$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

Sands Inn and Suites

3 stars
View map of 1930 Monterey Street, 1930 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
71 reviews
Awesome location

We stayed for 4 nights. Service is awesome plus the ability to bring our dogs with us. Very... See full review

  • Kdiz
  • Dec 31, 2013
A good night's stay

This hotel was very much like other hotels in SLO. It was clean, safe but outdated. See full review

  • MRSLAX
  • Feb 24, 2015
Business-friendly, pet-friendly meeting place on the Central Coast

Plan your next meeting or leisure stay at the unusually attractive, Spanish-style Sands Inn and Suites, near historic downtown San Luis Obispo and California Polytechnic State University (Cal Poly). Large, flexible meeting rooms make this AAA Three Diamond-rated hotel particularly suitable for reunions, seminars, and receptions, while its proximity to area attractions makes for perfect tourist lodging.

Highlights
  • AAA Three Diamond-rated hotel
  • One of the area's largest outdoor pools, heated year around
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Pet-friendly
Rooms

Sands Inn recently renovated all 70 guest rooms and suites to feature comfortable bedding and furniture, with amenities including a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, free wireless Internet access, a DVD player, and cable television. Configurations include standard queen, superior king, two kinds of suites, and more. Handicapped rooms are available.

Features

Sands Inn & Suites is a San Luis Obispo standout for runners, joggers, exercise enthusiasts, and especially dog walkers. The hotel welcomes all well-behaved pets (fees apply), and with surrounding walking trails and nearby fields, claims itself "the most pet-friendly lodging establishment on the Central Coast of California." Guests without four-legged friends enjoy the heated outdoor pool and hot tub. Complimentary continental breakfast is included.

Transportation
  • San Luis Obispo Municipal Airport (4.3 mi/6.5 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Cal Poly University (walking distance)
  • Downtown San Luis Obispo (walking distance)
  • Mission San Luis Obispo (walking distance)
  • Cuesta Canyon County Park (walking distance)
Business
  • Meeting rooms for up to 150; can be subdivided
  • Catering available
  • Group rates

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sands Inn and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Sands Inn and Suites Rooms

Double Queen
This room offers two queen beds along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, DVD player, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Microwave oven, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Video player, Voicemail.
King Deluxe
This room offers one king bed along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, DVD player, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Microwave oven, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Video player, Voicemail.
Queen Deluxe
This room offers one queen bed along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, DVD player, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Microwave oven, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Video player, Voicemail.

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Free full breakfast
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Handicapped parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sands Inn and Suites

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kdiz
Business
San francisco
Dec 31, 2013

Awesome location

We stayed for 4 nights. Service is awesome plus the ability to bring our dogs with us. Very reasonable $25 pet fee per stay... Not per night. The rooms are large, complex is quiet at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Jan 17, 2011

A good place to stay

We stayed at the Sands Inn while visiting our son at Cal Poly. Very reasonable price, nice room, good service, superior breakfast. I would definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anahem
Jan 17, 2011

absolutely one of the best.

the rooms were immaculate and comfortable and we had a great time with our dog there also. The breakfast was a great send off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

apple valley restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ron,traveller
Business
Arizona
May 17, 2011

Convenience and quality

A stop on our journey along the California coast at Sands Inn and Suites proved to be comfortable, convenient and especially memorable. The charming downtown and street fair at nearby Farmers' Market area provided unexpected fun. Service as well as facilities were excellent. We will surely return to the Inn!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Convenient for the traveller... located in a very beautiful area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Priyad
Business
San Jose, CA
Dec 30, 2010

"Great Location, Friendly Staff"

Good value,walking distance to SLO downtown.This Inn is pet friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 16, 2009

Great Value and excellent location.

My husband and I stayed one night in this hotel. We were moving my college son back to Sacramento and needed a near by hotel. I was impressed of the cleanliness, friendly staff and continental breakfast. We needed extra pillows and within 5 minutes of requesting the pillows they were delivered to our room. I will definitely use these folks on my next visit to San Luis Obispo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Excellent value all the way around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
retired but by no means inactive!
Business
Mission Viejo
Dec 3, 2010

Comfortable, clean and quiet!

Our second stay here. Very convenient to both San Luis Obispo and the freeway. Great breakfast. Staff friendly and efficient. Room comfortable, squeaky clean and best of all quiet. Free DVDs to watch a nice bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Apple Farms, a qquality eating place. Greta menu options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Business Traveler Adam
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 8, 2010

Great Inn, great location

I was in SLO for business and this is my 4th hotel in as many trips, but it will be my last. It was comfortable, had a good breakfast, and was an easy walk to downtown SLO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

They let you have 2 DVDs a night from their selections in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Egret
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Mar 30, 2014

Very enjoyable stay

Helpful staff, comfortable and clean rooms (if a little small), and a good video selection. Nice hot tub and pool. Only issues were trouble with the remote, although that was fixed quickly, and we didn't like all the styrofoam at breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alisag
Business
Encinitas, CA
Nov 9, 2010

Solid, comfortable room

Stayed at The Sands while visiting college kid. Convenient to all of SLO downtown. Room was clean, bathroom is huge. Traveled with our dog, no hassles at all. Parking is a little limited on the weekend. Beds were comfy. No frills but a solid place to stay for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Splash Cafe for breakfast or lunch, just down Monterey, awesome local hang out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top