$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 13, 2014 Check-out: Oct 16, 2014

Sands Inn and Suites

3 stars
1930 Monterey Street, 1930 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
66 reviews
Awesome location

We stayed for 4 nights. Service is awesome plus the ability to bring our dogs with us. Very... See full review

  • Kdiz
  • Dec 31, 2013
Very enjoyable stay

Helpful staff, comfortable and clean rooms (if a little small), and a good video selection. Nice... See full review

  • Egret
  • Mar 30, 2014
Business-friendly, pet-friendly meeting place on the Central Coast

Plan your next meeting or leisure stay at the unusually attractive, Spanish-style Sands Inn and Suites, near historic downtown San Luis Obispo and California Polytechnic State University (Cal Poly). Large, flexible meeting rooms make this AAA Three Diamond-rated hotel particularly suitable for reunions, seminars, and receptions, while its proximity to area attractions makes for perfect tourist lodging.

Highlights
  • AAA Three Diamond-rated hotel
  • One of the area's largest outdoor pools, heated year around
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Pet-friendly
Rooms

Sands Inn recently renovated all 70 guest rooms and suites to feature comfortable bedding and furniture, with amenities including a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, free wireless Internet access, a DVD player, and cable television. Configurations include standard queen, superior king, two kinds of suites, and more. Handicapped rooms are available.

Features

Sands Inn & Suites is a San Luis Obispo standout for runners, joggers, exercise enthusiasts, and especially dog walkers. The hotel welcomes all well-behaved pets (fees apply), and with surrounding walking trails and nearby fields, claims itself "the most pet-friendly lodging establishment on the Central Coast of California." Guests without four-legged friends enjoy the heated outdoor pool and hot tub. Complimentary continental breakfast is included.

Transportation
  • San Luis Obispo Municipal Airport (4.3 mi/6.5 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Cal Poly University (walking distance)
  • Downtown San Luis Obispo (walking distance)
  • Mission San Luis Obispo (walking distance)
  • Cuesta Canyon County Park (walking distance)
Business
  • Meeting rooms for up to 150; can be subdivided
  • Catering available
  • Group rates

Hotel Map

35.2904 -120.6497
Area served
San Luis Obispo
Nearby airports
San Luis Obispo, Reg Airport. San Jose International Airport.
Area description
Located within walking distance to Cal Poly University and beautiful downtown San Luis Obispo. Enjoy the best of small town charm surrounded by the unrivaled natural beauty of the Central Coast - from the historic Mission in downtown San Luis Obispo, restaurants, wineries, hiking, and beaches.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sands Inn and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5

Sands Inn and Suites Rooms

Double Queen
This room offers two queen beds along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, DVD player, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Microwave oven, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Video player, Voicemail.
King Deluxe
This room offers one king bed along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, DVD player, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Microwave oven, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Video player, Voicemail.
Queen Deluxe
This room offers one queen bed along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, DVD player, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Microwave oven, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Video player, Voicemail.

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Free full breakfast
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Handicapped parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Sands Inn and Suites

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ramona, CA
Feb 12, 2011

Last minute reservation

In the area testing for a job, had to find something close. Room rate was quite reasonable, they let me check in early and provided free dvd's for check out. All in all a very good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
los angeles, CA
Feb 7, 2011

the average

included wifi, blowdryer, dvd player, old tv, mini fridge, iron + ironing board, so that was pretty great. breakfast was below average. good location but there are also some other inns nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

frank's hotdogs' mini burger challenge!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chula Vista, CA
Feb 7, 2011

Average Hotel

The hotel room was clean for the most part. The pillows were not comfortable at all. The continental breakfast was pretty good. Overall, it was just okay. However, I believe the cost of the room is overpriced for what it's worth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Jan 30, 2011

Exceeded expectations!

I have had some bad experiences booking hotels through discount sites so my expectations were not very high. I am pleased to say there was not one negative aspect to my stay. I room was spacious, bed comfortable, room clean, and best of all - very quiet. I also enjoyed the complementary Continental Breakfast. Unfortunately I was unable to enjoy the complementary movies to play in the room or the hot tub and pool - maybe next time because I would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Cal Poly

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Anahem
Jan 17, 2011

absolutely one of the best.

the rooms were immaculate and comfortable and we had a great time with our dog there also. The breakfast was a great send off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

apple valley restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
California
Jan 17, 2011

A good place to stay

We stayed at the Sands Inn while visiting our son at Cal Poly. Very reasonable price, nice room, good service, superior breakfast. I would definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Business Traveler Adam
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 10, 2011

Construction Warning Would Be Nice

This is the second time I stayed at the Sands and I will still probably go back, but there was one minor issue. I arrived late at night after a while on the road and went to sleep pretty quickly, but I woke up to the sound of jack hammers outside of my room. They were doing construction on the parking lot. They waited until a somewhat reasonable hour to start (8:00 am or so), but it would have been nice if the front desk had told me that would have happened when I checked in. Other than that, the room is comfortable, they provide an excellent breakfast, and are very convenient to Cal Poly which is why I come to San Luis Obispo for business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Priyad
San Jose, CA
Dec 30, 2010

"Great Location, Friendly Staff"

Good value,walking distance to SLO downtown.This Inn is pet friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dumb question
san jose
Dec 28, 2010

good value

good value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Torrance, CA
Dec 23, 2010

Great Stay

We were here for a 2 day stay and visit to Hearst Castle. Location was great and easy access to everything. Couldn't have asked for better. Close to dining, shopping and sightseeing. Very nice comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top