$173 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Lavender Inn by the Sea

3 stars
View map of 206 Castillo St., Santa Barbara, CA 93101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Lavender Inn by the Sea

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lavender Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SB Bowl Concert Lover
Business
Los Angeles , CA
Sep 25, 2012

Concert Getaway

Perfect place to stay and get out of L.A. Wine and cheese, milk and cookies, but most of all, a very clean hotel. Will stay again next time in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Brewhouse is a great place to eat right around the corner on Montecito St. You can even bring your dog and sit outside!

Review of Lavender Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moylady
Business
N.Ireland
Jul 22, 2012

family holiday

Quick check in, good size room for 3 people, only fault we had corner room and was very dark inside , poor lighting also. excellent continental breakfast next morning. 5-10minute walk to beach. Would recommend "Joe's cafe " for eating, good food, about 10-15 minute walk to same Would recommend this hotel to family & friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Recommned Joe's cafe

Review of Lavender Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Green Trees
Business
Eagle River, California
Jun 18, 2012

Great Place

Lavender Inn by the sea was a great spot. Specifically when you compare them to the competition in the same price range I was very happy. The beach cruiser bikes were great the bed was very comfy and the overall feel was nice. Do not be deterred by the negative reviews. I should have wasted less time reading all the reviews and just booked. Enjoy Santa Barbara.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Borrow the free Beach cruisers and ride along the beach. It is a short but rewarding lazy ride and it is at no cost. I will be doing it again.

Review of Lavender Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vacationstar
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Amazing stay in Santa Barbara

The hotel is very cute and a great location. We rented a car, which you will most likely need, but could drive anywhere in 5 min. Close walk to the beach. 5 min drive to State St and all the restaurants. The hotel had a nice pool and hot tub, the breakfast was average - it was continental. Wine and cheese hour, as well as cookie and milk hour were great! The staff were mostly very friendly. The bed was super soft and comfy, and the room was great! We loved it here and would definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Julienne is an AMAZING restaurant, has a great tasting menu. Would recommend for a special occasion, make reservations! It's $$$!

Review of Lavender Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
home again
Business
Austin, TX
Nov 15, 2011

relaxful retreat

From walking in the door to the smell of pastries and fresh hot coffee until the time we left four days later, it was like going to a friend's home. There was a delightful wine and chesse and fruit reception each eveing and then at bedtime, there were hot baked cookies and cold milk! Yum...it doesn't get much better than that. We were also extremely delighted when we got to our room and they had a surprize awaiting us...a cold bottle of champagne in our refridgerator. We definitely would and will recommend the Lavender Inn to anyone who asks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car. there are so many places to go and things to see. It is much more ecomonical than using a taxi service.

Review of Lavender Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ventura Newlyweds
Business
Newbury Park, CA
Sep 19, 2011

Comfortable & Great Locale

We stayed mid-week for a one-night honeymoon. Nicely appointed room. Great staff who accommodated our requests to store our surfboards & bicycles (they do have bike loaners as well). The only drawback was that the walls were a little thin and we hear our neighbors. However, there were quite a few vacancies, so it was pretty quiet otherwise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Great restaurants, shops, beach & wine tasting nearby. a medium walk but better to bicycle>

Review of Lavender Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Needtotravel
Business
Princeton Il, USA
Sep 16, 2011

Lavender inn by the "STREET"

We were expecting a little more. On line photos are a bit deceiving. The pool is right on the street. No privacy. Hot tub was right infront of a parking space. Room was small. Bathroom was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Be sure grab a rental bike to get to downtown shopping .

Review of Lavender Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rancho Cucamonga
Jul 16, 2011

Lavender Inn By The Sea......Nice Hotel

My husband and I went for an overnighter to celebrate our anniversary and to just get away. The hotel felt more like a B & B, as there are only 23 rooms. Our room was fairly small, but very comfortable, tastefully decorated, and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel offered free beach cruiser bikes (which we took avantage of), wine and cheese in the evening, and a complimentary bottle of champagne (nice touch) and a very good continental breakfast. It also has a nice pool, again, very clean. The staff was wonderful and the location is great! We were very much impressed with our stay there and would highly recommend it for a romantic getaway. We would absolutely stay there again....what a find!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had dinner at the Enterprise Fish Company and would not recommend it. The food was fair and the waitstaff the same. The ONLY downside to our trip.

Review of Lavender Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gogo and Mimsey
Business
Portland, OR
Mar 22, 2011

Good location and good value

Within walking distance to beach, shopping and restaurants (no on site restaurant). Nice pool and spa. Met other travelers during afternoon wine and cheese. Evening cookies were really yummy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lavender Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debra, the Comfort Seeker
Business
Oakland, CA
Mar 21, 2011

Beautiful accomodations, close to beach

Friendly staff, always quick with a smile, very helpful with any questions I had. Accomodations were tastefully decorated, bed very comfortable. Being 2 blocks from the Santa Barbara Harbor and beach made for a great location for walking and exploring, even tho it rained for most of our visit. Santa Barbars is beautiful in spite of the weather!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top