$132 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Quality Suites Central Coast

2 stars
1631 Monterey St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
24 reviews
Great place, we want to come back!

We stayed here only for a night but we didn't want to leave! The place is nice and comfy and the... See full review

  • Birthday in Mexico
  • Jan 13, 2014
Wonderful location for a SLO experience

The staff really set this hotel apart. Starting with check-in and moving along to the evening... See full review

  • SLO or bust
  • Jul 27, 2014
All-suite San Luis Obispo hotel offers cooked-to-order breakfast, Wi-Fi

Located in the heart of California's Central Coast, Quality Suites San Luis Obispo appeals to economy travelers looking for added amenities beyond free high-speed Internet access. The property showcases tasteful suites equipped with welcome conveniences, from two DVD players to two TVs. Guests take advantage of a nightly cocktail hour and poolside barbecues six nights a week. Cooked-to-order breakfast sweetens the visit.

Highlights
  • Free nightly beer, wine and drink reception in cantina
  • Cooked-to-order breakfast
  • Poolside barbecues from Monday to Saturday
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Rooms
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo suites emphasize subtle sophistication. Bright white linens are dressed with garden-printed coverlets, a theme echoed in the artwork on the walls. Built-in dressers with large mirrors double as media cabinets. Every room boasts two TVs and DVD players, refrigerator and microwave oven. High-speed Internet access is free.
Dining
A cooked-to-order breakfast covers the classics, from sausage to potatoes. Guests flock to patio tables to enjoy the meal al fresco.
Recreation

An indoor fitness center equipped with cardio and weight machines allows guests not to miss their workouts during their stay at Quality Inn San Luis Obispo. However, the three outdoor pools -- just a stroll from the lively barbecue area -- are main draws.

Transportation
  • San Luis Obispo County Regional Airport (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
Attractions
  • Mission San Luis Obispo de Tolosa (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Mission Plaza (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • California Polytechnic University (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Oceano Dunes State Vehicular Recreation Area (16.8 mi/27.1 km)
  • Paso Robles (23.9 mi/38.4 km)
  • Cambria (30.8 mi/39.5 km)
  • Hearst Castle (39 mi/62.7 km)
Business
  • Three business centers each with printer, fax and copier
  • Meeting space for up to 35 people
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Quality Suites Central Coast also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Lounge
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Sofa bed

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for Quality Suites Central Coast

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Quality Suites Central Coast

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jflm
Business
San Mateo, CA, USA
Dec 4, 2014

Good place to stay with a family

This is a nice place to stay when visiting our son at Cal Poly. It has good amenities; nice pool, happy hour, free breakfast, nice exercise room, free shuttle, but it could really use an update. The rooms are large and the bed is comfortable but the bathroom is tiny. There is a kitchenette with a microwave for long stays. The staff is very friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Suites Central Coast

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jflm
Business
San Mateo, CA, USA
Sep 12, 2014

More than Acceptable

Unlike many other so-called Suite Hotels, this place gives you a full-sized sofa in the living room. The location is very convenient to Cal Poly and downtown SLO. But I do have a little problem with the sink being in the bedroom rather than the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Suites Central Coast

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SLO or bust
Business
Richmond, KY
Jul 27, 2014

Wonderful location for a SLO experience

The staff really set this hotel apart. Starting with check-in and moving along to the evening reception, the BBQ and the cheerful, cooked to order breakfast, the staff were unfailingly nice and helpful (Salvador was like a cheerful captain of a ship). The hotel is located very nicely in the SLO downtown with easy access to the 101. Really quite nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The breakfast really can't be beat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Suites Central Coast

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teachmehowtobucky
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 29, 2014

Visiting SLO

Great location for exploring SLO and surrounding area. Walking distance to everything downtown and easy access to 101. Decent included breakfast. Managers party every evening with 2 hours of free snacks and drinks. Nice pool. Seemed to be making an effort to get even better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Bishop's Peak is a challenging hike with excellent views.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Suites Central Coast

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Birthday in Mexico
Business
San Diego, California
Jan 13, 2014

Great place, we want to come back!

We stayed here only for a night but we didn't want to leave! The place is nice and comfy and the staff was really friendly and helpful. The afternoon bbq has cheap yet good sandwiches and food for dinner, the free drink of course is great and I liked seeing hotel guests at the reception at the same time for the "event", feels more welcoming. Eating around the fire pits was great. Room was nice and clean, not super luxurious, but nice and comfortable. All that you can find in a more expensive hotel, you could find here but with a more "homey" feeling. The hotel concenience store appeared to be open 24/7 and prices were good for a hotel store. It is conveniently located close to the mission and other nice stores. It was out first time in SLO, and We are definitely coming back :).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Suites Central Coast

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
buddy's buddy
Business
Fresno, CA, USA
Aug 12, 2013

Nice suite, great location, a bit pricey

A few blocks walking downhill to get to downtown SLO with lots of shopping and restaurants made this an easy choice. At $160.00/night not thrilled with the price but not a bad value with the full breakfast and free beer and wine every night starting at 5:30 p.m. Our room had that weird musty hotel smell that's fairly common these days so we had the window open to get rid of it. Overall....it met our needs for a 3-day getaway in beautiful SLO town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Splash Cafe with great clam chowder and fish tacos is two blocks away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Suites Central Coast

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Leibos
Business
Hemet, California
Jun 24, 2013

Not expected it!

Having stayed in competition hotels, including one across the street, I have to say''this was a superior hotel' The service was excellent the room was extra clean, the complementary breakfast was exceptional. The staff was very accommodating, including the fact that we where catching a train prior to their available shuttle, they paid for a taxi to deliver us to the station. The suite was large and included a small fridge, microwave, 2 flat screen TVs, comfortable bed and 2 separate sinks. Just like home. The price was slightly higher than hotels around it, but they made up with the amenities, including an afternoon BBQ at reasonable prices. We certainly be back and highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

SLO is a happening place, there is always something going on for all ages. The downtown Thursdays street fair is fantastic. The restaurants offer plenty of variety. Many coffee houses with live entertainment. The wineries (many of them) constantly have tasting offers. Shops are delightful and the antiques shops offer great values. Close to the beaches and SLO University.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Suites Central Coast

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandma Jewel
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Feb 19, 2013

Pleasant surprise

I have to give this motel a two thumbs up. The rooms were clean, the staff very helpful, and the ammenities were way more than I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Suites Central Coast

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cal Poly Alum mom and dad
Business
Stockton CA
Oct 17, 2012

would not stay anywhere else!! the best ever espeically with little kids

We had stayed at a motel 2 nights before this and o man we thought we hit the lottery!! so grateful they had room and allowed us to stay on the first floor. We have a 1 yr old and a 3 year old and we are not fans of stairs and balcony. They allowed us to have free milk from the breakfast room all day even when it was closed if we had forgotten to bring it with us. The rooms were spacious and allowed it to be really dark during the day in the room part so the kids could nap. We sat in the living area and watched tv played ont he ipad and even sat out on the patio chairs right out the door while the kids napped. Then the pool area was so clean and lots of room kids loved that too. Lastly but for sure not least they had a 4 star breakfast and dinner compliments of the hotel. Great food great staff and great ammendiies!! we love you guys and will always come back. O yeah air conditioning a must and it ran great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

more than 10 great resturants within 5-8 easy walking blocks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Suites Central Coast

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Newnew
Business
Palo Alto, CA, USA
Jan 19, 2012

Business Trip

Stayed here for visit to Cal Poly Career Fair. Great location, close to the campus and an easy walk to downtown. The room was a great size for the price. They have free beer, wine and coctails until 7pm. I arrived at 7:20pm but the receptionist was still kind enough to let me chose a beer out of their gift shop. I'll stay here next time, without question.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top