$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

Sands Inn and Suites

3 stars
View map of 1930 Monterey Street, 1930 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sands Inn and Suites

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Feb 20, 2011

Overall good, but thin walls

Went to visit the campus. Great location, easy to find. Office personnel were friendly and helpful and the room was clean and nice. However, the heater was noisy, the refrigerator was noisy, and the walls were paper thin. I could understand every word of our neighbor's phone call, I could hear him snore, and knew what TV show he was watching. Breakfast was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ramona, CA
Feb 12, 2011

Last minute reservation

In the area testing for a job, had to find something close. Room rate was quite reasonable, they let me check in early and provided free dvd's for check out. All in all a very good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chula Vista, CA
Feb 7, 2011

Average Hotel

The hotel room was clean for the most part. The pillows were not comfortable at all. The continental breakfast was pretty good. Overall, it was just okay. However, I believe the cost of the room is overpriced for what it's worth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles, CA
Feb 7, 2011

the average

included wifi, blowdryer, dvd player, old tv, mini fridge, iron + ironing board, so that was pretty great. breakfast was below average. good location but there are also some other inns nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

frank's hotdogs' mini burger challenge!

Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 30, 2011

Exceeded expectations!

I have had some bad experiences booking hotels through discount sites so my expectations were not very high. I am pleased to say there was not one negative aspect to my stay. I room was spacious, bed comfortable, room clean, and best of all - very quiet. I also enjoyed the complementary Continental Breakfast. Unfortunately I was unable to enjoy the complementary movies to play in the room or the hot tub and pool - maybe next time because I would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Cal Poly

Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Jan 17, 2011

A good place to stay

We stayed at the Sands Inn while visiting our son at Cal Poly. Very reasonable price, nice room, good service, superior breakfast. I would definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anahem
Jan 17, 2011

absolutely one of the best.

the rooms were immaculate and comfortable and we had a great time with our dog there also. The breakfast was a great send off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

apple valley restaurant

Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Business Traveler Adam
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 10, 2011

Construction Warning Would Be Nice

This is the second time I stayed at the Sands and I will still probably go back, but there was one minor issue. I arrived late at night after a while on the road and went to sleep pretty quickly, but I woke up to the sound of jack hammers outside of my room. They were doing construction on the parking lot. They waited until a somewhat reasonable hour to start (8:00 am or so), but it would have been nice if the front desk had told me that would have happened when I checked in. Other than that, the room is comfortable, they provide an excellent breakfast, and are very convenient to Cal Poly which is why I come to San Luis Obispo for business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Priyad
Business
San Jose, CA
Dec 30, 2010

"Great Location, Friendly Staff"

Good value,walking distance to SLO downtown.This Inn is pet friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dumb question
Business
san jose
Dec 28, 2010

good value

good value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top