$182 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Lavender Inn by the Sea

3 stars
View map of 206 Castillo St., Santa Barbara, CA 93101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Lavender Inn by the Sea

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lavender Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gurlswirl
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 7, 2013

Great Location

Within walking distance of wharf and the breakfast was above and beyond. The room was comfortable and clean. I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lavender Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gogo and Mimsey
Business
Portland, OR
Mar 22, 2011

Good location and good value

Within walking distance to beach, shopping and restaurants (no on site restaurant). Nice pool and spa. Met other travelers during afternoon wine and cheese. Evening cookies were really yummy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lavender Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Semillamiga Susana
Business
Elk Ridge, UT
Jan 23, 2010

Review of Colonial Beach Inn

We managed to arrive in Santa Barbara the wettest week of the year, but several things about the hotel made our stay more pleasant. The lobby with its cheerful fireplace, wine and cheese reception every afternoon, and coffee on demand, as well as the exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, made this vacation trip much nicer than it would otherwise have been. We really liked being two blocks from the beach and within walking distance (3 short blocks)of a decent place for breakfast, the historic Sambo's on Carrillo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sambo's for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lavender Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Silver Threads
Business
Westlake Village, CA
Nov 12, 2010

Just right

This was an overnight getaway, so that we could enjoy a week-night concert and still maintain work schedules. The Inn was well suited for our needs: convenient location, priced right, and satisfactory quality. We did not avail ourselves of the free wine and cheese, milk and cookies, champagne, and continental breakfast, but it was nice to know they were provided. The only negative was the absence of a bathtub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Make time to take in some of the fine shows at any of the old theaters on State Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lavender Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MSO
Oct 11, 2009

Santa Barbara

I would return to this hotel. Stay here rather than one of the big chain hotels. Refurbished, modern, excellent 'continental' type free breakfast, free internet, free parking & although hotel is on street with thro' traffice is relatively quiet in rooms. Can walk to restaraunts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lavender Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ventura Newlyweds
Business
Newbury Park, CA
Sep 19, 2011

Comfortable & Great Locale

We stayed mid-week for a one-night honeymoon. Nicely appointed room. Great staff who accommodated our requests to store our surfboards & bicycles (they do have bike loaners as well). The only drawback was that the walls were a little thin and we hear our neighbors. However, there were quite a few vacancies, so it was pretty quiet otherwise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Great restaurants, shops, beach & wine tasting nearby. a medium walk but better to bicycle>

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lavender Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport, OR
Jul 15, 2009

Quaint little place

You get what the pictures show: the rooms are cozy, the bathroom is really nice, and the location to the beach is great. It's Santa Barbara, so one should expect to pay a little more for a "normal" room, but I was still more than happy with what this place had to offer. Plus, the ceiling fan in the room actually came in rather handy on warm nights. Also, there isn't a whole lot of parking, so when the hotel is full, you might have to park on a nearby street, but very nearby. If anyone claims this hotel is in a "bad neighborhood" as I have read before I came, they are completely mistaken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Do yourself a favor and book a whale watching trip with Condor Cruises in the Santa Barbara harbor! We went in July when there are blue and humpback whales and it was absolutely amazing! Best part of the trip for sure!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lavender Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gray Ghost
Business
Moorpark, Ca.
Jul 7, 2009

Good location, normal cost for area

Really is in a great location for seeing the ocean-side of Santa Barbara, a couple of blocks from the beach/harbor and half way between the wharf and the harbor so positioned nicely! Nice touches for visiting, wine and cheese tasting and cookies and milk every afternoon/evening. Only downside is that Castillo street is a fairly busy through-fare and traffic can get noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

mid-way between the wharf/State street and the harbor, great dining in either direction.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lavender Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Feb 29, 2008

Near the beach

I was happy to be near the beach but I felt the hotel room was overpriced! I have paid less for hotel rooms that offered much more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are near State Street where you can shop and eat your heart out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lavender Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, ca
Aug 15, 2009

Nice & Quaint

This motel was furnished very nice. I liked the setting and the personal service was great. For such a small hotel, the amenities were good. I especially liked the fact that they had a good breakfast, an evening snack & cookies! These little nicesities is why I chose this hotel over another that was listed for about the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Only two blocks from the beach!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top