$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 3, 2014

Sands Inn and Suites

3 stars
1930 Monterey Street, 1930 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
67 reviews
Awesome location

We stayed for 4 nights. Service is awesome plus the ability to bring our dogs with us. Very... See full review

  • Kdiz
  • Dec 31, 2013
Very enjoyable stay

Helpful staff, comfortable and clean rooms (if a little small), and a good video selection. Nice... See full review

  • Egret
  • Mar 30, 2014
Business-friendly, pet-friendly meeting place on the Central Coast

Plan your next meeting or leisure stay at the unusually attractive, Spanish-style Sands Inn and Suites, near historic downtown San Luis Obispo and California Polytechnic State University (Cal Poly). Large, flexible meeting rooms make this AAA Three Diamond-rated hotel particularly suitable for reunions, seminars, and receptions, while its proximity to area attractions makes for perfect tourist lodging.

Highlights
  • AAA Three Diamond-rated hotel
  • One of the area's largest outdoor pools, heated year around
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Pet-friendly
Rooms

Sands Inn recently renovated all 70 guest rooms and suites to feature comfortable bedding and furniture, with amenities including a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, free wireless Internet access, a DVD player, and cable television. Configurations include standard queen, superior king, two kinds of suites, and more. Handicapped rooms are available.

Features

Sands Inn & Suites is a San Luis Obispo standout for runners, joggers, exercise enthusiasts, and especially dog walkers. The hotel welcomes all well-behaved pets (fees apply), and with surrounding walking trails and nearby fields, claims itself "the most pet-friendly lodging establishment on the Central Coast of California." Guests without four-legged friends enjoy the heated outdoor pool and hot tub. Complimentary continental breakfast is included.

Transportation
  • San Luis Obispo Municipal Airport (4.3 mi/6.5 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Cal Poly University (walking distance)
  • Downtown San Luis Obispo (walking distance)
  • Mission San Luis Obispo (walking distance)
  • Cuesta Canyon County Park (walking distance)
Business
  • Meeting rooms for up to 150; can be subdivided
  • Catering available
  • Group rates

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sands Inn and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5

Sands Inn and Suites Rooms

Double Queen
This room offers two queen beds along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, DVD player, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Microwave oven, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Video player, Voicemail.
King Deluxe
This room offers one king bed along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, DVD player, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Microwave oven, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Video player, Voicemail.
Queen Deluxe
This room offers one queen bed along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, DVD player, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Microwave oven, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Video player, Voicemail.

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Free full breakfast
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Handicapped parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (67)

Ratings and reviews for Sands Inn and Suites

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 67
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.3
Sort by:
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tommy4cam
Business
Woodland Hills, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 28, 2011

One might stand...

Close to Cal Poly campus and walking distance to Downtown. Rooms are dated, and pool area looked uninviting. Could use total make over...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travel Industry Mavin
Business
San Diego, CA
Feb 24, 2011

Sweet deal for breakfast...

I was there for a total of 3 nights over a holiday weekend, so I wound up having to make two separate reservations due to changing my itinerary. The original room I had reserved wasn't available, so they put me in a single, which had a fridge, but no microwave. Very dated furniture and beds not that comfortable, but price was OK considering breakfast, which included: waffles, sausage, potatoes, hard- boiled eggs, cereals, juice, muffins/sweet rolls, coffee. I signed up for a wine-tasting tour and the bus picked up at the hotel, plus the location was within walking distance of town. Had trouble with the TV on the last night and they offered to let me switch rooms, but checking out the next morning. They really could use an update on furnishings!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Besides local wineries, it's just a short drive south to the coast, where we were able to take my cousin's dog for a walk on Pismo Beach -- the hotel is also pet-friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 30, 2011

Exceeded expectations!

I have had some bad experiences booking hotels through discount sites so my expectations were not very high. I am pleased to say there was not one negative aspect to my stay. I room was spacious, bed comfortable, room clean, and best of all - very quiet. I also enjoyed the complementary Continental Breakfast. Unfortunately I was unable to enjoy the complementary movies to play in the room or the hot tub and pool - maybe next time because I would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Cal Poly

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandma Colleen
Business
Gig Harbor, WA
May 18, 2009

Pleased with both Sands Inn and Orbitz

The Sands' staff was very attentive to my needs. The price that I got through Orbitz was really very good for a quality motel in SLO. There is certainly pride of ownership showing throughout the motel. I invited my daughter and her young to visit with me at the pool and we all thoroughly enjoyed the afternoon. If I had had more time, I would have taken the trolley that stops in front to downtown SLO. I can highly recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The trolley that runs on the weekends takes one to downtown SLO

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top