Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

2 stars
View map of 1830 Gateway Dr, 1830 Gateway Dr, San Mateo, CA 94404

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.1

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
High in the sky
Business
Orange County, CA
Sep 27, 2012

Good Value

Room was large and clean for the price. The staff was very friendly and the grab and go breakfast was a bonus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deanity
Business
Santa Barbara CA
Jul 18, 2012

Great stay!

Had a great stay at this hotel. Though I only booked one night, I wish I had booked longer. The value was outstanding, the room was great, as were the ammenities. I would highly recommend this place for anyone looking for a better than decent place at a better than decent price. Three cheers!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Caramelsugar
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 10, 2012

Safe Haven for Single Traveler

Front desk representative seemed very annoyed and was somewhat rude upon arrived at 1:30pm and asked about possibility of early check-in. Came back at 3PM, she was gone and another young man waited on me. He was excellent host and offered all services available . Never got room temperature adjusted properly. Staff not available to fit that. Thought restaurant on premise. Not so. Had to find restaurant/grocery store. Bed pillows extremely uncomfortable. Never got them right. Maybe should have brought my own as this interferred with sleep (along with room temp). On positive note: nice sized room and bathroom. Kitchen and full sized fridge, flat screen tv were great! Would consider staying there again if cannot find a better hotel within price range.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel on San Mateo side of freeway. Foster City on other side. Several good restaurants (Mimi's, BJ's,)near Target on Foster City side.

Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Boomersales
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Nov 11, 2011

Death by smokey room.

I checked in late 11pm so, there really were not any other options. I requested a Non-smoking room and recieved what must have been a poker room for the stench. Sheets, pillows, walls, carpet excreated tobacco. After the worst night sleep in my 41 years checked out with swollen eyes and headed to my 6am. Will never return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rnicky
Business
sunnyvale
Nov 17, 2010

Pretty good

Hotel was pretty neat and well maintained, though I got the feeling that the building is little old. They had a kitchen with kitchen ware, and I could cook some food in the hotel! It was nice. One negative was that they wouldn't clean the room everyday, only once every week. Any more that costs you money. Little things aside, this is a hotel I would consider visiting again and suggest to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dallasconster
Business
Arlington, Texas
Oct 26, 2010

Good for extended stays or just 1 night

I was only in Foster City/San Mateo for one night on business so the hotel room was just used to shower, sleep and then get ready for my flight. the room was nice and clean. They offered more amenities than a regular hotel when it came to shampoos, razors etc which was nice. The young man at the front desk was very welcoming and helpful. The internet was good, they offer an upgrade on MB but it wasn't needed. I was a bit disappointed the vending machine was out of service, since I got in so late and didn't want to go out for a full dinner. Other than that my stay was very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

there was a lot of shopping areas with a short drive. not many developed walk ways that go under the freeway.

Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
skutch
Business
East Troy, WI
Jun 25, 2010

Not the best deal; not the worst

Many nearby hotels were booked; since I needed to leave 4:30a for airport no competitors shuttles were available; made this the frugal choice. Rood need new carpet, NEW BEDDING, needs shampoo for heavens sake! (Sure this is an extended stay but for one nighters make with the shampoo)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Tokie's Sushi. Superb. Everybody say hi to Akira-san the super sushi chef and to Victor and Tokie herself.

Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TTM
Business
san mateo
Oct 20, 2009

Decent for the price

The location is very good and its near to Highway 92 and 101

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

You have asian channels as well

Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Mateo,CA
Oct 8, 2009

Good location for the price

I stay only in the evening and the internet is very slow here and the laundry room dryer is not very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Safeway . Where you can get all the daily needs

Back to menu Return to top