day it was not a big deal but as we walked back in the evening we felt we had to make it back before dark to avoid any trouble. We decided to drive from then on. We spent new years eve in Santa Barbara which we truly enjoyed but i suggest you get a taxi like we did. I believe it was about $10-15 one way to get to the happening part of town. The bathroom was tiny and I know this is an odd comment but the toilet seat was extreemly small and super uncomfortable. The furniture was worn and looked like it had not been replaced in a decade or so. The staff was friendly though. Overal, if you are not looking for luxury and don't have a lot of dough to spend this may be a good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The shopping center on state steet was great. Like I said though if you are walking make sure your back before dark

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 19, 2009

We upgraded to the miramonte and enjoyed

It was wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Drewd
Business
Bay Area, CA
Oct 12, 2009

Good hotel, but noisy

The hotel was great, especially for the price. Just be sure to request a room away from the front gate, which is extremely noisy, and kept us awake all night long. The hotel staff was accommodating and moved us to another room for the second night. Hotel location is great, right across from the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tehachapi , ca
Sep 6, 2009

hotel stay

we have had two different stays at parkside inn , for vacation time and track camp for my son , one of the best hotels i have ever experienced thank you very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

short distance to pier, restraunts , beach , zoo ,and freeway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
little1
Business
Ventura, CA
Aug 10, 2009

No frills, but does the job.

We wanted something close to the zoo at an affordable price which we got as a AAA member. If you've shopped around you know it's not easy. Hotel was clean & just across the park from the zoo which was perfect & down the street from the main hotel. The rooms also include a small microwave & refrigerator. Perfect for a no frills trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ADDelia
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 6, 2009

Good Show

The hotel (Monte Mar) was very clean, the staff was exceptionally friendly and the Bistro 111(the hotel's attached restaurant) had good food at reasonable prices. My only complaint was that my husband and I slept below a family with children and were awakened at approx 6:30 a.m. by the sound of children jumping on the bed(s) and thudding onto the floor and then running back and forth across the room for nearly 2 hours. Even after we phoned the front desk, the miserable noise continued. So, my complaint is more about the noisy children that kept us from sleeping than about the hotel itself. "Thin" walls and floors is all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Long walk to the Wharf (much shorter drive, of course), but plenty of shuttle service offered by the hotel or petty-cabs along the way. Be careful if you're a night owl though, the town practically closes-up shop at about 10 p.m.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vallejo, CA
May 25, 2009

Bathroom Nightmare

The Parkside Motel was far from the main building. The bathroom was dirty (not cleaned) so they upgraded to another room near the main building. The bathroom was cloggeg up in this new room and flooded, perhaps the previous guests used too much toilet paper, the chain inside the toilet broke. Went to the closes bathroom in the main building (second floor) from the registration desk and guess what, someone left a sizable deposit with lots of toilet paper inside the toilet and did not flush it. It was suppose to be an executive bathroom. What a bathroom nightmare, never experienced anything like this before. No ice machines in the small building were we stayed (very inconvenience). The first closes ice machine in the main building was not working either, had to use the one at the very end of the building, it took nearly 15 minutes to get a bucket of ice. Other than those stated above, rest of the stay was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

At least it is wthinin a walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
portland, or
May 10, 2009

romantic getaway

went to the beach. we got a very nice upgrade deal, got the room right in front of the beach. wonderful building structure. got the best value for the priced paid. friendly staff. great room service. will come back here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara
Jan 1, 2009

A hidden treasure for sure!

This hotel, although set apart from the main hotel, was a pleasant suprise! I would definitely recommend this place to anybody looking to stay in Santa Barbara and not spend an outrageous amount of money. It's just as nice as a 3 star hotel, very close to State Street and the pier. The staff is amazingly courteous and friendly. The room was beautiful, cozy and felt like home. We honestly had a hard time leaving the bed because it was so comfortable. I give this place two thumbs up!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top