$144 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 5, 2014

Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

2 stars
1830 Gateway Dr, 1830 Gateway Dr, San Mateo, CA 94404
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
18 reviews
nice people

I had twisted my ankle so badly that I could hardly walk and my home is a long walk from the... See full review

  • Blooto
  • Aug 27, 2013
Football game

I would definitely come back, and it was better than I expected. I felt comfortable staying there,... See full review

  • Vic the Brick
  • Feb 10, 2012
At Extended Stay America, only 20 miles from San Francisco, guests find a friendly home away from home whether they stay a day, a week or a month. Fully equipped kitchens in each of our 137 spacious suites, free grab and go breakfast, and onsite laundry facilities offer guests freedom and ease, while free WiFi and flat screen TVs with premium channels allow both work and relaxation. Savvy business and leisure travelers alike find our hotel the convenient, affordable, smart choice. … Hotel requires guests to place a valid credit card on file upon arrival for incidental charges or damages to the guest room. If guest cannot provide a credit card, hotel collects a cash room deposit in the amount of 100USD per stay per room. At check out, the room will be inspected, after satisfactory inspection, room deposit will be refunded. Refunds over 100USD will be refunded by check within 14 days of departure.

Hotel Map

37.5584 -122.2807
Nearby airports
San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 8.00, MI, S; San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 30.00, MI, N; Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 23.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO Rooms

Deluxe
DELUXE STUDIO-KING BED
Standard
STUDIO-QUEEN BED
Standard
STUDIO-QUEEN BED
Studio
STUDIO-2 QUEEN BEDS

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Racquetball courts
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Bathroom telephone
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Bidet

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (18)

Ratings and reviews for Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 18
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
2.8
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
2.8

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not impressed 27
Nj
Jul 14, 2014

Been had

This company lied to me about transportation back and forth to the airport. Ended up spending an extra $40 on cab fair :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not impressed 27
Nj
Jun 30, 2014

Not impressed

The hotel itself was fine. I was lied to multiple times by employees. I had called the 800 number since I couldn't get through to the hotel and was told they had free transportation from the airport. I got in touch with the hotel itself to verify and they said no but it was only a 10 or 15 dollar cab ride. It was about 40. Unimpressed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blooto
San Francisco, ca
Aug 27, 2013

nice people

I had twisted my ankle so badly that I could hardly walk and my home is a long walk from the nearest parking. Since I had my gym bag and several changes of clothes in the car, I decided to look for a hotel for a couple of days. I showed up at Extended Stay fifteen minutes after making the reservation and when I explained the situation to them, they traded my upstairs room for a downstairs handicapped-equipped room at no charge. Then when I had to extend my stay a couple of times, they sent someone to my room to do the paperwork so I didn't have to limp to the office. Absolutely every one of the four people I talked to on the staff was very polite and went out of their way to help me. I would go back just because of that. The room was fine except for a couple of things: in the shower there is no way to redirect the water or change the temperature while sitting on the handicap bench. I don't see how a paraplegic could get a shower in there. The other thing was that there were a few ants (the tiny, non-biting kind) and a spider. The room is right next to a lawn and the door didn't have a tight fit so it's too easy for bugs to get in. But that's likely a problem only for a few of the rooms and only in the summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The rules say I'm not supposed to mention any brand names, but there is a great Texas BBQ place just on the other side of the freeway from the hotel in a huge strip-mall area. It's a five-minute drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Caramelsugar
Los Angeles
Jul 10, 2012

Safe Haven for Single Traveler

Front desk representative seemed very annoyed and was somewhat rude upon arrived at 1:30pm and asked about possibility of early check-in. Came back at 3PM, she was gone and another young man waited on me. He was excellent host and offered all services available . Never got room temperature adjusted properly. Staff not available to fit that. Thought restaurant on premise. Not so. Had to find restaurant/grocery store. Bed pillows extremely uncomfortable. Never got them right. Maybe should have brought my own as this interferred with sleep (along with room temp). On positive note: nice sized room and bathroom. Kitchen and full sized fridge, flat screen tv were great! Would consider staying there again if cannot find a better hotel within price range.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel on San Mateo side of freeway. Foster City on other side. Several good restaurants (Mimi's, BJ's,)near Target on Foster City side.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dallasconster
Arlington, Texas
Oct 26, 2010

Good for extended stays or just 1 night

I was only in Foster City/San Mateo for one night on business so the hotel room was just used to shower, sleep and then get ready for my flight. the room was nice and clean. They offered more amenities than a regular hotel when it came to shampoos, razors etc which was nice. The young man at the front desk was very welcoming and helpful. The internet was good, they offer an upgrade on MB but it wasn't needed. I was a bit disappointed the vending machine was out of service, since I got in so late and didn't want to go out for a full dinner. Other than that my stay was very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

there was a lot of shopping areas with a short drive. not many developed walk ways that go under the freeway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
skutch
East Troy, WI
Jun 25, 2010

Not the best deal; not the worst

Many nearby hotels were booked; since I needed to leave 4:30a for airport no competitors shuttles were available; made this the frugal choice. Rood need new carpet, NEW BEDDING, needs shampoo for heavens sake! (Sure this is an extended stay but for one nighters make with the shampoo)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Tokie's Sushi. Superb. Everybody say hi to Akira-san the super sushi chef and to Victor and Tokie herself.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top