$114 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 28, 2015 Check-out: Mar 29, 2015

Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

2 stars
View map of 1830 Gateway Dr, 1830 Gateway Dr, San Mateo, CA 94404

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
21 reviews
Business Trip

Room was clean, staff was courteous, location was great. But the price was steep for a night. If it... See full review

  • Arun V.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Business Trip

Room was clean, staff was courteous, location was great. But the price was steep for a night. If it... See full review

  • Arun V.
  • Dec 19, 2014
At Extended Stay America, only 20 miles from San Francisco, guests find a friendly home away from home whether they stay a day, a week or a month. Fully equipped kitchens in each of our 137 spacious suites, free grab and go breakfast, and onsite laundry facilities offer guests freedom and ease, while free WiFi and flat screen TVs with premium channels allow both work and relaxation. Savvy business and leisure travelers alike find our hotel the convenient, affordable, smart choice. … Hotel requires guests to place a valid credit card on file upon arrival for incidental charges or damages to the guest room. If guest cannot provide a credit card, hotel collects a cash room deposit in the amount of 100USD per stay per room. At check out, the room will be inspected, after satisfactory inspection, room deposit will be refunded. Refunds over 100USD will be refunded by check within 14 days of departure. …Hotel requires a valid credit card on file upon check in for incidental charges or damages to guest rooms. If no valid credit card or guest is paying cash, a cash room deposit in the amount of 100USD per stay per room is collected. After satisfactory inspection at check out, room deposit will be refunded. Refunds over 100USD will be refunded by check within 14 days of departure.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO also booked these hotels.

Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO Rooms

Deluxe
DELUXE STUDIO-KING BED
Standard
STUDIO-QUEEN BED
Standard
STUDIO-QUEEN BED
Studio
STUDIO-2 QUEEN BEDS

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Racquetball courts
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Bathroom telephone
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Bidet

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 21
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.1

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Apple1234
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Dec 7, 2012

Good budget hotel

Good choice for those working near the area. Located in office park so convenient if you're there for business. Good freeway access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
High in the sky
Business
Orange County, CA
Sep 27, 2012

Good Value

Room was large and clean for the price. The staff was very friendly and the grab and go breakfast was a bonus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deanity
Business
Santa Barbara CA
Jul 18, 2012

Great stay!

Had a great stay at this hotel. Though I only booked one night, I wish I had booked longer. The value was outstanding, the room was great, as were the ammenities. I would highly recommend this place for anyone looking for a better than decent place at a better than decent price. Three cheers!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Caramelsugar
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 10, 2012

Safe Haven for Single Traveler

Front desk representative seemed very annoyed and was somewhat rude upon arrived at 1:30pm and asked about possibility of early check-in. Came back at 3PM, she was gone and another young man waited on me. He was excellent host and offered all services available . Never got room temperature adjusted properly. Staff not available to fit that. Thought restaurant on premise. Not so. Had to find restaurant/grocery store. Bed pillows extremely uncomfortable. Never got them right. Maybe should have brought my own as this interferred with sleep (along with room temp). On positive note: nice sized room and bathroom. Kitchen and full sized fridge, flat screen tv were great! Would consider staying there again if cannot find a better hotel within price range.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel on San Mateo side of freeway. Foster City on other side. Several good restaurants (Mimi's, BJ's,)near Target on Foster City side.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vic the Brick
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Feb 10, 2012

Football game

I would definitely come back, and it was better than I expected. I felt comfortable staying there, and it's in a nice area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Boomersales
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Nov 11, 2011

Death by smokey room.

I checked in late 11pm so, there really were not any other options. I requested a Non-smoking room and recieved what must have been a poker room for the stench. Sheets, pillows, walls, carpet excreated tobacco. After the worst night sleep in my 41 years checked out with swollen eyes and headed to my 6am. Will never return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rnicky
Business
sunnyvale
Nov 17, 2010

Pretty good

Hotel was pretty neat and well maintained, though I got the feeling that the building is little old. They had a kitchen with kitchen ware, and I could cook some food in the hotel! It was nice. One negative was that they wouldn't clean the room everyday, only once every week. Any more that costs you money. Little things aside, this is a hotel I would consider visiting again and suggest to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dallasconster
Business
Arlington, Texas
Oct 26, 2010

Good for extended stays or just 1 night

I was only in Foster City/San Mateo for one night on business so the hotel room was just used to shower, sleep and then get ready for my flight. the room was nice and clean. They offered more amenities than a regular hotel when it came to shampoos, razors etc which was nice. The young man at the front desk was very welcoming and helpful. The internet was good, they offer an upgrade on MB but it wasn't needed. I was a bit disappointed the vending machine was out of service, since I got in so late and didn't want to go out for a full dinner. Other than that my stay was very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

there was a lot of shopping areas with a short drive. not many developed walk ways that go under the freeway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
skutch
Business
East Troy, WI
Jun 25, 2010

Not the best deal; not the worst

Many nearby hotels were booked; since I needed to leave 4:30a for airport no competitors shuttles were available; made this the frugal choice. Rood need new carpet, NEW BEDDING, needs shampoo for heavens sake! (Sure this is an extended stay but for one nighters make with the shampoo)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Tokie's Sushi. Superb. Everybody say hi to Akira-san the super sushi chef and to Victor and Tokie herself.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TTM
Business
san mateo
Oct 20, 2009

Decent for the price

The location is very good and its near to Highway 92 and 101

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

You have asian channels as well

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top