$314 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 16, 2015 Check-out: Jun 18, 2015

Canary a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 31 W Carrillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
70 reviews
Great getaway

My sister and I stayed in a one bedroom suite for a few days in August with my 5 month old daughter... See full review

  • LA Finn
  • Aug 31, 2014
Really lovely retreat!

The Canary had beautiful rooms, fresh and spacious! The bed was luxuriously comfortable and every... See full review

  • Jane O.
  • Aug 26, 2014

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Canary a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Canary a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Suite 1 King Bed
One Bedroom Suite with 1 King Bed 475-550 sq ft, living room with french doors,
Superior Guest Room 2 Doubles
Superior Guest Room with 2 Double Beds 320 sq ft, oversized bathroom, frette linens,
Superior Guest Room 2 Queens
Superior Guest Room with 2 Queen Beds 340 sq ft, oversized bathroom, frette linens,
Accessible Superior Guest Room w
Accessible Superior with 2 Queen Beds 515 sq ft, accessible tub, communication features,
Canary Presidential Suite
Canary Presidential Suite with 1 King Bed 1300 sq ft-ocean view- living room
Deluxe Guest Room 1 King Bed
Deluxe Guest Room with 1 King Bed 320-340 sq ft- frette linens-
Junior Suite with 1 King Bed
Junior Suite with 1 King Bed 450 sq ft- living room with sofa sleeper-
Accessible Deluxe with 1 King Be
Accessible Deluxe with 1 King Bed 373 sq ft, roll-in shower, communication features,
Premier Guest Room 1 King Bed
Premier Guest Room with 1 King Bed 340-375 sq ft- frette linens-
Accessible Premier with 1 King B
Accessible Premier Guest Rm with 1 King Bed 373-450 sq ft- ADA accessible- frette linens
Superior Guest Room 1 King
Superior Guest Room with 1 King Bed 340-375 sq ft-oversized bathroom-frette linens
Accessible Superior with 1 King
Accessible Superior with 1 King Bed 450 sq ft, accessible tub, communication features,

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Racquetball courts
Boating
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Cellular telephone rental
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
TDD telephone machine
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Fire alarm with light
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Santa Barbara County Courthouse: 0.2 mi
  • Rafael Gonzalez House: 0.7 mi
  • Santa Barbara City College: 0.8 mi
  • Alameda Park: 0.8 mi
  • El Paseo Shopping Mall: 1 mi
  • Sterns Wharf: 1 mi
  • Mission Santa Barbara: 1.4 mi
  • Santa Barbara Maritime Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Nojoqui Falls Country Park: 1.6 mi
  • Antioch University: 1.9 mi
  • Skofield Park: 2.8 mi
  • Casa del Herrero: 3.8 mi
  • Virginia Hotel: 6.8 mi
  • University of California, Santa Barbara: 8.4 mi
  • UCSB Events Center: 8.5 mi
  • Santa Barbara County Courthouse: 0.2 mi
  • Rafael Gonzalez House: 0.7 mi
  • Santa Barbara City College: 0.8 mi
  • Alameda Park: 0.8 mi
  • El Paseo Shopping Mall: 1 mi
  • Sterns Wharf: 1 mi
  • Mission Santa Barbara: 1.4 mi
  • Santa Barbara Maritime Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Nojoqui Falls Country Park: 1.6 mi
  • Antioch University: 1.9 mi
  • Skofield Park: 2.8 mi
  • Casa del Herrero: 3.8 mi
  • Virginia Hotel: 6.8 mi
  • University of California, Santa Barbara: 8.4 mi
  • UCSB Events Center: 8.5 mi
  • Cold Spring Tavern: 10.4 mi
  • Santa Barbara Zoo: 196.4 mi

Dining

Perch Rooftop Bar
Rooftop Perch Seasonal. Youll get an entirely new perspective on the city. Your views will be served with accomplished California fresh cuisine of Coast Restaurant that surprises and delights with innovative use of the best locally sourced ingredients.
Finch and Fork
Finch and Fork formerly Coast Restaurant is a gathering place where guests are welcomed to share in small plates and great conversation. Chef James Siao brings to life a menu to be paired with craft cocktails artisan wines and great beers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Canary a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Canary a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Locoloco
Business
Johnson City
Dec 30, 2014

Good Location

Great location but the old beauty is tired and in need of an update.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canary a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LA Finn
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 31, 2014

Great getaway

My sister and I stayed in a one bedroom suite for a few days in August with my 5 month old daughter and we had a wonderful time. All of the staff from the valet to the front desk to housekeeping to the restaurant were friendly and helpful. The hotel was very accommodating with respect to the baby - they first brought a crib to our room but when we realized it would be a tight squeeze, they replaced it with a pack 'n play (no extra charge for either), and when we needed ice packs for the formula bag frozen, it was no problem. We enjoyed the pool, Finch and Fork restaurant and the complimentary wine tasting happy hour in the lobby. The location around the corner from State Street is great with everything in easy walking distance, over 3 days we never used our car. I have always liked this hotel, but since it has become a Kimpton hotel, the service has definitely gone up a notch. I highly recommend the Canary, you will not be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Finch and Fork was excellent, love the farm-to-table concept.

Review of Canary a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jane O.
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Aug 26, 2014

Really lovely retreat!

The Canary had beautiful rooms, fresh and spacious! The bed was luxuriously comfortable and every staff member we met was gracious and attentive. Would definitely stay no where else in Santa Barbara!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Blue Agave was recommended strongly by one of the locals and it didn't disappoint! Interesting menu, fabulous food and an exotic atmosphere made for a truly enjoyable dinner

Review of Canary a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pablo Heid
Business
Santa barbara
Jul 21, 2014

Great Hotel

Very Curteous and helpful staff from the front dest to the Valet. Great atmoshpere and style.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canary a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larry007
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 30, 2014

Family Vacation on CA coast

Not cheap but Great hotel. Close driving distance to beach and walking distance to shopping downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Incredible breakfast and great dinner right at hotel.

Review of Canary a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shoofly1976
Business
Tulare
Jun 29, 2014

Clean, convenient, and quiet

Really sums up my stay, the rooms were exactly that, staff very friendly and helpful. The restaurant down stairs has a great selection plus the food is very good. Highly recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Leave your car parked for the night. State street is walking distance from the hotel, 2 blocks away is the Paseo Nuevo mall.

Review of Canary a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
greenomatic
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 13, 2014

Excellent last minute stay!

Stayed at this hotel last minute without knowing all too much about it due to the fact they offered electric car charging - as soon as we got to the hotel it was surprise after surprise and an amazing quick vacation! Staff could not have been better, clean hotel, lots of perks (bike rentals, EV charging and reduced rate parking, next door gym access, rooftop pool and hot tub). Definitely staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canary a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Baylor ex
Business
Georgetown, Texas
Apr 25, 2014

visit to Santa Barbara

The Hotel was everything we expected. A smaller hotel with a friendly flavor and atmosphere. Great location just a block off State Street and in the middle of great Santa Barbara retail stores. The staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Comfortable room with the important amenities. My wife and I would recommend this hotel to anyone that enjoys good service and a relaxing stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canary a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ModEef
Business
Santa Barbara
Jan 14, 2014

Excellent Hotel

What a great Hotel. I have stated in hundreds of hotels and this one stands out big time. Highly recommend this hotel. Meaghan at the front desk is a complete pro and almost overly accommodating. Without a doubt I will be returning to the Canary!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canary a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gardentraveller
Business
Rumson, NJ
Sep 16, 2013

Gem in the heart of downtown

This is one of my favorite hotels in the world. The location in downtown Santa Barbara is fantastic, but the rooftop deck makes you feel anywhere but. In the morning I love walking to Stearns Wharf and back.The staff is super friendly and helpful. It is always my first choice whenever I visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top