$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Sands Inn and Suites

3 stars
1930 Monterey Street, 1930 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
109 reviews
Awesome location

We stayed for 4 nights. Service is awesome plus the ability to bring our dogs with us. Very... See full review

  • Kdiz
  • Dec 31, 2013
Very enjoyable stay

Helpful staff, comfortable and clean rooms (if a little small), and a good video selection. Nice... See full review

  • Egret
  • Mar 30, 2014
Business-friendly, pet-friendly meeting place on the Central Coast

Plan your next meeting or leisure stay at the unusually attractive, Spanish-style Sands Inn and Suites, near historic downtown San Luis Obispo and California Polytechnic State University (Cal Poly). Large, flexible meeting rooms make this AAA Three Diamond-rated hotel particularly suitable for reunions, seminars, and receptions, while its proximity to area attractions makes for perfect tourist lodging.

Highlights
  • AAA Three Diamond-rated hotel
  • One of the area's largest outdoor pools, heated year around
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Pet-friendly
Rooms

Sands Inn recently renovated all 70 guest rooms and suites to feature comfortable bedding and furniture, with amenities including a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, free wireless Internet access, a DVD player, and cable television. Configurations include standard queen, superior king, two kinds of suites, and more. Handicapped rooms are available.

Features

Sands Inn & Suites is a San Luis Obispo standout for runners, joggers, exercise enthusiasts, and especially dog walkers. The hotel welcomes all well-behaved pets (fees apply), and with surrounding walking trails and nearby fields, claims itself "the most pet-friendly lodging establishment on the Central Coast of California." Guests without four-legged friends enjoy the heated outdoor pool and hot tub. Complimentary continental breakfast is included.

Transportation
  • San Luis Obispo Municipal Airport (4.3 mi/6.5 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Cal Poly University (walking distance)
  • Downtown San Luis Obispo (walking distance)
  • Mission San Luis Obispo (walking distance)
  • Cuesta Canyon County Park (walking distance)
Business
  • Meeting rooms for up to 150; can be subdivided
  • Catering available
  • Group rates

Sands Inn and Suites Rooms

Double Queen
This room offers two queen beds along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, DVD player, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Microwave oven, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Video player, Voicemail.
King Deluxe
This room offers one king bed along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, DVD player, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Microwave oven, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Video player, Voicemail.
Queen Deluxe
This room offers one queen bed along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, DVD player, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Microwave oven, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Video player, Voicemail.

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Free full breakfast
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Handicapped parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sands Inn and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.2904 -120.6497
Area served
San Luis Obispo
Nearby airports
San Luis Obispo, Reg Airport. San Jose International Airport.
Area description
Located within walking distance to Cal Poly University and beautiful downtown San Luis Obispo. Enjoy the best of small town charm surrounded by the unrivaled natural beauty of the Central Coast - from the historic Mission in downtown San Luis Obispo, restaurants, wineries, hiking, and beaches.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for Sands Inn and Suites

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
So Cal Gal
Laguna Beach, CA, USA
Sep 2, 2011

Handy Spot/Great Value

Right off the freeway, yet close enough to town...short drive. We were right by the venue for the wedding we attended. Large room, high ceilings and quiet! Perfiect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of antique shops and garden furnishing stores on the way to the main shopping area that you shouldn't miss!

Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
So Cal Gal
Laguna Beach, CA, USA
Sep 2, 2011

Handy Spot/Great Value

Right off the freeway, yet close enough to town...short drive. We were right by the venue for the wedding we attended. Large room, high ceilings and quiet! Perfiect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of antique shops and garden furnishing stores on the way to the main shopping area that you shouldn't miss!

Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Thousand Oaks, CA
Jul 28, 2011

Great except for the noise!

Our rooms seemed updated. Everything was clean including the new shower. After reading other reviews I wasn't expecting much, but we were pleasantly surprised. My only complaint is that when someone anywhere along our side of the hotel closed their door, the entire building shook! It was a very loud noise that woke us up pretty often.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Thousand Oaks, CA
Jul 28, 2011

Great except for the noise!

Our rooms seemed updated. Everything was clean including the new shower. After reading other reviews I wasn't expecting much, but we were pleasantly surprised. My only complaint is that when someone anywhere along our side of the hotel closed their door, the entire building shook! It was a very loud noise that woke us up pretty often.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chatsworth, CA
Jul 17, 2011

Great place for small dogs

Overnight stay to be close to family. Great amenities, helpful front desk, everything was fine. Went to romantic dinner at Madonna Inn, very close to everything Morro Bay, SLO College, perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chatsworth, CA
Jul 17, 2011

Great place for small dogs

Overnight stay to be close to family. Great amenities, helpful front desk, everything was fine. Went to romantic dinner at Madonna Inn, very close to everything Morro Bay, SLO College, perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oakland Ca
Jul 11, 2011

Good deal for Price

Sat by pool and slept in room. The pool and hot tub did not look real clean. The beds are very comfortble. Is equal to other trips we've made there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ciopino for dinner. Make a reservation,

Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oakland Ca
Jul 11, 2011

Good deal for Price

Sat by pool and slept in room. The pool and hot tub did not look real clean. The beds are very comfortble. Is equal to other trips we've made there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ciopino for dinner. Make a reservation,

Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mountain View, CA
Jul 5, 2011

Okay for the Price but a few issues

For an economy class price Sands Inn is not terrible. Room was spacious, beds were decent and bathroom was good. However there were a few things that need improving before I'd recommend over the other half dozen budget priced options in a one black radius. First, the shower periodically went cold and then back to hot with no change of the lever by me. Also, and this may be my finickiness, but I wasn't happy with the shower curtain as it was constantly clinging to me. Second, the cleaning staff doesn't deal well if you ask them to come back later. As in, they never came back later. Third, the continental breakfast barely qualifies for the name; bagels and pastries seemed to come from the day old shelf, the fruit tasted like it came out of cans and there was only non-dairy creamer for the coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the trolley to go downtown if it's operating when you need it.

Review of Sands Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mountain View, CA
Jul 5, 2011

Okay for the Price but a few issues

For an economy class price Sands Inn is not terrible. Room was spacious, beds were decent and bathroom was good. However there were a few things that need improving before I'd recommend over the other half dozen budget priced options in a one black radius. First, the shower periodically went cold and then back to hot with no change of the lever by me. Also, and this may be my finickiness, but I wasn't happy with the shower curtain as it was constantly clinging to me. Second, the cleaning staff doesn't deal well if you ask them to come back later. As in, they never came back later. Third, the continental breakfast barely qualifies for the name; bagels and pastries seemed to come from the day old shelf, the fruit tasted like it came out of cans and there was only non-dairy creamer for the coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the trolley to go downtown if it's operating when you need it.

Back to menu Return to top