$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 27, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Coyote Point Inn

3 stars
480 N Bayshore Boulevard, San Mateo, CA 94401-1236
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
267 reviews
Nice place to stay for a good price.

This was a very nice place to stay and I would not hesitate to stay there again. It took me a... See full review

  • Bud Dhanus
  • Feb 16, 2014
Perfect in All ways..

Came for a short visit to SFO, This hotel is located near SFO airport and near freeway.. easy to... See full review

  • Sagisam
  • Jan 21, 2014
Californian style, comfort and elegance at an engaging San Mateo hotel

A newly constructed hotel with an elegant lobby greets visitors to The Best Western Plus Coyote Point Inn.  Ideally placed for guests, it is just a short ride away from San Francisco International Airport, set in the center of San Mateo and within easy reach of the local attractions and tourist hotspots.  The hotel is an ideal base for business travelers, with the area's main commercial centers and facilities close by.  Best Western Plus Coyote Point Inn is also an excellent choice for families on vacation with the choice of rooms available, plus helpful staff, ready to meet their needs.

Reasons to stay
  • Close to San Francisco International Airport and linked via complimentary shuttle. 
  • Commercial centers and business facilities just a short distance from hotel
  • Family-friendly hotel with nearby access to San Francisco's attractions
Best Western Plus Coyote Point Inn rooms

There are 99 rooms available at the Best Western Plus Coyote Point, the majority of which are non-smoking. All rooms in the Best Western Plus Coyote Point Inn come with complimentary wireless data ports, perfect for business and leisure travelers alike. Guests also have access to the Internet within their accommodation.  Other amenities include AM/FM alarm clock and stereo radio, coffee and tea makers, refrigerator, microwave and hairdryer, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone and work area, all geared to making the guest's stay as convenient and comfortable as possible.  Other extras include free full breakfast in the dining area.  For families, children under 18 can stay for free with at least one accompanying adult.

Things to do nearby
  • Coyote Park Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • San Mateo Japanese Garden (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Japanese Tea Garden (1.8 mi/3 km)
  • Horseshoe Cove (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • San Mateo County Expo Center (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Ano Nuevo State Reserve (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • San Bruno Mountain State Park (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Bay Meadows (3.3 mi/5.3 km)

Hotel Map

37.5802 -122.3238
Area served
San Francisco, Palo Alto, Burlingame, San Bruno, Belmont, San Carlos, Redwood City, Foster City, Millbrae
Nearby airports
(SFO), 3.00, MI, S;
Area description
Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Coyote Point Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Coyote Point Inn Rooms

2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,DESK,MICROWAVE,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,DESK,MICROWAVE,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,DESK,MICROWAVE,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Play ground
Steam bath
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Bathroom telephone
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

KingFish
2.00 mile(s) from KingFish, Full Service, Cajun, Open for: lunch, dinner,
B Street Rotisserie
2.00 mile(s) from B Street Rotisserie, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Bombay Garden Indian Restaurant
2.00 mile(s) from Bombay Garden Indian Restaurant, Full Service, Indian, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Amici's East Coast Pizzer
2.00 mile(s) from Amici's East Coast Pizzer, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Popler Creek Bar & Grill
Across the street from Popler Creek Bar & Grill, Full Service, Italian, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Kisaku Japanese Restaurant
2.00 mile(s) from Kisaku Japanese Restaurant, Full Service, Japanese, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Viognier
2.00 mile(s) from Viognier, Full Service, Continental, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Silver House Chinese Restaurant
2.00 mile(s) from Silver House Chinese Restaurant, Full Service, Chinese, Open for: lunch, dinner,
El Nayarita Taqueria
2.00 mile(s) from El Nayarita Taqueria, Full Service, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (267)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Coyote Point Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 267
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
3.5
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Coyote Point Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaii Newbie
Arlington, VA
Apr 29, 2014

Perfectly Nice Airport Hotel

While the hotel is a little further from the airport than I'd like, it's still close enough for a quick trip up 101 to SFO. Breakfast starts at 6, which was fine for my 8am flight. It's close to the Coyote Point Park, which is nice for getting some fresh air and views of the city (entrance fee). Comfy room - no complaints. And the price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Coyote Point Park with golf, fun stuff for kids and nice walks.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Coyote Point Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bud Dhanus
Seattle, WA
Feb 16, 2014

Nice place to stay for a good price.

This was a very nice place to stay and I would not hesitate to stay there again. It took me a little while to get use to the twist and turns getting to and from the hotel, but once I was familiar with the route, I had no problems. If your travel is mainly to the City, the traffic was fine and I had no real problems with traffic backup. It took about 20 minutes to get to the downtown area of San Francisco. Amenities were fine. I did not use the hot tub, workout room, nor took advantage of the continental breakfast. However, I did use their PC's to print out directs to various destinations. No problems with the free WiFi. There is no room service in the hotel. They outsource it. You do have to jump through a few hoops when ordering, but food was fine and no problems with delivery. Complaints are minimal, phone was not working properly when I first arrived, but was fixed fairly quickly once I alerted them of the problem. Also in-room safes were not working, I was informed they were being replaced. Overall it was a very pleasant experience. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Coyote Point Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
123Nick321
San Mateo, California
Jan 6, 2014

A very comfortable place, and a fare price

My room was big, quiet, and clean. Staffs were friendly and eager to offer service. Free shuttle to the airport and free breakfast. I enjoyed my trip while stay in the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Coyote Point Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Solo traveler Ama
San Francisco, CA
Dec 21, 2013

Hidden gem

I recently stayed at the Best Western Coyote Point because of renovations going on in my home. I wasn't looking for anything fancy, just clean. I was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the room and the comfortable bed. The rooms are dated but in excellent condition. The buffet breakfast included was very good, especially the make your own waffles! What impressed me most was the front desk staff. Both women were friendly and made a genuine effort to make sure I was taken care of. I highly recommend the Best Western Coyote Point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Coyote Point Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baka Sushi Sensei
Wisconsin Rapids
May 21, 2013

clean and not far from the airport

Right off the highway pretty much so easy access. It was must an overnight stop for me before jumping a plane after roaming San Fran, Monterey, and Yosemite Valley.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Coyote Point Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daniel from SF
San Mateo, CA
Mar 15, 2013

Average hotel with decent staff, but overpriced

There is just no way to predict exactly what you're going to get out of a hotel reservation until you've checked in and you're standing in the middle of your room, despite countless reviews (including this one). This one is overpriced and has too much of its own baggage. But BW Coyote Point is marginally acceptable if you can't find a better deal. Most of the staff were kind and helpful, or at least tried to appear as such. The room had what I really needed, which is a wired high-speed Internet for my large computer, of which the speed itself was sometimes patchy. There is a laundry room which is cheap to use, as well as a hot tub, a sauna, and a small gym for cardio (stay away from the damaged "weight machine", lol). But then this is where it fell apart: The "full breakfast" that was advertised is actually just juice, cereals, bread, an odd meat product, and processed egg product. And a waffle iron. One of the two elevators was busted the ENTIRE eight days I was there. Complete and utter incompetence. There is no excuse for a 2 minute elevator wait for a 4-floor hotel. Besides the hit or miss maid service, there was one other quirk: There were two young kids always roaming about, munching on all of the breakfast each morning, and running up and down the halls unsupervised. Who are these two kids? Homeless foster kids? They were always there, and I suspect that one of the hotel workers was using the hotel as a free babysitter and cafeteria for her two kids, perhaps? I don't know, but whatever this is all about, it seems unprofessional to me. Like I said, a LOT of baggage. This is a $95 per night hotel at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Coyote Point Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EdKrug
Pacific Palisades, CA
Nov 13, 2012

Who still has smoking rooms?

This hotel is way behind the times. Who still has SMOKING rooms? I requested NON-smoking and was told they were sold out. I would have enjoyed my stay if the room didn't smell nasty. Anywhere else, they have rooms for NON-smokers. Plus, the 1980s TV would have been funny, if not for the room odor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Coyote Point Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
off to hawaii
new hampshire
Sep 30, 2012

great lay over

I stayed at the Best Western on my way to Maui, the rooms were clean, the bed comfortable, and staff good for info to get around San Francisco for a day. They shuttled me from the airport when I arrived in a timely manner, then shuttled me back the next day to catch the BART the next day and picked me up. It all worked out perfect. Good comfortble budget hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Coyote Point Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ona123
hawaii
Sep 19, 2012

nice place

good location, nice staff, clean room, no shuttle from airport after 12 am. if it wasnt for lack af transportation from SFO it would be perfect experience for traveling person

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Coyote Point Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Feb 2, 2012

Better vaue than other Best Westerns in the area

The hotel is clean, the staff very helpful and friendly. These are the features that set it apart from other Best Westerns (e.g. El Rancho) in the area: -breakfast included -a larger room (than other BWs) -a real desk for working, not a flimsy child's school desk -a microwave and in-room safe -a couch -*free* use of the business center, which includes free printing All other features that you would expect from a BW, such as an ironing board, small fridge and coffee maker, come standard. The only potential drawback is the location. It's not far from the airport, but N. Bayshore can be complicated to reach -- it's a good idea to get directions on Google maps in advance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

A couple intersections south of the hotel on N. Bayshore, you can spot the one convenience store in the neighborhood: Fred's Market on Maria Diablo.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search