$62 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Super 8 San Luis Obispo

2 stars
1951 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2615
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
42 reviews
Cork Screw!!

My 2 daughters and myself were visiting SLO to attend my Nieces wedding at the Monday Club. The... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 31, 2008
AWESOME

It was an awesomestay! The place was great and smelled good and the people were super friendly!!! I... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jan 30, 2008
The best value on Monterey Street

The smoke-free, pet-friendly Super 8 San Luis Obispo affords travelers a relaxing stay right next door to historic downtown San Luis Obispo. Enjoy easy access to the famed Farmer's Market, San Luis Obispo Mission, Bubble Gum Alley, and many fine restaurants. This AAA Two Diamond-rated property is close to the region's wineries, beaches, university, and tourist attractions, such as Hearst Castle.

Highlights
  • Children 12 and under stay free with an adult
  • Convenient to downtown San Luis Obispo
  • Pets allowed (fees apply)
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Rooms

Super 8 San Luis Obispo's 48 well-lit guest bedrooms feature a comfortable king or two double beds, and are furnished in a modern, motel style. Amenities include free high-speed Internet access, a refrigerator, microwave, and 27-inch television with cable and HBO. Up to two children, 12 years and younger, stay free with an adult when using existing bedding. Cribs and cots are available.

Features

Super 8 San Luis Obispo bills itself as "The best value on Monterey Street." Its location adds to that value. Downtown San Luis Obispo is an easy stroll from the door. California Polytechnic State University and Performing Arts Center are within walking distance. Hearst Castle, the jewel in the Central California crown, is less than an hour away, and wineries and beaches are within minutes of the front door. Super 8 offers a Free SuperStart continental breakfast every morning and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Luis Obispo Municipal Airport  (4.3 mi/7 km)
  • Amtrak San Luis Obispo (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Historic San Luis Obispo Mission (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • San Luis Obispo Children's Museum (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Hearst Castle (38 mi/61 km)
Business
  • Copy and fax service
  • Data port available
  • Free local telephone calls

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 San Luis Obispo also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 42
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gmailer
Business
Riverside, CA
Sep 23, 2013

Super8 not SuperGreat

Front desk manager was stingy on towels and said he would charge us extra. We had 4 in a room and 1 set of towels was dirty and only 3 sets of towels to the room. he gave me two more with attitude. Motel needs upgrades. Sink nasty, towels need renewed, just old and run down. Not staying here again. But was close to CalPoly which is why we picked it. Not sure what's up with SLO hotel prices. Ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Plumrose
Business
Los Altos
Jun 14, 2013

Great Location

I needed a place that was close to the university and down town. This was the perfect hotel. Friendly staff, clean room, and quiet during the night. The only thing that could have been better was the smell of the room. It smelled like my son's room. Overall, I was happy I stayed here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jJeanj
Business
Fallbrook
Sep 24, 2012

Disappointed

The room is basic, beds are extremely hard. The pool is no longer in existence. The breakfast is minimal. Store bought goods, no personal touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GJ Grandma
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
Aug 1, 2012

Weekend Getaway

For being a last minute trip, it was very nice. Although the room seem small it was comfortable for the price. The location was good, easy to get on and off freeway. Although I didn't get the ypung lady name (the receptionist that helped us) she was very, very nice. I forgot to mention that I was handicap when I reserved the room and she did her best to accomodate us. Our room was on the second floor and she found one for us on the first floor, so I didn't have to climb stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vaca at SLO
Business
SLO
Aug 9, 2011

Weekend in SLO

The hotel was very ok and i can say that after reading the negative reviews about this place from other folks, i am pretty happy i still went ahead and booked the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alameda CA
Apr 16, 2011

fine

We pre-booked for Cal Poly open house weekend which had every room in SLO booked. Got in at at 1a.m. three parking spaces left and six people yet to arrive. Desk clerk was pleasant. Room basic, clean and comfortable. Quiet until about six a.m. when guests too stupid to consider others sleeping in til 7:30 started to leave, calling to parking lot from rooms, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mission Viejo, CA
Nov 15, 2010

great for the money

simple but clean- good value, great location. Front desk is very friendly. Breakfast was too simple- juice, apples, pastries and 2 dry cereals but coffee was good and hot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

heard that Apple Farm is one of the best in the area but it closed at 9:00 on Sat nite so we didn't get to try. Their Christmas shop was terrific!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Iwalani82
Business
Central Valley, CA
Aug 15, 2010

Never Again...

The staff was great! Very Friendly!!! But I had to change my room when my neighbor's dog would NOT stop barking! I have a 17 month old, so I moved downstairs. I ended up listening to parties all night long (both nights)... the cops were called and it was horrible! The parking is SO BAD!!! The bed was comfortable and the room was clean and spacious, but I will never stay there again! You can hear everything!!!! And parking there is impossible!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 8, 2010

OK for the price

Front desk help was not overly friendly or accomodating. Room was o.k., pool was VERY small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Petaluma Ca
Jun 13, 2010

ok for a quick stay

small rooms, microscopic pool (I've seen spas that were larger), noisy. If you are going to blow in and blow out (like when you're moving a kid out of his or her dorm or apartment for the summer), it works. But being as I paid a premium weekend price, I wasn't happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top