$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

Super 8 San Luis Obispo

2 stars
1951 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2615
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
63 reviews
Cork Screw!!

My 2 daughters and myself were visiting SLO to attend my Nieces wedding at the Monday Club. The... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 31, 2008
Cork Screw!!

My 2 daughters and myself were visiting SLO to attend my Nieces wedding at the Monday Club. The... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 31, 2008
The best value on Monterey Street

The smoke-free, pet-friendly Super 8 San Luis Obispo affords travelers a relaxing stay right next door to historic downtown San Luis Obispo. Enjoy easy access to the famed Farmer's Market, San Luis Obispo Mission, Bubble Gum Alley, and many fine restaurants. This AAA Two Diamond-rated property is close to the region's wineries, beaches, university, and tourist attractions, such as Hearst Castle.

Highlights
  • Children 12 and under stay free with an adult
  • Convenient to downtown San Luis Obispo
  • Pets allowed (fees apply)
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Rooms

Super 8 San Luis Obispo's 48 well-lit guest bedrooms feature a comfortable king or two double beds, and are furnished in a modern, motel style. Amenities include free high-speed Internet access, a refrigerator, microwave, and 27-inch television with cable and HBO. Up to two children, 12 years and younger, stay free with an adult when using existing bedding. Cribs and cots are available.

Features

Super 8 San Luis Obispo bills itself as "The best value on Monterey Street." Its location adds to that value. Downtown San Luis Obispo is an easy stroll from the door. California Polytechnic State University and Performing Arts Center are within walking distance. Hearst Castle, the jewel in the Central California crown, is less than an hour away, and wineries and beaches are within minutes of the front door. Super 8 offers a Free SuperStart continental breakfast every morning and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Luis Obispo Municipal Airport  (4.3 mi/7 km)
  • Amtrak San Luis Obispo (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Historic San Luis Obispo Mission (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • San Luis Obispo Children's Museum (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Hearst Castle (38 mi/61 km)
Business
  • Copy and fax service
  • Data port available
  • Free local telephone calls

Hotel Map

35.29 -120.6501
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 San Luis Obispo also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.2

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 31, 2008

Cork Screw!!

My 2 daughters and myself were visiting SLO to attend my Nieces wedding at the Monday Club. The room and facilities were comfortable and very clean. House keeping was wonderful with getting us extra towels. We had brought along a bottle of wine. Prior to walking down the street to the wedding, we decided to have a glass of wine. Opps! Nothing to open the darn thing. We called the desk clerk and he came to our rescue. Everyone was so polite and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Aug 8, 2010

OK for the price

Front desk help was not overly friendly or accomodating. Room was o.k., pool was VERY small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Upland, CA
Jun 28, 2010

Great Location, Good Night's Sleep

When we arrived, the only person in the office was on the phone. While we waited, we noticed the difficulty with English. We asked if there were any other discounts for which we might be eligible. After five or six tries we finally got that she was trying to say [...] And, no we were not eligible for any other. At that point, I gave up any hope of discussing my need for a handicap accessible room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

A really nice Mexican restaurant just down the street.

Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Upland, CA
Jun 28, 2010

Great Location, Good Night's Sleep

When we arrived, the only person in the office was on the phone. While we waited, we noticed the difficulty with English. We asked if there were any other discounts for which we might be eligible. After five or six tries we finally got that she was trying to say [...] And, no we were not eligible for any other. At that point, I gave up any hope of discussing my need for a handicap accessible room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

A really nice Mexican restaurant just down the street.

Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manhattan Beach CA
Jun 16, 2010

Served its Purpose

Slept in room only. Small, quiet, clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Kilts. Good food and drink and service.

Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manhattan Beach CA
Jun 16, 2010

Served its Purpose

Slept in room only. Small, quiet, clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Kilts. Good food and drink and service.

Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Petaluma Ca
Jun 13, 2010

ok for a quick stay

small rooms, microscopic pool (I've seen spas that were larger), noisy. If you are going to blow in and blow out (like when you're moving a kid out of his or her dorm or apartment for the summer), it works. But being as I paid a premium weekend price, I wasn't happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Petaluma Ca
Jun 13, 2010

ok for a quick stay

small rooms, microscopic pool (I've seen spas that were larger), noisy. If you are going to blow in and blow out (like when you're moving a kid out of his or her dorm or apartment for the summer), it works. But being as I paid a premium weekend price, I wasn't happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Solo Jo Jo
San Francisco, CA
Apr 30, 2010

Cheap price for a low-end place

I wanted a low price and with that came a cheap hotel. I'm ok with that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Solo Jo Jo
San Francisco, CA
Apr 30, 2010

Cheap price for a low-end place

I wanted a low price and with that came a cheap hotel. I'm ok with that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DUAL SPORT
LOS ANGELES
Apr 26, 2010

SUPER 8

PLACE IS WHAT YOU GET FOR THAT PRICE. HOTEL HAS SOME STRUCTUAL ISSUES WITH ITS RAILINGS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top