$62 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 6, 2015 Check-out: Apr 9, 2015

Super 8 San Luis Obispo

2 stars
View map of 1951 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2615

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
43 reviews
You get what you pay!

Considering the amount of money that I paid for this service, I got great service! I do not want to... See full review

  • SUNGHO L.
  • Dec 23, 2014
Cork Screw!!

My 2 daughters and myself were visiting SLO to attend my Nieces wedding at the Monday Club. The... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 31, 2008
The best value on Monterey Street

The smoke-free, pet-friendly Super 8 San Luis Obispo affords travelers a relaxing stay right next door to historic downtown San Luis Obispo. Enjoy easy access to the famed Farmer's Market, San Luis Obispo Mission, Bubble Gum Alley, and many fine restaurants. This AAA Two Diamond-rated property is close to the region's wineries, beaches, university, and tourist attractions, such as Hearst Castle.

Highlights
  • Children 12 and under stay free with an adult
  • Convenient to downtown San Luis Obispo
  • Pets allowed (fees apply)
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Rooms

Super 8 San Luis Obispo's 48 well-lit guest bedrooms feature a comfortable king or two double beds, and are furnished in a modern, motel style. Amenities include free high-speed Internet access, a refrigerator, microwave, and 27-inch television with cable and HBO. Up to two children, 12 years and younger, stay free with an adult when using existing bedding. Cribs and cots are available.

Features

Super 8 San Luis Obispo bills itself as "The best value on Monterey Street." Its location adds to that value. Downtown San Luis Obispo is an easy stroll from the door. California Polytechnic State University and Performing Arts Center are within walking distance. Hearst Castle, the jewel in the Central California crown, is less than an hour away, and wineries and beaches are within minutes of the front door. Super 8 offers a Free SuperStart continental breakfast every morning and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Luis Obispo Municipal Airport  (4.3 mi/7 km)
  • Amtrak San Luis Obispo (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Historic San Luis Obispo Mission (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • San Luis Obispo Children's Museum (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Hearst Castle (38 mi/61 km)
Business
  • Copy and fax service
  • Data port available
  • Free local telephone calls

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 San Luis Obispo also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.2

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wayne
Not Provided
Aug 10, 2011

Enjoyed stay. Short walk to Thursday

Enjoyed stay. Short walk to Thursday night market. Friendly staff. Good facilities. Reasonably priced well appointed motels. Would certainly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SUNGHO L.
Business
N/A
Dec 23, 2014

You get what you pay!

Considering the amount of money that I paid for this service, I got great service! I do not want to compare Super 8 with Hilton. I had great service and clean room at a close distance from the hot springs at a reasonable price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like hot springs, this is an ideal place to stay and go to enjoy the hot springs. It is within 10 miles from the hot springs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ro534
Business
Peninsula, OH
Aug 4, 2014

Good location but hotel was very average

The location was good - close to the highway and not too far from downtown (although it would be a long walk so you'd still have to drive). The hotel was very average though. Breakfast wasn't great, refrigerator didn't work in our room. It seemed expensive for the quality of the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Soul Sojourner
Business
OC
Jul 6, 2014

Just Okay

The hotel clerk was not very friendly, there were stains on the carpet, and one pincher bug in the restroom. I am assuming the stains were from pets because I had to sign a waiver that I would not sneak pets in and the clerk directly asked me if I had a pet. Everything else was just okay. The bed was comfortable, and we were pleased that the room had a microwave and fridge. The bathroom lights were on a motion detection system that seemed convenient in the middle of the night. The bedspread was the typical thin kind that you find at this sort of hotel but seemed newer like it had been replaced recently. The location was very convenient since the hotel is very close to the 101 freeway. It is also near a gas station and a quaint restuarant that we enjoyed a beautiful breakfast at. Overall it wasn't too bad. It felt and smelled cleaned despite the stains and the bug that probably crawled up through the bathroom drain pipe. You get what you pay for so I pretty much expected these things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Apple Farms Resturant 2 hotels down. It was cute and yummy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lmstj
Business
Long beach ca
Apr 29, 2014

Little vscation

Every thing was so neat an clean,an affordable an lovely

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BMB Events
Business
Murrieta, CA
Apr 7, 2014

An average two star

This place in in a nice area and it's really easy to get to. We were only there for a night but it's a good deal when you don't need much more than somewhere to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gmailer
Business
Riverside, CA
Sep 23, 2013

Super8 not SuperGreat

Front desk manager was stingy on towels and said he would charge us extra. We had 4 in a room and 1 set of towels was dirty and only 3 sets of towels to the room. he gave me two more with attitude. Motel needs upgrades. Sink nasty, towels need renewed, just old and run down. Not staying here again. But was close to CalPoly which is why we picked it. Not sure what's up with SLO hotel prices. Ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cows go home
Business
Manteca, Ca.
Sep 17, 2013

Super 8 needs help

Our room was at the far end of the building,you might think that would have favorable.At 11:30pm I was woken up by a loud constant noise. I contacted the manager and waited to see if the noise would stop. At midnight I contacted the manager again. He told me he stood outside our room and did not hear anything. He stated I could leave, I could call the police, but until I identifed the problem he could do nothing. At 12:15am I put on clothes and step outside. I went down stairs one level and quickly observed the room below us with lights on and the TV on. I returned to my room and called the manager and gave him the information about the room below.He called back in a few minutes after contacting offending room. It took at least an additional 15 minutes to quiet down. I turned in my key at 9:30 am and departed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sweet D
Business
Sacramento, California
Jul 15, 2013

Family trip

My husband and I were there for a family trip and chose this hotel. When we got to the room it was extremely small. I immediately noticed no fridge. I started looking around and found a fridge and microwave in a closet. When I opened the fridge it wasn't even on. We stayed for a total of two days and by the last day the fridge was barely cold enough. There was also no parking. I had to park four blocks alway from the hotel. The trip was definitely not worth what I paid!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
beachee
Business
council bluffs ia
Jun 28, 2013

Poor customer service!

Pool has been filled in with cement. The television reception was terrible;lousy stations.Breakfast items were not fresh.The power would go out when I used the blow dryer.The towels were thin and really needed to be replaced. When we would try to call the front desk,we couldn't get through.The only good thing about this motel is the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Plumrose
Business
Los Altos
Jun 14, 2013

Great Location

I needed a place that was close to the university and down town. This was the perfect hotel. Friendly staff, clean room, and quiet during the night. The only thing that could have been better was the smell of the room. It smelled like my son's room. Overall, I was happy I stayed here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top