$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Sands Inn and Suites

3 stars
1930 Monterey Street, 1930 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
68 reviews
Awesome location

We stayed for 4 nights. Service is awesome plus the ability to bring our dogs with us. Very... See full review

  • Kdiz
  • Dec 31, 2013
Great room and amenities for the price

I often travel to San Luis Obispo for business and I am budget minded, so I often wind up at the... See full review

  • Gozer the Traveller
  • Dec 5, 2014
Business-friendly, pet-friendly meeting place on the Central Coast

Plan your next meeting or leisure stay at the unusually attractive, Spanish-style Sands Inn and Suites, near historic downtown San Luis Obispo and California Polytechnic State University (Cal Poly). Large, flexible meeting rooms make this AAA Three Diamond-rated hotel particularly suitable for reunions, seminars, and receptions, while its proximity to area attractions makes for perfect tourist lodging.

Highlights
  • AAA Three Diamond-rated hotel
  • One of the area's largest outdoor pools, heated year around
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Pet-friendly
Rooms

Sands Inn recently renovated all 70 guest rooms and suites to feature comfortable bedding and furniture, with amenities including a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, free wireless Internet access, a DVD player, and cable television. Configurations include standard queen, superior king, two kinds of suites, and more. Handicapped rooms are available.

Features

Sands Inn & Suites is a San Luis Obispo standout for runners, joggers, exercise enthusiasts, and especially dog walkers. The hotel welcomes all well-behaved pets (fees apply), and with surrounding walking trails and nearby fields, claims itself "the most pet-friendly lodging establishment on the Central Coast of California." Guests without four-legged friends enjoy the heated outdoor pool and hot tub. Complimentary continental breakfast is included.

Transportation
  • San Luis Obispo Municipal Airport (4.3 mi/6.5 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Cal Poly University (walking distance)
  • Downtown San Luis Obispo (walking distance)
  • Mission San Luis Obispo (walking distance)
  • Cuesta Canyon County Park (walking distance)
Business
  • Meeting rooms for up to 150; can be subdivided
  • Catering available
  • Group rates

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sands Inn and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Sands Inn and Suites Rooms

Double Queen
This room offers two queen beds along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, DVD player, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Microwave oven, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Video player, Voicemail.
King Deluxe
This room offers one king bed along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, DVD player, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Microwave oven, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Video player, Voicemail.
Queen Deluxe
This room offers one queen bed along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, DVD player, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Microwave oven, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Video player, Voicemail.

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Free full breakfast
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Handicapped parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for Sands Inn and Suites

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 68
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gozer the Traveller
Business
Central Coast, CA
Dec 5, 2014

Great room and amenities for the price

I often travel to San Luis Obispo for business and I am budget minded, so I often wind up at the least expensive motel available. I have seen quite a few motels in SLO and some of them are pretty sketchy. I booked Sands Inn at a bargain rate, so I was a bit dubious before arrival. It turns out I was quite mistaken. This is a fine motel, the best in this price class in SLO. Nice newly remodeled rooms, good furnishings, I was not scared to walk on the carpet in bare feet, free WiFi, and the free breakfast rocks! If you are lucky to get a good rate here, take it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sssw
Business
Pittsburgh
Oct 10, 2014

Good, not great

Sands Inn is about as good as it can be, given the limits of an old-fashioned motel where you drive up within a few feet of your room and the first guy up usually wakes up everyone else. It's part of a row of comparable mid-level motels along Monterey St. in San Luis Obispo, a little over a mile from downtown. This was a very good deal for the dollar. The room was a decent size, clean, with a good bed, good enough shower, large tv, and desk The hair dryer was old fashioned: worked one night, took me 10 minutes to get it to work the second night, and the third night it didn't work at all. But the breakfasts were good for a hotel at this rate, with several protein choices and warm and cold options. Staff was pleasant too. For this value, I'd stay again -- a 3.5 rating overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Nova and Urbane Cafe (lunch) are good places on Higuera St. Doc Burnstein's good for ice cream. Excellent Whole Foods nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
california man
Business
king city, CA
Dec 9, 2013

SLO weekend

Good location very helpful staff. Small rooms in an older building. Good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

New Cajun Louisiana themed seafood boil restaurant just opened.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bindle Stiff
Business
Santa Barbara, California
Mar 28, 2013

Good value, nice place

This is one of a bunch of motels in what must be San Luis Obispo's "motel row." So there's lots to choose from, and lots of competition to keep the price reasonable. The Sands staff was very nice, and the room was old but fine. The heater was a little noisy as it cycled on and off, but otherwise the place was quiet. The room was clean, the water was hot, it has good wifi, good location, nice staff, complimentary and decent "extended Continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good Mexican restaurant down the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelsalot27
Business
Oakland, CA
Sep 25, 2012

good pool and tub

This hotel was low key on a week night, and the pool and hot tub were lovely for an evening swim and soak under the stars! Also, loved the waffle maker in the breakfast room, so fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Studio City, CA
Mar 1, 2011

decent

The heater is noisy. 2 free dvds per night is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ramona, CA
Feb 12, 2011

Last minute reservation

In the area testing for a job, had to find something close. Room rate was quite reasonable, they let me check in early and provided free dvd's for check out. All in all a very good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Business Traveler Adam
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 10, 2011

Construction Warning Would Be Nice

This is the second time I stayed at the Sands and I will still probably go back, but there was one minor issue. I arrived late at night after a while on the road and went to sleep pretty quickly, but I woke up to the sound of jack hammers outside of my room. They were doing construction on the parking lot. They waited until a somewhat reasonable hour to start (8:00 am or so), but it would have been nice if the front desk had told me that would have happened when I checked in. Other than that, the room is comfortable, they provide an excellent breakfast, and are very convenient to Cal Poly which is why I come to San Luis Obispo for business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Business Traveler Adam
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 8, 2010

Great Inn, great location

I was in SLO for business and this is my 4th hotel in as many trips, but it will be my last. It was comfortable, had a good breakfast, and was an easy walk to downtown SLO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

They let you have 2 DVDs a night from their selections in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara
May 26, 2009

Beautiful and quiet stay

The location is ideal: close to downtown and 3 minutes to Cal-Poly. The staff was very nice. The continental breakfast was great with multiple choices including croissants and waffles. the room was quiet and the internet connection acceptable. I will definetely return there if i have to stay in that area. nath.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

many available choices on Santa rosa street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top