$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

Super 8 San Luis Obispo

2 stars
1951 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2615
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
63 reviews
Cork Screw!!

My 2 daughters and myself were visiting SLO to attend my Nieces wedding at the Monday Club. The... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 31, 2008
Cork Screw!!

My 2 daughters and myself were visiting SLO to attend my Nieces wedding at the Monday Club. The... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 31, 2008
The best value on Monterey Street

The smoke-free, pet-friendly Super 8 San Luis Obispo affords travelers a relaxing stay right next door to historic downtown San Luis Obispo. Enjoy easy access to the famed Farmer's Market, San Luis Obispo Mission, Bubble Gum Alley, and many fine restaurants. This AAA Two Diamond-rated property is close to the region's wineries, beaches, university, and tourist attractions, such as Hearst Castle.

Highlights
  • Children 12 and under stay free with an adult
  • Convenient to downtown San Luis Obispo
  • Pets allowed (fees apply)
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Rooms

Super 8 San Luis Obispo's 48 well-lit guest bedrooms feature a comfortable king or two double beds, and are furnished in a modern, motel style. Amenities include free high-speed Internet access, a refrigerator, microwave, and 27-inch television with cable and HBO. Up to two children, 12 years and younger, stay free with an adult when using existing bedding. Cribs and cots are available.

Features

Super 8 San Luis Obispo bills itself as "The best value on Monterey Street." Its location adds to that value. Downtown San Luis Obispo is an easy stroll from the door. California Polytechnic State University and Performing Arts Center are within walking distance. Hearst Castle, the jewel in the Central California crown, is less than an hour away, and wineries and beaches are within minutes of the front door. Super 8 offers a Free SuperStart continental breakfast every morning and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Luis Obispo Municipal Airport  (4.3 mi/7 km)
  • Amtrak San Luis Obispo (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Historic San Luis Obispo Mission (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • San Luis Obispo Children's Museum (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Hearst Castle (38 mi/61 km)
Business
  • Copy and fax service
  • Data port available
  • Free local telephone calls

Hotel Map

35.29 -120.6501
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 San Luis Obispo also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Overall score

2 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 63
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lmstj
Long beach ca
Apr 29, 2014

Little vscation

Every thing was so neat an clean,an affordable an lovely

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BK College Mom
Richmond, VA
Sep 7, 2012

CLEAN, comfortable, friendly, Great Price

Hotels are expensive in San Luis Obispo. If you are looking to save money, Super 8 in SLO is the best choice I have found so far. Although it is bare basics, no frills, and has the furnishings typical of an low priced hotel, everything is newer, fresh, in outstanding condition, and most important CLEAN and fresh. The bed and towels are not plush, but they are not a drawback either. With a refridgerator, microwave, free wireless, flat screen tv and friendly staff my stay wasn't luxury, but it was certainly pleasant, relaxing, had everything I needed and the price was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Splash cafe, with their famous clam chowder, is just down the road.

Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento California
Mar 28, 2011

You might do better

My expectations are pretty low. I am not a high-maintenance type of traveler. I also realize this is a Super 8, pretty far down on the food chain. Here's the problems: Sink drain clogged, cold-cold shower, and the non-smoking room was anything but. My advice is if you can find another motel for 10-20 bucks more it will be well worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Come hungry, there are plenty of great places to eat. And while you're waiting for your meal be sure to grab a copy of New Times, SLO's weekly. Solid writing, good stories.

Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento California
Mar 28, 2011

You might do better

My expectations are pretty low. I am not a high-maintenance type of traveler. I also realize this is a Super 8, pretty far down on the food chain. Here's the problems: Sink drain clogged, cold-cold shower, and the non-smoking room was anything but. My advice is if you can find another motel for 10-20 bucks more it will be well worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Come hungry, there are plenty of great places to eat. And while you're waiting for your meal be sure to grab a copy of New Times, SLO's weekly. Solid writing, good stories.

Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manhattan Beach CA
Jun 16, 2010

Served its Purpose

Slept in room only. Small, quiet, clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Kilts. Good food and drink and service.

Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manhattan Beach CA
Jun 16, 2010

Served its Purpose

Slept in room only. Small, quiet, clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Kilts. Good food and drink and service.

Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Solo Jo Jo
San Francisco, CA
Apr 30, 2010

Cheap price for a low-end place

I wanted a low price and with that came a cheap hotel. I'm ok with that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Solo Jo Jo
San Francisco, CA
Apr 30, 2010

Cheap price for a low-end place

I wanted a low price and with that came a cheap hotel. I'm ok with that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top