$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

Super 8 San Luis Obispo

2 stars
View map of 1951 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2615

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.3

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cows go home
Business
Manteca, Ca.
Sep 17, 2013

Super 8 needs help

Our room was at the far end of the building,you might think that would have favorable.At 11:30pm I was woken up by a loud constant noise. I contacted the manager and waited to see if the noise would stop. At midnight I contacted the manager again. He told me he stood outside our room and did not hear anything. He stated I could leave, I could call the police, but until I identifed the problem he could do nothing. At 12:15am I put on clothes and step outside. I went down stairs one level and quickly observed the room below us with lights on and the TV on. I returned to my room and called the manager and gave him the information about the room below.He called back in a few minutes after contacting offending room. It took at least an additional 15 minutes to quiet down. I turned in my key at 9:30 am and departed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sweet D
Business
Sacramento, California
Jul 15, 2013

Family trip

My husband and I were there for a family trip and chose this hotel. When we got to the room it was extremely small. I immediately noticed no fridge. I started looking around and found a fridge and microwave in a closet. When I opened the fridge it wasn't even on. We stayed for a total of two days and by the last day the fridge was barely cold enough. There was also no parking. I had to park four blocks alway from the hotel. The trip was definitely not worth what I paid!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
beachee
Business
council bluffs ia
Jun 28, 2013

Poor customer service!

Pool has been filled in with cement. The television reception was terrible;lousy stations.Breakfast items were not fresh.The power would go out when I used the blow dryer.The towels were thin and really needed to be replaced. When we would try to call the front desk,we couldn't get through.The only good thing about this motel is the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Plumrose
Business
Los Altos
Jun 14, 2013

Great Location

I needed a place that was close to the university and down town. This was the perfect hotel. Friendly staff, clean room, and quiet during the night. The only thing that could have been better was the smell of the room. It smelled like my son's room. Overall, I was happy I stayed here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nuthin fancy
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 29, 2013

ok, with a couple of issues

The door to my room was open upon my arrival at 11:30 at night (probably an oversight from the cleaning crew, but a little disconcerting nonetheless). I left a Do Not Disturb sign on the door, but returned to a cleaned-up room anyway. It's a little bit of a walk from downtown, but not bad if you're one who likes to walk (downtown is pretty compact anyway). It's one of several hotels in a block radius, and is freeway close. The breakfast buffet is fairly limited, but will get you through. If you do not like stairs, ask for a room toward the front end of the hotel, otherwise, there's no way to avoid them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Louisa's has great breakfasts, with particularly excellent bacon.

Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Schramm
Business
San Francisco
Jan 15, 2013

Cheap, but what you'd expect

Good value and safe location, but the bed was very uncomfortable and the complimentary breakfast is sparse. It's what you'd expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mcabeam
Business
Minden, NV
Nov 22, 2012

A good choice

We've stayed in a lot of Super 8's, and this was one of the best. Although the room was a little small, it was big enough for one night's stay. The couple who run it were helpful and courteous. The location was within a few blocks of downtown. We did walk there and back, but not everyone would want to do that. There are several restaurants along the way. The breakfast offerings were simple, but nicely presented. We were allowed to bring our dog for only $10 extra (plus $1.20 tax). Overall, we were very satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jJeanj
Business
Fallbrook
Sep 24, 2012

Disappointed

The room is basic, beds are extremely hard. The pool is no longer in existence. The breakfast is minimal. Store bought goods, no personal touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BK College Mom
Business
Richmond, VA
Sep 7, 2012

CLEAN, comfortable, friendly, Great Price

Hotels are expensive in San Luis Obispo. If you are looking to save money, Super 8 in SLO is the best choice I have found so far. Although it is bare basics, no frills, and has the furnishings typical of an low priced hotel, everything is newer, fresh, in outstanding condition, and most important CLEAN and fresh. The bed and towels are not plush, but they are not a drawback either. With a refridgerator, microwave, free wireless, flat screen tv and friendly staff my stay wasn't luxury, but it was certainly pleasant, relaxing, had everything I needed and the price was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Splash cafe, with their famous clam chowder, is just down the road.

Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GJ Grandma
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
Aug 1, 2012

Weekend Getaway

For being a last minute trip, it was very nice. Although the room seem small it was comfortable for the price. The location was good, easy to get on and off freeway. Although I didn't get the ypung lady name (the receptionist that helped us) she was very, very nice. I forgot to mention that I was handicap when I reserved the room and she did her best to accomodate us. Our room was on the second floor and she found one for us on the first floor, so I didn't have to climb stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top