$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

Super 8 San Luis Obispo

2 stars
1951 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2615
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
63 reviews
Cork Screw!!

My 2 daughters and myself were visiting SLO to attend my Nieces wedding at the Monday Club. The... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 31, 2008
Cork Screw!!

My 2 daughters and myself were visiting SLO to attend my Nieces wedding at the Monday Club. The... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 31, 2008
The best value on Monterey Street

The smoke-free, pet-friendly Super 8 San Luis Obispo affords travelers a relaxing stay right next door to historic downtown San Luis Obispo. Enjoy easy access to the famed Farmer's Market, San Luis Obispo Mission, Bubble Gum Alley, and many fine restaurants. This AAA Two Diamond-rated property is close to the region's wineries, beaches, university, and tourist attractions, such as Hearst Castle.

Highlights
  • Children 12 and under stay free with an adult
  • Convenient to downtown San Luis Obispo
  • Pets allowed (fees apply)
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Rooms

Super 8 San Luis Obispo's 48 well-lit guest bedrooms feature a comfortable king or two double beds, and are furnished in a modern, motel style. Amenities include free high-speed Internet access, a refrigerator, microwave, and 27-inch television with cable and HBO. Up to two children, 12 years and younger, stay free with an adult when using existing bedding. Cribs and cots are available.

Features

Super 8 San Luis Obispo bills itself as "The best value on Monterey Street." Its location adds to that value. Downtown San Luis Obispo is an easy stroll from the door. California Polytechnic State University and Performing Arts Center are within walking distance. Hearst Castle, the jewel in the Central California crown, is less than an hour away, and wineries and beaches are within minutes of the front door. Super 8 offers a Free SuperStart continental breakfast every morning and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Luis Obispo Municipal Airport  (4.3 mi/7 km)
  • Amtrak San Luis Obispo (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Historic San Luis Obispo Mission (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • San Luis Obispo Children's Museum (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Hearst Castle (38 mi/61 km)
Business
  • Copy and fax service
  • Data port available
  • Free local telephone calls

Hotel Map

35.29 -120.6501
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 San Luis Obispo also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.2

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mcabeam
Minden, NV
Nov 22, 2012

A good choice

We've stayed in a lot of Super 8's, and this was one of the best. Although the room was a little small, it was big enough for one night's stay. The couple who run it were helpful and courteous. The location was within a few blocks of downtown. We did walk there and back, but not everyone would want to do that. There are several restaurants along the way. The breakfast offerings were simple, but nicely presented. We were allowed to bring our dog for only $10 extra (plus $1.20 tax). Overall, we were very satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jJeanj
Fallbrook
Sep 24, 2012

Disappointed

The room is basic, beds are extremely hard. The pool is no longer in existence. The breakfast is minimal. Store bought goods, no personal touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BK College Mom
Richmond, VA
Sep 7, 2012

CLEAN, comfortable, friendly, Great Price

Hotels are expensive in San Luis Obispo. If you are looking to save money, Super 8 in SLO is the best choice I have found so far. Although it is bare basics, no frills, and has the furnishings typical of an low priced hotel, everything is newer, fresh, in outstanding condition, and most important CLEAN and fresh. The bed and towels are not plush, but they are not a drawback either. With a refridgerator, microwave, free wireless, flat screen tv and friendly staff my stay wasn't luxury, but it was certainly pleasant, relaxing, had everything I needed and the price was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Splash cafe, with their famous clam chowder, is just down the road.

Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GJ Grandma
San Luis Obispo, CA
Aug 1, 2012

Weekend Getaway

For being a last minute trip, it was very nice. Although the room seem small it was comfortable for the price. The location was good, easy to get on and off freeway. Although I didn't get the ypung lady name (the receptionist that helped us) she was very, very nice. I forgot to mention that I was handicap when I reserved the room and she did her best to accomodate us. Our room was on the second floor and she found one for us on the first floor, so I didn't have to climb stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PIEFACE2008
BAKERSFIELD,CALIFORNIA
May 21, 2012

RESTLESS NIGHT

ROOM WINDOW IS SO THIN. YOU COULD HERE PEOPLE OUT SIDE TALKING AS IF THEY WERE RIGHT IN FRONT OF YOU. PEOPLE COMING IN AND OUT OF THERE ROOMS IN THE MIDDLE OF NIGHT TALKING, SO UNABLE TO GET A FULL NIGHT SLEEP. BED LINEN HAD A SMELL TO IT. ALSO BATHROOM TOWELS WERE SO OLD, INSTEAD OF BEING WHITE THEY WERE A BROWNISH COLOR. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND TO SLEEP THERE. A WASTE OF MONEY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ctesta
Newport Beach, CA, USA
Apr 30, 2012

Sufficient

We were looking for a discounted hotel for one night in SLO. Super 8 was a good price for the location on Monterey. Not the most pleasant hotel expperience because the lights in our room didnt work in the vanity and the towels were kinda old and crusty. The room did come with a microwave and refridgerator which was nice and we didnt spend much time in the room anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I love hiking Bishop's Peak. Such a great free, day activity.

Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EAGLEFAN
Business
Northern, California
Oct 7, 2011

Business Trip

Clean, cheap room, good location right off the freeway. will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EAGLEFAN
Business
Northern, California
Oct 7, 2011

Business Trip

Clean, cheap room, good location right off the freeway. will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vaca at SLO
SLO
Aug 9, 2011

Weekend in SLO

The hotel was very ok and i can say that after reading the negative reviews about this place from other folks, i am pretty happy i still went ahead and booked the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent food

Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Alameda CA
Apr 16, 2011

fine

We pre-booked for Cal Poly open house weekend which had every room in SLO booked. Got in at at 1a.m. three parking spaces left and six people yet to arrive. Desk clerk was pleasant. Room basic, clean and comfortable. Quiet until about six a.m. when guests too stupid to consider others sleeping in til 7:30 started to leave, calling to parking lot from rooms, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top