Parkside Inn

3 stars
View map of 424 Por La Mar St, Santa Barbara, CA 93103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Parkside Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gerald the builder
Business
Uk
Aug 19, 2013

Our stay

Good comfy bed and clean. Was a nuisance didn't have prior warning of need to check in at Hyatt and no facilities on site as such. Felt this was expensive, have paid far less elsewhere and been as comfy and clean. Hotel receptionist friendly at check in and out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach was within walking distance which was great!

Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anthony Cali Lover
Business
San Diego
Aug 7, 2013

Close to the beach!

Easy access to everything Santa Barbara has to offer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lemonares
Business
Thousand Oaks, CA
Aug 4, 2013

S. B. Zoo Visit

My wife and I were in town for a function at the Zoo. We were only able to stay for one night and wanted to be close to the Zoo without breaking the bank. The Parkside is kind of funky but our room was quiet, clean and comfortable. A little outdated maybe but the price was great and it is owned by the Hyatt up the street so you can have access to the facilities there as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Connie surviver
Business
Long Beach, CA
Jul 29, 2013

Spin off of Major Hotel Chain

The Parkside Inn is a few blocks from the Hyatt. There is no staff at the Parkside. When you arrive, there is a sign go to the Hyatt to registrar, no directions how to get there. The carpet was stained, the whole room was beds (2 queens) with no comfortable chair to sit on, the beds were very high, difficult to get up on and could not sit on them. Could not roll luggage into hotel, series of steps. No hand rails, toilet made for a preschooler, about a foot and a half tall. All amenities were at the Hyatt, pool, restaurant, etc. Pretty building in the trees, very uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Near Milpas Street and ocean, lots of nice things near by.

Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Graduate
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Jun 9, 2013

What a deal!

I needed to attend a graduation in Santa Barbara but was only going to be there 1 night. Several hotels have 2-night minimums on busy weekends. I stayed at the Parkside for 1 night, only $129. No view, nothing special, but - here's the cool part - this is an extension of the Hyatt which is one block away that has a rate of over $400 a night. Very nice, spacious room. Absolutely NO view but who cares, we stayed 1 night and left early to go to our event. All Hyatt amenities. Very quiet - almost creepy because we might have been the only ones on our floor. Best deal I've found in SB so far and I've been going there for graduation annually for about 12 years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RAMJET
Business
Conejo Valley
Feb 19, 2013

First Stay

The location and the room cleanliness were excellent. There is no staff on site which is a bit unusual and inconvenient. Need hair dryers in the rooms. That being said it was a comfortable stay and a good value. I would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ashley LA
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 7, 2013

Hidden gem

I didn't know what to expect as not many pictures were found on this hotel. I was pleasantly surprised how awesome this hotel was. Park Inn is managed by Hyatt and room was clean and location was good. Nearly 2 miles from downtown SB, we only had to drive a short distance to everywhere. Price was not beatable as it was only $79/night. You can't go wrong with that! Only downside to this hotel was that the room smelled like paint as I believe it just went through a renovation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jayme Robertson
Business
Discovery Bay
Nov 18, 2012

Good for the Money

Went down there for a run with the hubby didnt want anything fancy we werent planning on being in the room very much. for being in Santa Barbara it was a great price and easy short walk to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The city shuttle is the best

Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UCSB Mommy
Business
Santa Barbara
Nov 4, 2012

Parkside Inn

great location, great value! the room was a little dated and not super clean (more a little run down than cleanliness). Spacious room, very functional, great shower, comfy bed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Parkside Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jumping Girl
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
Apr 28, 2012

Parkside Inn

Well, this isn't your ordinary hotel. I pulled up, unloaded my car and then realized that there's no front desk. You have to drive to the Hyatt down the street to check in and get your key. That was a big nuisance after I'd been driving for 4 hours to get there. The room itself is average, a bit beat up if you ask me. The bed was too firm. There were dead batteries in the remote control and with no front desk on site, I couldn't ask for new ones - I could have driven to the Hyatt to get new ones, but it was late by this point. And the bathroom is tiny. On the positive side, the location is decent and being able to use the Hyatt pool and gym is cool and the price is obviously the lowest of all 3-star SB hotels. But overall, you will find this to be an average hotel experience with a dose of occasional inconvenience in not having the front desk crew on site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top