$182 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Lavender Inn by the Sea

3 stars
View map of 206 Castillo St., Santa Barbara, CA 93101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Lavender Inn by the Sea

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lavender Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jayhawk Jane
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Feb 1, 2010

Charming and classy

I was welcomed at check-in and felt comfortable and secure in the surroundings. The rooms were immaculate with classy amenities. There was wine and cheese at 4:30 and later warm cookies; as well as a well-stocked breakfast. Only two blocks from the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

For the price, I thought it rated extremely high.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lavender Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FRESNO,CA
Jan 27, 2010

NICE TRIP/OK INN

CLOSE TO MOST LOCATIONS/NOISY/SPIDERS IN ROOMS PROBLEMS WITH WI-FI

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lavender Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Semillamiga Susana
Business
Elk Ridge, UT
Jan 23, 2010

Review of Colonial Beach Inn

We managed to arrive in Santa Barbara the wettest week of the year, but several things about the hotel made our stay more pleasant. The lobby with its cheerful fireplace, wine and cheese reception every afternoon, and coffee on demand, as well as the exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, made this vacation trip much nicer than it would otherwise have been. We really liked being two blocks from the beach and within walking distance (3 short blocks)of a decent place for breakfast, the historic Sambo's on Carrillo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sambo's for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lavender Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hawthorne, CA
Nov 27, 2009

Cute and Charming

Good times

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lavender Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bergamo, Italy
Oct 19, 2009

little noisy and far from downtown

We joined the hotel just before dinner time Nothing was missing for our staying and it was not comparable to the location of our last trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lavender Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
none
Oct 12, 2009

Trying too be nice

The place is not bad. It can be noisy if one leaves the window open. This place has its own charm, the amenities were nice and the staff very friendly and helpful. A bit pricey like everything else in Santa Barbara. Some of the people walking down the street are questionable. A nice place to stay without a Hotel atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't mind walking the restaurants are close and shopping is a bit farther but worth it. Any way you can cut it we still had Fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lavender Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MSO
Oct 11, 2009

Santa Barbara

I would return to this hotel. Stay here rather than one of the big chain hotels. Refurbished, modern, excellent 'continental' type free breakfast, free internet, free parking & although hotel is on street with thro' traffice is relatively quiet in rooms. Can walk to restaraunts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lavender Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burbank, CA
Sep 3, 2009

Very nice Stay

We were there on business, the hotel was very nice and walking distance to restaurants. We enjoyed the breakfast, cheese/wine and milk/cookies. Parking is a little tight but we managed to get in the lot every night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lavender Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, ca
Aug 15, 2009

Nice & Quaint

This motel was furnished very nice. I liked the setting and the personal service was great. For such a small hotel, the amenities were good. I especially liked the fact that they had a good breakfast, an evening snack & cookies! These little nicesities is why I chose this hotel over another that was listed for about the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Only two blocks from the beach!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lavender Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport, OR
Jul 15, 2009

Quaint little place

You get what the pictures show: the rooms are cozy, the bathroom is really nice, and the location to the beach is great. It's Santa Barbara, so one should expect to pay a little more for a "normal" room, but I was still more than happy with what this place had to offer. Plus, the ceiling fan in the room actually came in rather handy on warm nights. Also, there isn't a whole lot of parking, so when the hotel is full, you might have to park on a nearby street, but very nearby. If anyone claims this hotel is in a "bad neighborhood" as I have read before I came, they are completely mistaken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Do yourself a favor and book a whale watching trip with Condor Cruises in the Santa Barbara harbor! We went in July when there are blue and humpback whales and it was absolutely amazing! Best part of the trip for sure!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top