$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Super 8 San Luis Obispo

2 stars
1951 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2615
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
42 reviews
Cork Screw!!

My 2 daughters and myself were visiting SLO to attend my Nieces wedding at the Monday Club. The... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 31, 2008
AWESOME

It was an awesomestay! The place was great and smelled good and the people were super friendly!!! I... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jan 30, 2008
The best value on Monterey Street

The smoke-free, pet-friendly Super 8 San Luis Obispo affords travelers a relaxing stay right next door to historic downtown San Luis Obispo. Enjoy easy access to the famed Farmer's Market, San Luis Obispo Mission, Bubble Gum Alley, and many fine restaurants. This AAA Two Diamond-rated property is close to the region's wineries, beaches, university, and tourist attractions, such as Hearst Castle.

Highlights
  • Children 12 and under stay free with an adult
  • Convenient to downtown San Luis Obispo
  • Pets allowed (fees apply)
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Rooms

Super 8 San Luis Obispo's 48 well-lit guest bedrooms feature a comfortable king or two double beds, and are furnished in a modern, motel style. Amenities include free high-speed Internet access, a refrigerator, microwave, and 27-inch television with cable and HBO. Up to two children, 12 years and younger, stay free with an adult when using existing bedding. Cribs and cots are available.

Features

Super 8 San Luis Obispo bills itself as "The best value on Monterey Street." Its location adds to that value. Downtown San Luis Obispo is an easy stroll from the door. California Polytechnic State University and Performing Arts Center are within walking distance. Hearst Castle, the jewel in the Central California crown, is less than an hour away, and wineries and beaches are within minutes of the front door. Super 8 offers a Free SuperStart continental breakfast every morning and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Luis Obispo Municipal Airport  (4.3 mi/7 km)
  • Amtrak San Luis Obispo (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Historic San Luis Obispo Mission (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • San Luis Obispo Children's Museum (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Hearst Castle (38 mi/61 km)
Business
  • Copy and fax service
  • Data port available
  • Free local telephone calls

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 San Luis Obispo also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.2

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PIEFACE2008
Business
BAKERSFIELD,CALIFORNIA
May 21, 2012

RESTLESS NIGHT

ROOM WINDOW IS SO THIN. YOU COULD HERE PEOPLE OUT SIDE TALKING AS IF THEY WERE RIGHT IN FRONT OF YOU. PEOPLE COMING IN AND OUT OF THERE ROOMS IN THE MIDDLE OF NIGHT TALKING, SO UNABLE TO GET A FULL NIGHT SLEEP. BED LINEN HAD A SMELL TO IT. ALSO BATHROOM TOWELS WERE SO OLD, INSTEAD OF BEING WHITE THEY WERE A BROWNISH COLOR. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND TO SLEEP THERE. A WASTE OF MONEY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jJeanj
Business
Fallbrook
Sep 24, 2012

Disappointed

The room is basic, beds are extremely hard. The pool is no longer in existence. The breakfast is minimal. Store bought goods, no personal touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
beachee
Business
council bluffs ia
Jun 28, 2013

Poor customer service!

Pool has been filled in with cement. The television reception was terrible;lousy stations.Breakfast items were not fresh.The power would go out when I used the blow dryer.The towels were thin and really needed to be replaced. When we would try to call the front desk,we couldn't get through.The only good thing about this motel is the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sweet D
Business
Sacramento, California
Jul 15, 2013

Family trip

My husband and I were there for a family trip and chose this hotel. When we got to the room it was extremely small. I immediately noticed no fridge. I started looking around and found a fridge and microwave in a closet. When I opened the fridge it wasn't even on. We stayed for a total of two days and by the last day the fridge was barely cold enough. There was also no parking. I had to park four blocks alway from the hotel. The trip was definitely not worth what I paid!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cows go home
Business
Manteca, Ca.
Sep 17, 2013

Super 8 needs help

Our room was at the far end of the building,you might think that would have favorable.At 11:30pm I was woken up by a loud constant noise. I contacted the manager and waited to see if the noise would stop. At midnight I contacted the manager again. He told me he stood outside our room and did not hear anything. He stated I could leave, I could call the police, but until I identifed the problem he could do nothing. At 12:15am I put on clothes and step outside. I went down stairs one level and quickly observed the room below us with lights on and the TV on. I returned to my room and called the manager and gave him the information about the room below.He called back in a few minutes after contacting offending room. It took at least an additional 15 minutes to quiet down. I turned in my key at 9:30 am and departed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gmailer
Business
Riverside, CA
Sep 23, 2013

Super8 not SuperGreat

Front desk manager was stingy on towels and said he would charge us extra. We had 4 in a room and 1 set of towels was dirty and only 3 sets of towels to the room. he gave me two more with attitude. Motel needs upgrades. Sink nasty, towels need renewed, just old and run down. Not staying here again. But was close to CalPoly which is why we picked it. Not sure what's up with SLO hotel prices. Ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CA Roadtrip Review
Business
New York, NY
Jun 2, 2009

Bad experience

We were traveling to San Luis Obispo and made the reservation for the Super 8. The manager and his wife run the establishment. They were extremely unfriendly and not welcoming. We then requested additional towels (2 small bath towels were in the room) and met opposition. Should I be given the option, I would not ever book this hotel again. I would pay more to stay at a better establishment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping in town was great. There were quite a few small unique shops and great bakeries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manhattan Beach CA
Jun 16, 2010

Served its Purpose

Slept in room only. Small, quiet, clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Kilts. Good food and drink and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento California
Mar 28, 2011

You might do better

My expectations are pretty low. I am not a high-maintenance type of traveler. I also realize this is a Super 8, pretty far down on the food chain. Here's the problems: Sink drain clogged, cold-cold shower, and the non-smoking room was anything but. My advice is if you can find another motel for 10-20 bucks more it will be well worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Come hungry, there are plenty of great places to eat. And while you're waiting for your meal be sure to grab a copy of New Times, SLO's weekly. Solid writing, good stories.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Schramm
Business
San Francisco
Jan 15, 2013

Cheap, but what you'd expect

Good value and safe location, but the bed was very uncomfortable and the complimentary breakfast is sparse. It's what you'd expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top