$320 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Canary a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 31 W Carrillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Canary a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Canary a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
santa barbara
Jan 23, 2010

it was great hotel ,,

it was great hotel , very nice room, friendly stuff , nice location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canary a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Panchfeliz
Business
Duarte
Nov 9, 2009

Loved it!

It was a real nice place. Very impressed with the rm. I felt like i was at home right when i walked in actually i didnt want to get out off bed anymore. Hehehe. It was just great. Rooftop was real cool.a blk away from state st. I really have nothing bad to say. I loved it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

State st. Alot of shopping places n restos.

Review of Canary a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 26, 2009

A best value in Santa Barbara

Really well done re-modeled rooms. The typical rooms are not huge, but they are very comfortable, modern, and stylish with pillow-top mattresses, LCD TVs (even one in the bathroom!) and hardwood floors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canary a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boulder, CO
Oct 26, 2009

Wedding Bells in Santa Barbra

From the moment our rental car was valeted to breakfast room service at the rooftop pool and hot tub, our stay at The Canary was top notch! What a helpful and friendly staff. Can't wait to come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down State St, one block away for world class shopping.

Review of Canary a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
family with dog
Business
clayton, ca
Oct 9, 2009

nice boutique hotel

not as glamorous as shutters on the beach, location great for shopping and the downtown santa barbara experience. over a mile away from the beach and urban views, include the greyhound bus station. nice full gym next door is complimentary. great wooden floors and amenities for our dog. very quiet and sound proof walls. classy decor but not lavish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

sojourner cafe is nearby on east canon perdido with inexpensive but good vegetarian (and some meat) dishes. very nice staff.

Review of Canary a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Sep 29, 2009

Beautiful hotel,outstanding service!

First-class hotel, excellent location in the heart of Santa Barbara, outstanding service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canary a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AGREEN1
Business
California
Aug 16, 2009

They care about their guests

We were pleasantly surprised at the above average courtesy of the staff. The room, while small, made up for it with the nice canopied bed and decor, with a flat screen TV in the bathroom, too. The hotel showed it cared for guests with providing a free pass to an adjacent large gym, there is a wonderful rooftop lounge/pool/hot tub area that provided a great view of Santa Barbara and very comfortable seating and lounging with a fireplace. The pool and hot tub are small, but, it's wonderful up there. There is a restaurant/bar in the hotel that's nice, but, can be pricey. There are plenty of eateries outside of the hotel on State St. The location is excellent, right next to the outdoor mall and cinemas and is in a great location to even walk down to the pier if you want to take a little longer walk. A short drive will take you to the Mission and Natural History Museum. The minor problems we did encounter were the low flush toilet. It was a problem a couple of times. Also, the bed was very comfortable, but did not have a top sheet. The comforter only was a little too warm even with the A/C on. I'd just ask for a sheet to be put on right away next time we visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For low cost eating, there is a Taco place diagonally across State St from the hotel that has .99 cent tacos on Tues...also Cajun Kitchen, a diner, is in the opposite diagonal direction on Carrillo/Chulupa Streets.

Review of Canary a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, Co
Aug 14, 2009

Great Location & Roof Top

Great location just a block off State St for easy access to restaurants and shopping. Roof deck had a nice wine tasting event, but was not informed by hotel staff of event upon check in which is dissapointing as we would have planned into stay. Room was very comfortable and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canary a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern Virginia
Jul 27, 2009

Canary Islands are not in Spain

We have stayed in several Santa Barbara 3/4 star hotels/resorts/inns. By far the Canary is the classiest; large rooms; baths with separate shower and tub; a 6th floor pool with a spectacular in view in all directions; outstanding service. It is centrally located a block from the main drag; across the street from Saks - - a real plus for my wife. OUTSTANDING

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canary a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hyattplacewpb
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jul 24, 2009

Great Boutique Hotel and Location

Fabulous staff, great bar, located downtown close to State Street where their is plenty of nightlife. Our room was large and excellent, small balcony, canopy bed, great spa like bathroom, super views of the mountains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurant for Mexican food called the Sandbar on State Street. A short wait for patio seating.

Back to menu Return to top