$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

4 stars
1770 South Amphlett Blvd, 1770 South Amphlett Blvd., San Mateo, CA 94402
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
58 reviews
Good family vacation!!!

Excellent. Loved the room and the hotel. Can't wait to return. See full review

  • Coronel Family
  • Aug 11, 2014
Great Place to Stay

This hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff was very nice and friendly. I will definitely stay... See full review

  • The McG
  • Jul 10, 2014
Airport Shuttle - Hourly 5am-9pmThis contemporary San Mateo hotel is located just 10 minutes from San Francisco International Airport and also midway to Silicon Valley's high-tech businesses, including Oracle, SAP, Visa, Salesforce.com, Sterling Commerce and Life Technologies. Among the premier SFO Airport hotels, the San Mateo Marriott welcomes guests with stylish, luxurious accommodations and warm, welcoming service. Featuring an Italian marble lobby inspired by the sunny Mediterranean, spacious guest rooms with plush beds and state-of-the-art amenities, distinctive event space, on-site dining, a well-equipped fitness center and more, our hotel near SFO airport provides everything you need to work and relax. Plus, as one of the most accommodating hotels near SFO Airport – featuring complimentary airport transportation (hourly from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m.) – you can make it to your gate faster. We look forward to welcoming you to San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

California Grill
Enjoy fresh California cuisine in a relaxed and casual setting. With indoor dining and al fresco seating available at breakfast, lunch and dinner, our downtown San Mateo restaurant is the perfect option any time of day.
Marketplace
Grab a quick snack, a perfect cup of coffee or light café fare. Our Marketplace gift shop also offers a wide range of personal care items and souvenirs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DEAD HEAD
Business
NYC
Jan 6, 2011

Very Comfortable

WE spent six days sightseeing in San Francisco. The hotel was a short straight drive to all the activities in the city. There was good information available in the room for sightseeing around SFO. The king bed was so comfortable. We slept so well. The room and bathroom was clean and comforting. We did miss an indoor pool and jacuzzi. Food in the hotel restaurant was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Use your GPS to get around town. Ask locals for dining recommendations-we did well with that. Save time for a drive down the coast. Follow the 49 mile scenic drive around SFO. Get to Muir Woods and Alcatraz. Purchase tickets to Alcatraz before you get to SFO. Enjoy the tolleys around town. We saw two Further shows at Bill Graham Auditorium- a great place to see a show. The Further shows were great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eureka
Sep 24, 2010

Met expectations

The hotel is very nice as expected from its category. A large group was checking in when I arrived which made for a wait. It would have been helpful if some staff could have been temporarily retasked to help with check-in, but I don't hold that against them. The room was great, including being well maintained and clean. The exercise facility was nice and included individual TV's on the aerobic machines. The pool area had a number of chairs/lounges but the pool seemed small for the size of the hotel (although I did not go in the pool). I still don't understand the hotel industry, in that more expensive hotels charge for everything that are often included at less expensive ones. The parking was $18 a day and internet access was also additional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san fransisco
Aug 11, 2010

good hotel for out of the way

very nice hotel and staff, very friendly, all very good, except parking fees. I have never stayed in a hotel that charged for parking! But other than that, I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
John Grognard
Business
Modesto, CA
Aug 9, 2010

Failure to handle the basics

We paid extra for a so-called suite that could accomodate 4 persons. When we checked in they refused to give us the suite with two queen beds that we had requested. They gave us a king with a double sofa bed, which wasn't too comfortable for our teenage daughter and her friend. Front desk staff were unfriendly and unhelpful, stating that they hadn't guaranteed a two queen suite. The room wasn't big enough to accomodate four comfortably. They knew we were four people yet couldn't figure out to equip the room with more than two drinking glasses or two towels. We had to request extra towels. Like all hotels these days they suggest that guests reuse their towels. We couldn't do this because the bathroom didn't have a towel rack. There wasn't even a towel hook on the back of the bathroom door. The final annoyance was their avarice in charging for parking in their huge lot that was mostly empty. We weren't the only folks that figured out you could park for free on Grant Street, which borders the west side of the hotel. They failed to give us a bill at the end of our stay so I had to manually check out at the front desk instead of doing it automatically. This was the worst experience I have ever had with a Marriott Hotel. One expects better from this brand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't pay to park in the hotel lot. You can park along Grant Street for free, it borders the west side of the property.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Superstar Mom
Business
San Mateo Marriott
Jul 6, 2010

Great location, beautiful grounds

My only complaint was I tried to book 2 queen beds in the executive suite room. When we arrived, we were told they no longer had 2 queens in the executive suites, they only had a king bed with sofa bed available. They recommended a standard room with 2 queen beds and no discounts. We would have to pay the same price as an executive suite, not cool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Short trip to the Bay
Business
Oroville, CA
Jul 3, 2010

Great place for a great price

We enjoyed the room and was much better than we expected. Other hotels we stayed at in the Bay Area were much more expensive, smaller and lacked the service and quality of hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
soils
Business
half moon bay
Jun 1, 2010

honeymoon getaway!!

The experience in the Hotel was great. everyone was so kind and helpful..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Surveyor Rod
Business
San Mateo, Calif.
Apr 19, 2010

Perfect location, price was reasonable.

Relaxing, got to sleep in. Location was only 3 minutes from where I needed to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
San Mateo Often
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 5, 2010

San Mateo Business Trip

Great hotel for the location Good rooms Not free internet was a major issue for Buisness traveller

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
GB, CA
Dec 20, 2009

Nice

Nice hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Basic amenities

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top