$193 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2014 Check-out: May 8, 2014

Ala Mar Motel

2 stars
102 W. Cabrillo Blvd., Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.8
out of 5
18 reviews
Best Kept Secret in Santa Barbara

I had a late check-in, and traveling on business. The room not only was clean, but had the beach... See full review

  • Pearlsmum traveler
  • Jul 24, 2013
Location! Location! Location!

The motel was a little worn and rundown but nothing we couldn't handle and the LOCATION was... See full review

  • Citizen Strange
  • Nov 12, 2012
Situated in a prime Santa Barbara location on the sea front, Ala Mar features guest room suites overlooking the harbor. This is a comfortable, beachy and casual place to stay.

Ala Mar Motel Rooms

Standard Room - Double
This large room features two Queen beds with standard amenities.
Standard Room - King
One King bed with standard amenities.

Amenities

  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ala Mar Motel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

34.4112 -119.6909
Area served
Santa Barbara, CA
Nearby airports
Santa Barbara Airport
Area description
Beach location, walking distance to major attractions and good restaurants.

Nearby points of interest

  • Sterns Wharf: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Barbara City College: 0.5 mi
  • Rafael Gonzalez House: 0.6 mi
  • Nojoqui Falls Country Park: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Barbara County Courthouse: 0.8 mi
  • El Paseo Shopping Mall: 1.3 mi
  • Antioch University: 1.3 mi
  • Alameda Park: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Santa Barbara: 2.3 mi
  • Santa Barbara Maritime Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Skofield Park: 3.4 mi
  • Casa del Herrero: 3.5 mi
  • Virginia Hotel: 7.6 mi
  • University of California, Santa Barbara: 9.1 mi
  • UCSB Events Center: 9.2 mi
  • Sterns Wharf: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Barbara City College: 0.5 mi
  • Rafael Gonzalez House: 0.6 mi
  • Nojoqui Falls Country Park: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Barbara County Courthouse: 0.8 mi
  • El Paseo Shopping Mall: 1.3 mi
  • Antioch University: 1.3 mi
  • Alameda Park: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Santa Barbara: 2.3 mi
  • Santa Barbara Maritime Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Skofield Park: 3.4 mi
  • Casa del Herrero: 3.5 mi
  • Virginia Hotel: 7.6 mi
  • University of California, Santa Barbara: 9.1 mi
  • UCSB Events Center: 9.2 mi
  • Cold Spring Tavern: 11.4 mi
  • Santa Barbara Zoo: 195.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (18)

Ratings and reviews for Ala Mar Motel

Overall score

1.8 / 5
18 out of 18
Amenities:
1.7
Room cleanliness:
2.2
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
1.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
1.8

22% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ala Mar Motel

Reviewer score

1
Shirley A
San Diego, CA
Feb 26, 2014

Do not waste your money here!

This hotel (more like motel) is in a great location but the filthiness of this place is so not worth it. All the furniture was dingy including the bed covers. I was afraid to sleep in the bed. Bathtub did not drain. Windows did not shut. Do not stay here until ownership/management steps up and renovates this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Ala Mar Motel

Reviewer score

1
Rick not a happy guy
Seattle ,WA
Aug 26, 2013

Santa Barbara Ala Mar

I would not recommend staying here. To start from the outside it looks like a broken down Motel 6. We entered the room and it smelled like a bad air freshner to cover up the mildew. One of our windows latches did not work therefore anyone at anytime could open the window from the outside. The door would not close all the way and the lock for the front door also had something wrong. (we were on the 1st floor) then the dead bolt would just spin and not engage. I got stuck in the bath room because the door knob fell off and was unable to turn the handle. If my wife had not been in the other room I would have just broke down the door. I wonder if they would have noticed as it appeared routine maintenance was not their strong suit. The bed was horrible like a canoe and too firm, made my hips and shoulders hurt. The 2 positive things... the location and the TV other than that I would stay off the beach and rather then stay there again. (staff) When I borught all this up to the people at the front desk it was sorry oh well like they had heard it before. Had they demonstrated they cared and offered anything help, comp, whatever my comments would not be this strong however its obvious they dont care. They have a great location therefore they can charge allot and do not much. FYI their idea of the continental breakfast was package oatmeal, coffee, and prepackaged pastry. No juice no donuts, 7 eleven budget food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

dont stay here

Review of Ala Mar Motel

Reviewer score

5
Pearlsmum traveler
Business
Irvine, California
Jul 24, 2013

Best Kept Secret in Santa Barbara

I had a late check-in, and traveling on business. The room not only was clean, but had the beach charm that I was looking for. The bonus: not one, but TWO rainforest showers and two tubs - one a Jacuzzi tub. The first thing I did was soak in the tub. Parking was good and across from the ocean - excellent for the price - extraordinary for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ala Mar Motel

Reviewer score

1
Nimby
utah
May 19, 2013

dirty smokers hotel

this hotel is on the beach and that's all that's going for it. The rooms are dated, the furniture had cigarette burns in it; it was noisy at night, and there were smokers out on the common walkway late at night. It was way overpriced. I paid for two nights and checked out to stay with a friend it was so nasty there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Ala Mar Motel

Reviewer score

5
Citizen Strange
Los Angeles
Nov 12, 2012

Location! Location! Location!

The motel was a little worn and rundown but nothing we couldn't handle and the LOCATION was absolutely perfect. Beautiful views and a VERY SHORT walk to Stearns Wharf and State Street. I would --- and WE WILL --- stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to visit Stearns Wharf and take a long walk up and down State Street both during the day and at night.

Review of Ala Mar Motel

Reviewer score

1
Connie Mae
Walnut Creek CA
Sep 25, 2012

Never again

This motel was dirty and in disrepair. The bathroom was so bad that we did not shower. Got up in morning and straight out the door. It was gross.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Ala Mar Motel

Reviewer score

3
JessN
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 11, 2012

great last minute booking

i had a great experience here! staff was super sweet and accommodating as ever. awesome location - i was able to walk everywhere i needed to go downtown on state street and in the area. it's right across from the wharf and has a patio to hang out on and enjoy the view of the beach. it is a motel so be prepared that it doesn't look new or have modern designs. i was also able to bring my dog with me which isn't that easy to find last minute in SB.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Ala Mar Motel

Reviewer score

2
X10032
Malibu
Sep 10, 2012

No A.C.

No A.C.----room was hot and steamy and when you open windows,it's noisy.No pool--the breakfast was coffee and soggy danish--sucked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Ala Mar Motel

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Burbank, California
Aug 20, 2012

Ala Mar Motel - DO NOT STAY HERE !!!!

Wow !!! I learned my lesson ... I read some reviews before going and still thought to myslef, I am not a high maintenance person, I don't need much to make me happy, but I guess there is ONE thing that I FOR SURE need and that is a air conditioner in 80 degree weather !!!!! That was the most awful experience EVER !!!! And for $300 - That is criminal to charge that much and not have air conditioning. WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN !!!! NEVER !!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Ala Mar Motel

Reviewer score

1
radioman
San Jose, CA, USA
Feb 22, 2012

A real dump

i thought I was in the interior of Mexico by the side of a cowpath with this place. Seriously bad news. Major money for a place that should not be in business. Old decrepit room, with mice running around. My advice is stay away from this place at all cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top