$71 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South

1 star
1625 Calle Joaquin, US 101/SR 1 at Los Osos Valley Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
63 reviews
The Basic Essentials

Exactly what I needed. Clean room, hot shower, friendly staff. WiFi is a bit flaky on a tablet. See full review

  • CalPoly Parent '15
  • Mar 11, 2013
Nice Stay for a quick getaway

Motel 6 presents its self as a place for quick getaways. And as long as they stay busy the rooms... See full review

  • Drew559
  • Jun 5, 2013
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South is located off US 101 / SR 1 at Los Osos Valley Road. Restaurants are nearby. Californias Avila Beach is only 7 miles and the Pismo Beach Pier is 10 miles. Wi-Fi is available in all of our modern guest rooms for a fee.

Hotel Map

35.2425 -120.6837
Nearby airports
San Luis Obispo County Airport-McChesney Field, (SBP), 2.40, MI, W; Santa Maria Public Airport, (SMX), 27.20, MI, NW; Paso Robles Municipal Airport, (PRB), 30.30, MI, S;
Area description
Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South Rooms

Premier
Modern Room 2 Queen Beds

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Heated guest rooms
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Sprinklers in rooms

Dining

Margies Diner
Walking distance
Slo Coast Diner
0.4 mile
Quiznos
0.5 mile
Olive Garden
0.8 mile
Carusos Deli
1 mile
Burger King
1.1 miles
Laguna BBQ and Brew
1.1 miles
Nautical Bean
1.1 miles
Pizza La Nova
1.1 miles
Sushiya
1.1 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Miss Naomi
Oakland, CA
Mar 10, 2014

Paper-thin walls

This is your average inexpensive motel. They are in the process of renovating the rooms, and in an attempt to modernize the look, they've lost basic comforts, like a place to store your luggage. The walls are very thin, so be prepared to hear everything from your neighbors, and be heard yourself!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cal Poly Dad
Folsom, CA
Feb 18, 2014

It is what it is

Motel 6 is a low end choice. It was clean but the exterior is in need of paint. The property feels tired which an exterior paint job would help. The location was at the south end of town near the freeway. It's a little confusing at first until you realize that Motel 6 south and north are both at the southern edge of town just blocks apart.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Parking downtown is challeging. Take a deep breath, do what it takes, then enjoy your visit.

Review of Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LFPH
Oakland, CA
Dec 30, 2013

an unpleasant surprise around every corner

I was amazed. I had low expectations for a $60 motel, but this was impressive. At every opportunity, the motel 6 was not good. One great thing-the staff was friendly and accommodating. Great job. The sign out front reads Newly Remodeled....except that was left over from the last remodel. and based on the room I disagree 1st room -smelled of smoke (allegedly a non smoking room, despite ash trash in room) -very thin pillows, went to desk for extra -loud noise from overhead, would have been too loud to sleep so switched rooms 2nd room -AC unit was either HOT or COLD. no medium, no temp control possible. AC unit was loud and blows directly on the bed making it impossible to sleep without building some sort of barrier -shower was intermittently warm and cold -towels are far too small. only one in room -wifi cost $3, would only allow 1 system to use it at a time, and was slow and intermittently went out -thin walls, could hear neighbor +the black out curtains were very effective +the bed was reasonably comfortable I think that's enough. I'd recommend finding one of the other inexpensive motels in the area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marilyn SG
Bakersfield
Aug 26, 2013

Good

The bed was comfortable and room very clean. I read about the motel before arrival, so I was not suprised regarding the ammenties. I brought my own shampoo, etc. It would have been nice to have a box tissues in the room though. Staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
winged lady
El Segundo, Ca.
Jul 15, 2013

one night stay

Room was large and comfortable. There were no amenities such as a coffee pot, alarm clock or hair dryer and it was too freeway close. A little bit to loud for comfort. Staff however was very knowledgable and helpful..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Drew559
Tulare Co.
Jun 5, 2013

Nice Stay for a quick getaway

Motel 6 presents its self as a place for quick getaways. And as long as they stay busy the rooms stay very clean. If I wanna really really enjoy my vacation ill stay at a Holliday Inn or a Hilton

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler on a dime
Sacramento
Mar 17, 2013

It's a Motel 6

Perfectly adequate, clean, well maintained. Nothing fancy, but a good price. If you need a hairdrier, bring your own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CalPoly Parent '15
Pleasanton, CA
Mar 11, 2013

The Basic Essentials

Exactly what I needed. Clean room, hot shower, friendly staff. WiFi is a bit flaky on a tablet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marie and Joe
LA
Feb 19, 2013

Fine for one night

We were on our way to Big Sur and stopped here for the night. The room was pretty clean and quiet. The only thing we found was a cigarette burn in the bed spread and ours was a non-smoking room. Otherwise though it was a perfectly fine motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
calpoly dad27
folsom, ca
Jan 7, 2013

nice, clean and comfortable

nice, clean and comfortable bed and room, 2 hbo channels, hot shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top