$93 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 10, 2015 Check-out: Feb 12, 2015

Sands Inn and Suites

3 stars
1930 Monterey Street, 1930 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
69 reviews
Awesome location

We stayed for 4 nights. Service is awesome plus the ability to bring our dogs with us. Very... See full review

  • Kdiz
  • Dec 31, 2013
Great room and amenities for the price

I often travel to San Luis Obispo for business and I am budget minded, so I often wind up at the... See full review

  • Gozer the Traveller
  • Dec 5, 2014
A perfect San Luis Obispo location. Located within walking distance to Cal Poly University and beautiful downtown San Luis Obispo. Enjoy the best of small town charm surrounded by the unrivaled natural beauty of the Central Coast - from the historic Mission in downtown San Luis Obispo, to the colorful shops, restaurants, wineries, hiking, and beaches. The rustic neighboring communities of Cambria, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach and Paso Robles are just a short drive away. The hotel offers a relaxing getaway with newly renovated, spacious rooms and suites featuring refrigerators, bath robes, and amenities to make you feel at home! Enjoy our complimentary Continental breakfast. Approved, 3-Diamond rating. Pets allowed with small fee. The newly upgraded facility offers a variety of rooms from standard King, Queen, Two Queen Beds, King Suites, and Two Queen Suites, and a host of other options. To meet the overnight needs and those of group, the motel features 70 spacious guest rooms. All rooms feature wireless internet access, TV with cable, in room coffee, iron and ironing board, hair-dryer, refrigerator, DVD and VHS players with complimentary movies at the front desk. In the morning breakfast with a full express continental served from 6am until 10am daily. For Families needing extra room or for those special getaways our suites offer multiple configurations designed for any size family. With sofa sleepers in each living room, dual TV's, microwave and refrigerator, wet bar (not stock), and counter area with sink, there is plenty of room to spread out, relax, and enjoy. The hotel offers special group packages for corporate groups, weddings, and sports teams. Also, the property offers one of the areas largest outdoor pool & spa heated year around. The hotel also offers Conference facilities, Disabled facilities, Internet access Wireless, Lobby, Non-smoking rooms, Pets allowed, Swimming pool outdoor.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sands Inn and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Sands Inn and Suites Rooms

Double Queen
This room offers two queen beds along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, DVD player, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Microwave oven, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Video player, Voicemail.
King Deluxe
This room offers one king bed along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, DVD player, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Microwave oven, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Video player, Voicemail.
Queen Deluxe
This room offers one queen bed along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, DVD player, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Microwave oven, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Video player, Voicemail.

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Free full breakfast
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Handicapped parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (69)

Ratings and reviews for Sands Inn and Suites

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joseph203
Business
Santa Monica, CA, USA
Nov 13, 2011

Quite adequate

Check in was easy and quick. Parking spaces are almost non-existent, but manageable. Staff was very cordial. Facility appears to be more like a two star, but was advertised as a three star

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

very short walk to two restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
piperelliott
Business
Carmel, CA, USA
Mar 19, 2012

ANTS - A million ANTS

Our room had a million ants - I told the recieptionist about the problem. I was told its because of the rain. " Because of the Rain " Did not fix my problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
VH
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 2, 2011

College Town

The hotel was old and outdated. Smelled bad and didn't feel clean. Walls are thin, you can hear everything. AC was very loud. Way overpriced!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to college.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travel Industry Mavin
Business
San Diego, CA
Feb 24, 2011

Sweet deal for breakfast...

I was there for a total of 3 nights over a holiday weekend, so I wound up having to make two separate reservations due to changing my itinerary. The original room I had reserved wasn't available, so they put me in a single, which had a fridge, but no microwave. Very dated furniture and beds not that comfortable, but price was OK considering breakfast, which included: waffles, sausage, potatoes, hard- boiled eggs, cereals, juice, muffins/sweet rolls, coffee. I signed up for a wine-tasting tour and the bus picked up at the hotel, plus the location was within walking distance of town. Had trouble with the TV on the last night and they offered to let me switch rooms, but checking out the next morning. They really could use an update on furnishings!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Besides local wineries, it's just a short drive south to the coast, where we were able to take my cousin's dog for a walk on Pismo Beach -- the hotel is also pet-friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Yetika
Business
Honolulu, HI
Mar 21, 2011

OK for $80

The check-in was very good. She was very helpful and friendly and called to confirm earlier check in at 1:00 pm. The room was OK. Small, but it did have a microwave and refrig. We forgot to report that the tub was not draining well. Staff was polite and checked to be sure we were done before clearing the breakfast buffet unlike other motels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Googled good clam chowder in San Luis Obispo and found Splash Cafe only a few blocks away. Great chowder, good salad and onion rings at fast food prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 7, 2010

Sands Inn & Suites

Not worth the price. We could have got the same type of service & room at Motel 6 which is just down the road. The room is stuffy and old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Studio City, CA
Mar 1, 2011

decent

The heater is noisy. 2 free dvds per night is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Billrich3
Business
Bakersfield, CA, USA
Sep 18, 2011

SLO stay in Sept

Generally satisfactory. Not enough bath soap(one very sm bar), kleenex tissue box was empty upon arrival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms.Lorelie
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 24, 2011

Perfect for what it is

When visiting our son at SLO this hotel works just fine. The location is convenient, room clean, bed comfortable enough, quiet, sufficient breakfast. It is no frills but nearly half the price of the Holiday Inn Express next door. Save your money for a fine dinner at Novo or at Costco for your kid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Best restaurant in SLO. Request a creekside table.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tommy4cam
Business
Woodland Hills, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 28, 2011

One might stand...

Close to Cal Poly campus and walking distance to Downtown. Rooms are dated, and pool area looked uninviting. Could use total make over...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top