Super 8 San Luis Obispo

2 stars
1951 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2615
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
42 reviews
Cork Screw!!

My 2 daughters and myself were visiting SLO to attend my Nieces wedding at the Monday Club. The... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 31, 2008
AWESOME

It was an awesomestay! The place was great and smelled good and the people were super friendly!!! I... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jan 30, 2008
The best value on Monterey Street

The smoke-free, pet-friendly Super 8 San Luis Obispo affords travelers a relaxing stay right next door to historic downtown San Luis Obispo. Enjoy easy access to the famed Farmer's Market, San Luis Obispo Mission, Bubble Gum Alley, and many fine restaurants. This AAA Two Diamond-rated property is close to the region's wineries, beaches, university, and tourist attractions, such as Hearst Castle.

Highlights
  • Children 12 and under stay free with an adult
  • Convenient to downtown San Luis Obispo
  • Pets allowed (fees apply)
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Rooms

Super 8 San Luis Obispo's 48 well-lit guest bedrooms feature a comfortable king or two double beds, and are furnished in a modern, motel style. Amenities include free high-speed Internet access, a refrigerator, microwave, and 27-inch television with cable and HBO. Up to two children, 12 years and younger, stay free with an adult when using existing bedding. Cribs and cots are available.

Features

Super 8 San Luis Obispo bills itself as "The best value on Monterey Street." Its location adds to that value. Downtown San Luis Obispo is an easy stroll from the door. California Polytechnic State University and Performing Arts Center are within walking distance. Hearst Castle, the jewel in the Central California crown, is less than an hour away, and wineries and beaches are within minutes of the front door. Super 8 offers a Free SuperStart continental breakfast every morning and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Luis Obispo Municipal Airport  (4.3 mi/7 km)
  • Amtrak San Luis Obispo (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Historic San Luis Obispo Mission (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • San Luis Obispo Children's Museum (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Hearst Castle (38 mi/61 km)
Business
  • Copy and fax service
  • Data port available
  • Free local telephone calls

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Map

35.29 -120.6501
Area description
Business district

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.2

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Murrieta, Ca
Oct 27, 2009

Pretty much what we expected

We'd stay there again. Room was neat and clean. We just needed a place to sleep after wine tasting and this fit the bill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
j.kit
San Jose, CA
Oct 19, 2009

Good deal

The owners were very friendly and nice. We went to SLO for Homecoming weekend, typically a very busy, hectic weekend. But, the staff was friendly and very accommodating, even though we checked in at 11p.m. The room was a good price (considering most places hike up prices for that weekend) and very clean. Good size for the two of us. Was not the nicest hotel I've stayed in, but we just needed a place to sleep and shower, so it was definitely a good deal for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of good food nearby. For breakfast there's Franks just down the hill and for lunch/dinner highly recommend Firestone on Higuera and Osos.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fresno, CA
Sep 27, 2009

great location, great price

The room was in a great location, clean, and I felt safe. For the price, it was better than I expected. Next time I am in SLO, I have no problem booking a room here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cal Poly mom !
Business
Roseville
Jul 29, 2009

Super 8 Motel

Easy location !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
somewhere, CA
Jul 26, 2009

very clean nice size room Pool?

The room was spotless and clean, lots of room. The staff was very nice and helpful. The ceiling leak was in the shower ceiling and not too large. We were able to walk to downtown SLO for dining and shopping, lots of interesting shops including records and books. Very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

half a mile to restaurants and shopping for healthy travelers, trolly available, Loved Boo Boo records, Phoenix Book Store, Mo's, Splash Cafe and Friday night concerts at park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
LA
Jul 10, 2009

Super 8...

Your basic Super 8.....continental breakfast left a bit to be desired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CA Roadtrip Review
New York, NY
Jun 2, 2009

Bad experience

We were traveling to San Luis Obispo and made the reservation for the Super 8. The manager and his wife run the establishment. They were extremely unfriendly and not welcoming. We then requested additional towels (2 small bath towels were in the room) and met opposition. Should I be given the option, I would not ever book this hotel again. I would pay more to stay at a better establishment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping in town was great. There were quite a few small unique shops and great bakeries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mia's Grandma
Visalia, CA
May 26, 2009

Single or Couple getaway

Experience was alright for the two overnight stay, for two people the room were comfortable. But for more then two adult in the double room stay would had made it uncomfortable. Other then not being able to get extra bath towels without paying, our experience was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

to downtown stores and entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cal Poly alumna
Cowan Heights, CA
May 11, 2009

Very nice hotel for the price

The hotel was in a great location, very clean, great parking, and had a very nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mexican restaurant down the block was inexpensive and very tasty.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 31, 2008

Cork Screw!!

My 2 daughters and myself were visiting SLO to attend my Nieces wedding at the Monday Club. The room and facilities were comfortable and very clean. House keeping was wonderful with getting us extra towels. We had brought along a bottle of wine. Prior to walking down the street to the wedding, we decided to have a glass of wine. Opps! Nothing to open the darn thing. We called the desk clerk and he came to our rescue. Everyone was so polite and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top