$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Super 8 San Luis Obispo

2 stars
1951 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2615
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
63 reviews
Cork Screw!!

My 2 daughters and myself were visiting SLO to attend my Nieces wedding at the Monday Club. The... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 31, 2008
Cork Screw!!

My 2 daughters and myself were visiting SLO to attend my Nieces wedding at the Monday Club. The... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 31, 2008
The best value on Monterey Street

The smoke-free, pet-friendly Super 8 San Luis Obispo affords travelers a relaxing stay right next door to historic downtown San Luis Obispo. Enjoy easy access to the famed Farmer's Market, San Luis Obispo Mission, Bubble Gum Alley, and many fine restaurants. This AAA Two Diamond-rated property is close to the region's wineries, beaches, university, and tourist attractions, such as Hearst Castle.

Highlights
  • Children 12 and under stay free with an adult
  • Convenient to downtown San Luis Obispo
  • Pets allowed (fees apply)
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Rooms

Super 8 San Luis Obispo's 48 well-lit guest bedrooms feature a comfortable king or two double beds, and are furnished in a modern, motel style. Amenities include free high-speed Internet access, a refrigerator, microwave, and 27-inch television with cable and HBO. Up to two children, 12 years and younger, stay free with an adult when using existing bedding. Cribs and cots are available.

Features

Super 8 San Luis Obispo bills itself as "The best value on Monterey Street." Its location adds to that value. Downtown San Luis Obispo is an easy stroll from the door. California Polytechnic State University and Performing Arts Center are within walking distance. Hearst Castle, the jewel in the Central California crown, is less than an hour away, and wineries and beaches are within minutes of the front door. Super 8 offers a Free SuperStart continental breakfast every morning and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Luis Obispo Municipal Airport  (4.3 mi/7 km)
  • Amtrak San Luis Obispo (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Historic San Luis Obispo Mission (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • San Luis Obispo Children's Museum (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Hearst Castle (38 mi/61 km)
Business
  • Copy and fax service
  • Data port available
  • Free local telephone calls

Hotel Map

35.29 -120.6501
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 San Luis Obispo also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.2

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 31, 2008

Cork Screw!!

My 2 daughters and myself were visiting SLO to attend my Nieces wedding at the Monday Club. The room and facilities were comfortable and very clean. House keeping was wonderful with getting us extra towels. We had brought along a bottle of wine. Prior to walking down the street to the wedding, we decided to have a glass of wine. Opps! Nothing to open the darn thing. We called the desk clerk and he came to our rescue. Everyone was so polite and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 31, 2008

Cork Screw!!

My 2 daughters and myself were visiting SLO to attend my Nieces wedding at the Monday Club. The room and facilities were comfortable and very clean. House keeping was wonderful with getting us extra towels. We had brought along a bottle of wine. Prior to walking down the street to the wedding, we decided to have a glass of wine. Opps! Nothing to open the darn thing. We called the desk clerk and he came to our rescue. Everyone was so polite and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 30, 2008

AWESOME

It was an awesomestay! The place was great and smelled good and the people were super friendly!!! I loved the small window in the bathroom it allowed extra fresh air into the room! SUPER STAY! Four stars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Reno, NV
Oct 19, 2010

Hotel

The hotel was fine and we were able to fulfill all our expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BK College Mom
Richmond, VA
Sep 7, 2012

CLEAN, comfortable, friendly, Great Price

Hotels are expensive in San Luis Obispo. If you are looking to save money, Super 8 in SLO is the best choice I have found so far. Although it is bare basics, no frills, and has the furnishings typical of an low priced hotel, everything is newer, fresh, in outstanding condition, and most important CLEAN and fresh. The bed and towels are not plush, but they are not a drawback either. With a refridgerator, microwave, free wireless, flat screen tv and friendly staff my stay wasn't luxury, but it was certainly pleasant, relaxing, had everything I needed and the price was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Splash cafe, with their famous clam chowder, is just down the road.

Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
j.kit
San Jose, CA
Oct 19, 2009

Good deal

The owners were very friendly and nice. We went to SLO for Homecoming weekend, typically a very busy, hectic weekend. But, the staff was friendly and very accommodating, even though we checked in at 11p.m. The room was a good price (considering most places hike up prices for that weekend) and very clean. Good size for the two of us. Was not the nicest hotel I've stayed in, but we just needed a place to sleep and shower, so it was definitely a good deal for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of good food nearby. For breakfast there's Franks just down the hill and for lunch/dinner highly recommend Firestone on Higuera and Osos.

Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Reno, NV
Oct 19, 2010

Hotel

The hotel was fine and we were able to fulfill all our expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cal Poly alumna
Cowan Heights, CA
May 11, 2009

Very nice hotel for the price

The hotel was in a great location, very clean, great parking, and had a very nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mexican restaurant down the block was inexpensive and very tasty.

Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mcabeam
Minden, NV
Nov 22, 2012

A good choice

We've stayed in a lot of Super 8's, and this was one of the best. Although the room was a little small, it was big enough for one night's stay. The couple who run it were helpful and courteous. The location was within a few blocks of downtown. We did walk there and back, but not everyone would want to do that. There are several restaurants along the way. The breakfast offerings were simple, but nicely presented. We were allowed to bring our dog for only $10 extra (plus $1.20 tax). Overall, we were very satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vaca at SLO
SLO
Aug 9, 2011

Weekend in SLO

The hotel was very ok and i can say that after reading the negative reviews about this place from other folks, i am pretty happy i still went ahead and booked the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent food

Back to menu Return to top