$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 16, 2015 Check-out: Jan 17, 2015

San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

4 stars
1770 South Amphlett Blvd, 1770 South Amphlett Blvd., San Mateo, CA 94402
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
58 reviews
Good family vacation!!!

Excellent. Loved the room and the hotel. Can't wait to return. See full review

  • Coronel Family
  • Aug 11, 2014
Great Place to Stay

This hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff was very nice and friendly. I will definitely stay... See full review

  • The McG
  • Jul 10, 2014
Airport Shuttle - Hourly 5am-9pmThis contemporary San Mateo hotel is located just 10 minutes from San Francisco International Airport and also midway to Silicon Valley's high-tech businesses, including Oracle, SAP, Visa, Salesforce.com, Sterling Commerce and Life Technologies. Among the premier SFO Airport hotels, the San Mateo Marriott welcomes guests with stylish, luxurious accommodations and warm, welcoming service. Featuring an Italian marble lobby inspired by the sunny Mediterranean, spacious guest rooms with plush beds and state-of-the-art amenities, distinctive event space, on-site dining, a well-equipped fitness center and more, our hotel near SFO airport provides everything you need to work and relax. Plus, as one of the most accommodating hotels near SFO Airport – featuring complimentary airport transportation (hourly from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m.) – you can make it to your gate faster. We look forward to welcoming you to San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

California Grill
Enjoy fresh California cuisine in a relaxed and casual setting. With indoor dining and al fresco seating available at breakfast, lunch and dinner, our downtown San Mateo restaurant is the perfect option any time of day.
Marketplace
Grab a quick snack, a perfect cup of coffee or light café fare. Our Marketplace gift shop also offers a wide range of personal care items and souvenirs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HnryS
Business
Bedford, Tx
May 27, 2012

not what we requested

We did not get the rooms we reserved, when we got there they said they would give us an upgrade, so instead of two queen beds in two rooms, we got one king size bed in one room and one queen size bed with a pull out sofa bed, and we had to pay for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Soccer Dad 54
Business
Soquel, CA
Aug 20, 2012

Not Family Friendly, Excessive extra charges

We stayed here August 18-19 2012 with a family group that was attending a soccer tournament The suite we booked was nice looking but very expensive. Upon arriving we were charged an extra $22.00 to park in the mostly empty parking lot. Seriously this is San Mateo not downtown San Francisco. In our room we were surprised to find wi-fi an extra $13.00 a day? There is no breakfast included with this room. The room heating cooling system was not adjustable and it was loud. We have stayed in other hotels in this immediate area and they were a much better Value. Specifically Embassy Suites San Mateo and Courtyard Marriot in Foster City. I will avoid this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Martin Barron
Business
Vancouver, WA
Jun 24, 2009

Miserable employees and policies

First off, the fees they charged: 1) charged for parking [$16.00] that was not represented in the data on Orbitz; 2) on check-in, they actually CHARGED my credit card $50.00 for incidentals prior to incurring any such incidentals; 3) charged $5.00 to make one stinking copy off a thumb drive.Sure, I have stayed at many other hotels where parking and business center services charged fees for use; however, they were not engaged in intentional misrepresentation by HIDING those fees. I have also never experienced a hotel actually initiating a charge on my credit card for incidental expenses - WITHOUT MY PERMISSION. I have to wonder whether I should file a criminal complaint against the hotel for doing so.Further, the front desk person was, frankly, a jerk when I pointed out my surprise to these previously not revealed fees: he wasn't concerned or interested.Orbitz shares in this misrepresentation. Nowhere on your website were any of these hidden fees disclosed.This experience has left me with a very bitter taste in my mouth, so much so that I will NEVER AGAIN stay at a Marriott property, and considering that this was not my first disappointment with Orbitz, I am seriously contemplating whether I need to sever my business relationship with Orbitz. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Particular Road Warrior
Business
Little Rock, AR
Aug 3, 2012

Best for one day business travelers who fly in.

If you are on a road-trip this is not the place to stay. Hotel is geared toward business travelers who are there just for a day. The hotel has no guest laundry facilities (my swimsuit dripped dried over the tub). I could have put five adult's dirty clothes in the small plastic laundry bag they give you and placed it outside the room in the hallway. The hotel services would have washed and dried them for a hefty fee (at least three loads). Because the hotel is near the airport, there is a fee for parking because most guests use the airport shuttle. If you book the room through a third party vendor, be prepared to be charged on your credit card a $50-$100 fee for 3-4 days in case they need to charge you for any incidentals. Finally, be prepared to NOT get the room you reserved. I booked a double queen suite. Upon check-in, we were told we would be in a single king suite or two queens (we had five adults!) They stated that these were the only rooms available and that the reservations booked through the third party did not guarantee room type. After complaining for 30 minutes we finally got the double queen suite. I felt that since we booked the reservations through a third party we were treated like second class citizens and I won't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Americano Deli and Grill, San Mateo, CA, 2.4 miles. Excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ES505
Business
Reno, Nevada
Oct 24, 2012

Not very satisfied

I was traveling to take an important examination and chose this hotel due to the fact it was where the exam was being held. The exam began early the next morning and I did not want to deal with traffic and chance being late had I stayed at another hotel. Having stayed at other Marriott locations in the past, I figured I could not go wrong. The hotel was nice. Staff was friendly. The room spacious and appeared clean, but when I went to turn down the sheets, there were dead bugs in the bed. Already stressed about the examination and after a long drive through foul weather and heavy Bay area traffic, I really did not need to experience that. I just wanted to do a little more studying and get some sleep. In the morning, I had no hot water for a shower. Food at the restaurant in the hotel was good and reasonably priced however, service was lacking. Room service had similar menu as the restaurant but was seriously over priced once they added the 20% service charge. The conference center where the exam was held was nice. Ample space for the several hundred of us taking the exam. It was probably the organizer of the exam's choice, but uncovered, beat up folding tables just seemed unprofessional for a conference center. Parking was a pay lot on property which was expected. However, I did not realize that I would be charged three times to park for a one night stay. My car never left their lot but, I was charged once for the overnight parking (~$24 on my hotel bill), once for the day of the exam (~$18 paid at kiosk before I went to my vehicle after exam), and again after I had already paid and had to wait in line to exit the lot (gate would not open unless I paid an additional $2). I get the additional fee for the day of the exam, I had checked out in the morning, but to charge for waiting in line to leave. Seriously? I am well travelled so this was not the best experience but, then again, it was not the worst either. I really expected more from Marriott… Bugs? Really? I'm pretty sure I will not be staying with Marriott anytime in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bussinestraveler
Business
Boston
Apr 29, 2013

Nightmear

Terrible experiense The bath Was a mess we had plumbers at 4 am in oler room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
John Grognard
Business
Modesto, CA
Aug 9, 2010

Failure to handle the basics

We paid extra for a so-called suite that could accomodate 4 persons. When we checked in they refused to give us the suite with two queen beds that we had requested. They gave us a king with a double sofa bed, which wasn't too comfortable for our teenage daughter and her friend. Front desk staff were unfriendly and unhelpful, stating that they hadn't guaranteed a two queen suite. The room wasn't big enough to accomodate four comfortably. They knew we were four people yet couldn't figure out to equip the room with more than two drinking glasses or two towels. We had to request extra towels. Like all hotels these days they suggest that guests reuse their towels. We couldn't do this because the bathroom didn't have a towel rack. There wasn't even a towel hook on the back of the bathroom door. The final annoyance was their avarice in charging for parking in their huge lot that was mostly empty. We weren't the only folks that figured out you could park for free on Grant Street, which borders the west side of the hotel. They failed to give us a bill at the end of our stay so I had to manually check out at the front desk instead of doing it automatically. This was the worst experience I have ever had with a Marriott Hotel. One expects better from this brand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't pay to park in the hotel lot. You can park along Grant Street for free, it borders the west side of the property.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Back packer
Business
UpState NY
Sep 19, 2011

hidden costs

Our experience was negatively impacted by the fact that hotel charged $20 per night for parking. This should have been specified up front; There was another irate guest complaining about this at the time of check-in. Also, despite specifying that there would be 3 adults in the room when we booked, upon calling the hotel, they could not guarantee us that the room would have 2 queen size beds (as opposed to 1 king). Fortunately, the room provided did have 2 beds. There are so many fine hotel choices in the SFO area that are comarably priced and do not charge for parking, that next time we will stay elsewhere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Go4itnow
Business
San Francisco
Jul 7, 2013

Average

At check in we asked and did receive free parking rather than the 22.00 charge. At check out we noticed that they had reversed it and charged. We asked again and they did remove the charge from our bill, but not with the best customer service. We like one night get aways, but won't return to this Marriott again. Lots of other hotels in the area to try. The lobby area looks very good, but the room was average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Espetus Steak House on 3rd Street in San Mateo. Excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sweetone
Business
Montebello, CA
Sep 3, 2013

Average stay

Hotel was nice, bed was comfortable, room a little small, good for one person for one night. Coffee maker in room didn't work. Didn't like that the sink was in the room outside the bathroom. Over the sink was a lighted mirror, the only light in that area and it was not very good especially if you're trying to put on make-up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

No night life.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top