$114 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

2 stars
1830 Gateway Dr, 1830 Gateway Dr, San Mateo, CA 94404
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
23 reviews
nice people

I had twisted my ankle so badly that I could hardly walk and my home is a long walk from the... See full review

  • Blooto
  • Aug 27, 2013
Football game

I would definitely come back, and it was better than I expected. I felt comfortable staying there,... See full review

  • Vic the Brick
  • Feb 10, 2012
At Extended Stay America, only 20 miles from San Francisco, guests find a friendly home away from home whether they stay a day, a week or a month. Fully equipped kitchens in each of our 137 spacious suites, free grab and go breakfast, and onsite laundry facilities offer guests freedom and ease, while free WiFi and flat screen TVs with premium channels allow both work and relaxation. Savvy business and leisure travelers alike find our hotel the convenient, affordable, smart choice. … Hotel requires guests to place a valid credit card on file upon arrival for incidental charges or damages to the guest room. If guest cannot provide a credit card, hotel collects a cash room deposit in the amount of 100USD per stay per room. At check out, the room will be inspected, after satisfactory inspection, room deposit will be refunded. Refunds over 100USD will be refunded by check within 14 days of departure.

Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO Rooms

Deluxe
DELUXE STUDIO-KING BED
Standard
STUDIO-QUEEN BED
Standard
STUDIO-QUEEN BED
Studio
STUDIO-2 QUEEN BEDS

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Racquetball courts
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Bathroom telephone
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Bidet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.5584 -122.2807
Nearby airports
San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 8.00, MI, S; San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 30.00, MI, N; Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 23.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Suburban

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
High in the sky
Business
Orange County, CA
Sep 27, 2012

Good Value

Room was large and clean for the price. The staff was very friendly and the grab and go breakfast was a bonus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not impressed 27
Nj
Jul 14, 2014

Been had

This company lied to me about transportation back and forth to the airport. Ended up spending an extra $40 on cab fair :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not impressed 27
Nj
Jun 30, 2014

Not impressed

The hotel itself was fine. I was lied to multiple times by employees. I had called the 800 number since I couldn't get through to the hotel and was told they had free transportation from the airport. I got in touch with the hotel itself to verify and they said no but it was only a 10 or 15 dollar cab ride. It was about 40. Unimpressed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MangoLinda
Auburn, CA
May 18, 2014

beware if you check in after 10:30 p.m.

After 10:30, you'll find the lobby door locked and there's a phone # posted to call -- so you must have a cell phone with you to make the call. After a long wait, the desk clerk appeared and checked us in. She seemed to be disturbed from sleep (it was about 11:30 p.m.) and was not happy to help us. It was a convenient location with a simple inexpensive room with kitchen and I'd recommend it to someone who can check in before 10:30 p.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blooto
San Francisco, ca
Aug 27, 2013

nice people

I had twisted my ankle so badly that I could hardly walk and my home is a long walk from the nearest parking. Since I had my gym bag and several changes of clothes in the car, I decided to look for a hotel for a couple of days. I showed up at Extended Stay fifteen minutes after making the reservation and when I explained the situation to them, they traded my upstairs room for a downstairs handicapped-equipped room at no charge. Then when I had to extend my stay a couple of times, they sent someone to my room to do the paperwork so I didn't have to limp to the office. Absolutely every one of the four people I talked to on the staff was very polite and went out of their way to help me. I would go back just because of that. The room was fine except for a couple of things: in the shower there is no way to redirect the water or change the temperature while sitting on the handicap bench. I don't see how a paraplegic could get a shower in there. The other thing was that there were a few ants (the tiny, non-biting kind) and a spider. The room is right next to a lawn and the door didn't have a tight fit so it's too easy for bugs to get in. But that's likely a problem only for a few of the rooms and only in the summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The rules say I'm not supposed to mention any brand names, but there is a great Texas BBQ place just on the other side of the freeway from the hotel in a huge strip-mall area. It's a five-minute drive.

Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jack in the box 2
Business
Cape Cod
Aug 26, 2013

Extended Stay America

Nice helpful staff, clean room, decent bed, nice grounds. The only problem was the building was built with metal studs, so cell phone reception was nil inside, and the walls carried sounds from the outside and adjoining rooms like there was no wall at all. great place for someone hard of hearing or with great earplugs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms. Lor Lor
Los Angeles
May 22, 2013

Pet Friendly

This hotel is extremely pet friendly. I have a medium size dog and only had to pay $25 a night for him to stay. They even made sure we were located in a lower traffic area so my dog wouldn't bark at the noises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Will1
Santa Clara, CA, USA
Jan 3, 2013

OK

Room is just ok. the bed was hard and the room smell funny like food or cigars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Apple1234
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Dec 7, 2012

Good budget hotel

Good choice for those working near the area. Located in office park so convenient if you're there for business. Good freeway access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
High in the sky
Business
Orange County, CA
Sep 27, 2012

Good Value

Room was large and clean for the price. The staff was very friendly and the grab and go breakfast was a bonus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deanity
Santa Barbara CA
Jul 18, 2012

Great stay!

Had a great stay at this hotel. Though I only booked one night, I wish I had booked longer. The value was outstanding, the room was great, as were the ammenities. I would highly recommend this place for anyone looking for a better than decent place at a better than decent price. Three cheers!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top